We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Oriente is becoming grander” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Oriente

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Oriente to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Oriente
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Armando Diaz 44, 80134 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Grand Oriente is becoming grander”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We always stay at the Grand Hotel Oriente when we visit Naples, and it has been fun to watch the transformation taking place in the past two years. Originally, we liked the hotel because it was such a good value: clean, spacious rooms for a reasonable price which even included a generous buffet breakfast. Today, the rooms are still clean and spacious, but they are also sophisticated, having been completely revamped with new furniture and appointments in soothing gray tones. Even the registration staff seems jauntier (including John). The downside? It costs a lot more and breakfast is only available for an additional 15 euros per person!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

When working in another city, you want everything to be perfect, and you need a good night sleep...I did not choose the hotel myself so I wondered what it was going to be like...and the answer is SIMPLY PERFECT! The staff really is wonderful, always smiling, always there to help. And the hotel itself is great, right in the center of everything and yet SO silent, I was on the 8th floor, and had a nice view, it's very comfy, very clean, and the breakfast excellent! They serve fresh Neapolitan pastries, which I love (who wouldn't??) and fresh fruits and all sorts of things, the coffee is served in silver, it's all very posh. The hotel you stay in can really make a difference, and this one did: it made my work trip feel like a holiday! Will definitely stay there next time around!

Room Tip: I was on the 8th floor, and it was perfect!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It was the last few days of our 2 week vacation from Rome to the Amalfi coast and Capri. Unexpectedly we decided to spend the night in Naples to experience how the city look like.
We booked a 2 bedroom one night stay for 220 euros including breakfast.
Coming from a 4 to 5 star hotel in Sorrento, paying 500 euros a night for each room . We were not expecting this hotel will surpass the service and the rooms of the previous hotels we had except of course of the sea view.
The Front office guys, Giuseppe and Gianni. The bellmen, Fulvio and Vico and the restaurant staff Anna Bonanno made our stay very comfortable.
The rooms on the 7th floor are all new and renovated. I will highly recommend this place for everyone to stay if they happen to visit Naples, Italy.
The location is also perfect since it is almost in the heart of the City.

Room Tip: Our room on the 7th floor were all new. I think they renovating all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joeytx123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hello,
There are my comments about hotel Oriente. I visited the hotel for firsttime in 2010 and up todayevery time I come in Naples, I take the same..
Why...the hotel was tottaly renewed. The rooms are clean, elegant and modern. Colours - white, beige, blue marine...
The team at the reception: Special thanks to Gianni :) Him and the rest of the team are really nice, open and customers' oriented. They are alway ready to help or to give an advice..call a taxi, give an adress of a good restaurant, inform you about a potencial strike....
I loved every stay in Oriente!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

As we were unable to stay at Hotel Art Resort in the gallery due to some issue with the plumbing in our room and they could not accommodate us at all, it had been arranged that we transfer to the Grand Hotel Oriente a short distance away. As others have mentioned it is very conveniently situated within walking distance from the port, the metro and the bus stop for buses to the airport.
Although it is the antithesis of the hotel we had hoped to stay at it is a very good hotel of its type - used for conferences, most probably week-end breaks and short stop-overs and the smart monochrome furnishings reflected this: deep piled grey carpet and black furniture in the bedroom and cream tiles in the bathroom with dark wood surrounding the basin. It had a large walk-in shower. Breakfast was served on the second floor as the hotel was in the midst of carrying out works to the roof terrace. We found the breakfast a little disappointing as we had been used to fresh fruit at the other places where we had been staying and they only seemed to have tinned.
Our thanks go to the reception staff and in particular to simpatico Gianni who did all he could to help us during our brief stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefaniaspina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated close to the old town (but not in it) and within easy walking distance of the sights in Santa Lucia. Oh, and it's right next to a metro stop (Toledo). The room we had on the upper floors was great (they are clearly still refurbing some of the lower floors but there was never any noise from this that disturbed us - nor from the street outside) and the staff were also great. It's also good value too.

The one area where they might improve a bit is breakfast - the coffe and pastries are great (as everywhere) but the scrambled egg is cooked by someone who clearly doesn't know how to cook it/appreciate it, and the juices would be better if freshly squeezed rather than from concentrate. But these are minor points. Overall i wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for either pleasure or business. PS Naples is a fantastic city and not at all scary! Sure, you have to be careful in public with your valuables - but just like you do in London, Barcelona, Paris, NYC etc.

Room Tip: We were on floor 7, I think 6-8 have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricky_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Situated in the heart of Naples. Ideal as a base to visit the city.Clean , modern rooms , good shower , good bed and silent room. Gianni and his collegues where very helpful. A reservation in a nearby restaurant ? a cab ? , a map ?...the staff helps you out. Extended breakfast buffet , good coffees , fresh pastry , fresh fruit . Value for money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tempiodelgusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
NH Napoli Ambassador
#73 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#10 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,552 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#6 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Oriente

Address: Via Armando Diaz 44, 80134 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Naples
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Business Hotel in Naples
#14 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing