We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for traqnsporation only”
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europa
Ranked #53 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I booked this hotel as it had favorable reviews and was close to the Train Station and airport bus.

As I went towards the hotel as I left the train station, I noticed the area was not bery nice. Piazza Garbaldi area is run down, the birght spot was seeing a large McDonalds. When I get to the hotel street the area continued its decline. There is nothing around this hotel . The nearest resturant was 4 blocks away. This is a somewhat seedy part of town, and the better areas are about a 20 minute walks threw an area that can be compared to Detroit or the Bronx.

The lobby of the hotel was ok, the reception people pleasant. On entering the room, it was average european size, but a bit shabby. The remote to the tv broken, no toilet paper in the bathroom, luckily I had disposable wipes.

The breakfast room was in the basement, the spread a bit more limited than the other 4 hotels I stayed in on the trip.

I only stayed for one night as I was headed back to the USA.. The hotel served its puprose as it was close to transport. If your here to sightsee or for a longer stay, Id suggest somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rskblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

My 2 friends and I chose this hotel in Naples and booked it on the Internet. It's incredibly convenient to arrive by train - the hotel is about 1 minutes' walk from the station - but the surrounding neighbourhood is quite dirty and not very appealing. Given we paid a fair amount for the room (~100€), we were expecting it to be a bit more than a place to sleep. Unfortunately the hotel failed to deliver in this regard. Wi-fi was only available in the lobby, and cost extra. The complimentary breakfast had an OK range, but was of rather poor quality. The service staff were also so-so. Probably wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vadgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we have had a stupendous week staying at this hotel. The proximity to the Rail and Bus station was a big plus for us - we are elderly but active!! The staff without exception are helpful and charming. The room we had was very spacious and well equipped. Breakfast and restaurant in the evening was very good indeed - here again the staff were welcoming and very pleasant indeed. A 'five star' stay at a 'three ' star hotel!!! Thanks again. The Pearces.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I just spent two nights here and really enjoyed the stay. The location is just around the corner from the train station so within easy walking distance. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Room was clean and the breakfast was good. Security in the area seemed fine to me but I wouldn't want my daughter or wife to be wandering around the neighborhood after dark but that's the same anywhere.

Room Tip: Street noise can be a bother when the window/balcony is open but not an issue when closed. The AC te...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoustonTravlinDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

A good hotel in the centre of Naples, excellent breakfast bar. Clean room with bunk beds for the kids. Others have said that this is not a good area but it is like the centre of any city - we had no problems - the street sellers do not hassle you. Free wifi in the reception area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

2 minutes from the train station and 2 mints from the main bus stop makes it very easy to travel around from the hotel. Rooms are big considering Italian standards and the food is quite desant. The only problem is the locality isn't the safest in Napoli, so going out of hotel during the night is not an option.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anushree2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel has the ideal location for exploring the attractions round Naples. A 4 minute walk will bring you to the central station from where you can take the Circumvesuviana train to Pompeii, Herculaneum and Sorrento and 15 minutes walk to the harbor with ferry to fx Capri.
The rooms are nice and clean and with very nice decoration, that make you feel at home from the minute you walk in.

One thing you should be aware of is that the price quoted does not include a tourist tax that will be added to your bill when you leave.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#46 of 185 in Naples
911 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#57 of 185 in Naples
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#19 of 185 in Naples
631 reviews
Hotel Tiempo
#44 of 185 in Naples
640 reviews
B&B Hotel Napoli
#47 of 185 in Naples
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Address: Corso meridionale 14, 80143, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $47 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europa is in an elegant nineteenth century building, just a few hundred metres from Garibaldi train station and Naples historical city center; ideal location from which to explore the city and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes. Offers all the services of a superior three star hotel with 84 rooms and suites, a restaurant, a bar, a theater and several meeting rooms. The sandard or superior rooms are spacious and are equipped with thoughtful amenities to make your stay comfortable, including air conditioning and heating, satellite television, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Are spacious and have those services necessary to make your stay comfortable, such as air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Its central location is ideal for exploring the many attractions of one of the most beautiful Italian cities of art! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing