We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“For cost, it's a great stopover with cheerful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europa
Ranked #48 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“For cost, it's a great stopover with cheerful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

With its location right across from the station, friendly staff, and decent if worn rooms, it's a good budget choice. I'd pick it over a private room in a hostel. I wish we'd stayed here the first night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farfalla818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo P, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor: your suggestions are the best way we can improve our service day by day.

Our hotel is without any doubt the best point to start a visit of the city or the surrounding region due to its adiacency to central station, underground stops and bus stops.

We are also delighted that you aprreciated our staff and our rooms.

We really hope to welcome you soon back to the Grand Hotel Europa in Naples and meanwhile we remain with our kindest regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    449
    259
    60
    26
See reviews for
241
381
75
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

There were several hotels I was looking for in this area right next to the train station. Granted, I chose the neighborhood and was stunned to see how filthy and dagerous it was. The streets were polluted and it was unsafe to walk around the area. Nevertheless, the hotel was fantastic. The breakfast was good, the receptionist was informative, and it was very comfortable to sit in the lobby; as well as the bed being comfortable. It was literally 2 minutes to the train station. I suggest the side entrance, which is the same street the hotel is on. Then you will avoid all the people who are just hanging around in the front of the station. It was very easy from there to get to Sorrento, the Amalfi Coast, and we took a bus downtown to go to Capris. If we return, we'd stay here again despite the terrible neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Europeantraveler0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo P, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all thank you for sending us your review through Tripadvisor.
As you mentioned our hotel has the ideal location for exploring the attractions round Naples:just a few minutes walking far from the central station, where you can reach some of the main touristic attrations of Naples and its surroundings.

We are also happy that you appreciated our helpful reception desk and our breakfast, very rich and various. We are glad that you enjoyed sitting in our lobby, created thinking about comfort in Neapolitan, old-fashioned and magic atmosphere.

We really hope to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Europa very soon, and we inform you that several plans of renovation for our neighborhood are projected and, by 2015, Naples will have a newly renovated Central Station.
We remain with our kindest regards from Naples!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is very good located, almost next to the main train station in Naples. The only thing is that the area between the Station and the Hotel is crowded with homeless and a bit dark. I don't recommend walking by at night through that area. I recommend a lot of common sense while walking around. The hotel itself is very classy; the staff was great and I enjoyed talking to everyone; staff was very knowledgeable about the surroundings, places to go and have a nice meal and visit. I liked the breakfast; very light and it was good enough for us. Clean room and bathroom, hot shower and heater everything worked perfectly. Some may complain about the street noise; I don't.

Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, December 16, 2015
Dear Carlos,
we would like to thank you for spending your time, leaving us this very nice review on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad that you appreciated our location, very close to the central station and not far from the city centre.

Thanks for appreciating the kindness and the helpfulness of our staff, always ready to give the best information to visit the city.

We hope to welcome you again in Naples and in Grand Hotel Europa.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you forget the area (near the central station, lot of homeless, quite dirty) the hotel is ok, has style. We had a room to the street, but well insonorised. Close to the old city. Breakfast ok, for Italian standards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MirceaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Mircea,

first of all thank you for sending us your review through Tripadvisor.
Our hotel has the ideal location for exploring the attractions round Naples:just a few minutes walking far from the central station, where you can take the Circumvesuviana train to Pompei, Herculaneum and Sorrento and only 15 minutes walk to the harbor with ferry to reach Capri.

We are also happy that you appreciated our insonorised rooms to avoid noises during the night and our breakfast, very rich and various.

We really hope to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Europa very soon and meanwhile we remain with our kindest regards from Naples!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Great location for brief transfer point. Do not count on any vacation experience here. Front Desk area, bar area, fine. Room......the pits. Noisy air conditioning, malfunctioning windows,shower didn't drain, and one other thing that was not cool. Don't remember. Again, there was three beds for my wife and I. ?????? Just not the vacation hotel. Try a hotel with a GREAT review. You want to have a wonderful vacation uninterrupted by a lousy hotel. If you however dont care where you stay, then by all means stay here. This hotel and its sister hotel Executive, set the benchmark for substandard. Hotel was notified of quality flaws by the way.
Stayed, early October 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmmmmfoooood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

we are really sorry that your stay at our hotel was not satisfying for you...if you found your room not so nice you could ask for a change to our reception desk and they would have surely helped you.
Our staff is always very friendly and helpful as we all work to make the stay of our customers pleasant.
Grand Hotel Europa and Hotel Executive are both three stars hotels located in the right centre of the city, ideal places from where to see Naples and to enjoy its atmosphere.

We really hope to see you soon again at the Grand Hotel Europa maybe in one of our new rooms (very nice decorated and located in a renovated part of the hotel) or to take part at our dinner show in our restaurant...

Meanwhile, we remain with our best regards from Naples,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Let me start off by saying that the actual hotel itself was actually OK, but the service was ABYSMAL! First off, the "environs" surrounding the hotel leave something, no, A LOT to be desired. The blocks around the hotel are literally strewn with HEAPS of trash - everywhere. I'm from New York, so I'm used to the grit, by let me tell you, Napoli has to be the FILTHIEST place I've ever visited. Also, literally right across the street from the front door of the hotel was a sidewalk where prostitutes were plying their trade. Inside the hotel, it didn't get much better. The front desk said they would need to hold on to our passports for a "couple of hours." No hotel I've stayed in in Italy has requested that much time. Then, the room required a special "electricity" key which had to be left in it's "socket" if you wanted to watch TV or keep the A/C on, which is fine with me, but the key ring it was on had a large metal thing on it which was quite heavy and kept pulling the key out...I had to take the "electricity key" off the room's key ring. The room had some weird seascape mural on the wall that wasn't too attractive. The room was booked for two (my wife and I) however, only one set of towels was there. The restaurant in the hotel was actually pretty good, but the decor was atrocious. The service was bad as well. As an Italian speaker, I understand the language completely, and I was appalled to hear the wait staff talk about the party I was with at dinner...they were shocked when I ordered in Italian, and they promptly left us alone. Like I said above, the food was actually pretty good, but the service... They were so BAD. The wait staff would repeatedly say that only three pastas could be ordered at a table, even though the menu offered more than 6. This was a big problem as we were travelling in a large group. When I questioned the wait staff (in Italian) about this, they said the cook didn't want to make too many different things. At that point I had had enough and braved the nasty environs of Napoli and found another establishment. Others who were travelling with us also had trouble in the restaurant, and when they questioned the staff, the staff claimed they did not speak English - even though they did. At checkout, the gentleman who was checking us out said that the taxes HAD to be paid in CASH - even though you can pay this with a credit card if you want. I corrected the man, and all of a sudden, he remembered that you can pay with cash or credit.
The overall value of the place wasn't bad, especially considering it's proximity to the train station, but I can say with absolute certainty that I will NEVER come back to this place. I would gladly spend a few more Euros per night for better service...and to get away from some of the "ladies of the night."

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simona C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Ali,

thank you for your review through Tripadvisor.

We will take into account all your suggestions as we work everyday to improve our service and to make the stay of our customers always more pleasant but we just would like to point out some things: we are really surprised that you found Naples so dirty as it is since one year that our municipality solved the problem.

With reference to our staff, they are all very friendly and helpful to our guests.
In particular, our wait staff takes care of all problems that could happen to our customers and most of all they are always very responsible with the work they have to do for the whole day: tha's why they were talking of the party at dinner, as they want always to be sure that everything is ok...

For whom it may concern your room, if you didn't like it you could ask for a change at our reception desk and they would have solved your problem in order to assure you a room which you could find better...

We really do hope to welcoming you back soon to the Grand Hotel Europa in Naples and meanwhile we remain with our best regards from one of the most beautiful cities of the world!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#46 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Stelle Hotel
#26 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Tiempo
#36 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#4 of 188 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Bagnoli
Hotel Nuvo
Hotel Nuvo
#12 of 188 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Property: Grand Hotel Europa
Address: Corso Meridionale 14, 80143, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europa is in an elegant nineteenth century building, just a few hundred metres from Garibaldi train station and Naples historical city center; ideal location from which to explore the city and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes. Offers all the services of a superior three star hotel with 84 rooms and suites, a restaurant, a bar, a theater and several meeting rooms. The sandard or superior rooms are spacious and are equipped with thoughtful amenities to make your stay comfortable, including air conditioning and heating, satellite television, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Are spacious and have those services necessary to make your stay comfortable, such as air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Its central location is ideal for exploring the many attractions of one of the most beautiful Italian cities of art! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing