We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, wonderful breakfast and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Oriente
Ranked #8 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wonderful location ...we booked in here to attend a concert in Piazza Plebiscito which is literally a 5 minute walk away. The staff were helpful in providing advice both by telephone before we arrived and while we were there, on parking (there is a car park under the hotel), late arrivals, directions to the hotel and to the venue and on advising places to eat! The decor is a bit dated and although I had booked a suite that was supposed to host 4 people, I'm 99% sure that they had double-booked the suite and given us a double room with a campbed and en suite bathroom as it didn't seem as luxurious as in the photos on the website I used to book. In any case, we had arrived late and were too tired to complain so let it be. The breakfast was excellent...the first time I have had scrambled egg and sausages in an Italian hotel, especially down south! Good value for money if you want to shop in Naples and stay over.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlorenceFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Grand Hotel Oriente at least four times over the past five years. It is an excellent hotel for the price and location. It is close to one of the main streets, Toledo, and a subway stop will be opening nearby very soon. The rooms (all recently updated) are spacious and the beds are comfortable. A generous breakfast buffet is included. Generally, we have found the reception staff ranges from friendly and helpful to indifferent. The immediate area is not very attractive but that is a minor complaint relative to everything else this hotel offers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Room was clean, pretty decent with en-suite. Breakfast was reasonable. Location is good, right near the port and walling distance to the main sights. They allowed us to check out a day early due to a change in our plans.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pr1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I only have good things to say about this hotel and its wonderfull staff. They could not have been more friendly or more helpfull. The reception staff answered every little question we had and actually called up local shops for us to see if they had football tickets on sale, they found us a taxi in rush hour on a busy wet morning and practically planned our daytrips for us when we asked them what they reccomended we should see. Even the waiters in the breakfast room were full of usefull hints and knew everything about their city. The room was bigger than we expected, the bathroom was clean and more than suitable, the air conditioning worked fine and was just right. We noticed there was disabled access at the front entrance and also there are 2 lifts in the lobby so no need to worry about stairs. Reception seemed to be manned 24/7. The location could not have been better as it was really close to the historic centre and student area, the spanish quarter, the port, a metro link, the sea front as well as endless restaurants bars and ice cream shops. We didn't witness or experince any crime except the sale of fake designer handbags. Yes there is some building work outside for a new metro stop but it did not affect us in any way, the city is no dirtier than any other old italian city and is completely charming. We were sad to leave and would definitely stay here again and again. we'll be back and we'll be bringing friends too! The one thing i would say is that if you want a beer, go out to a cafe and get one for 2 euros because the hotel bar is not cheap.

Room Tip: Rooms off the courtyard without a view are likely to be more peaceful than those facing the street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieF182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Upon arrival, the multilingual staff were very helpful, friendly and informative. A 20 minute taxi ride for 20 to 25 euros to get there, but once you're there you won't need another taxi.

The location seemed perfect. You're hidden away in a quiet but safe Piazza, minutes from the main strip. A 10 minute walk down the strip takes you to the bay, which hosts glorious views of Mt Vesuvius and the coast. A short walk from here you can find the ferry ports to Islands Capri and Ischa.

Going the other direction, you're a 15 minute walk from the Old Town which is the epicentre of the City's great food, plus many sites to see and shops to visit, not to mention the Ice Cream.

You're also a 20 minute walk from the train station for trains to Sorrento, Pompei, Mehta Beach and other coastal lines and beaches.

Due to the location on the edge of the main strip, the hotel is easy to find on the map and when walking, with Museum's a plenty all short walks away with hustling markets also close by. You really are as central as you would need and like to be.

As for the City itself, you won't be short of falling in love with it. If you've read up already you'll know it's a City of two halves. But it's so much more than that. It's enchanted, quintessential Italian cobbled narrow streets will leave you yarning for what's next around the corner.

When, these tiny streets will open up into huge Piazzas that come alive at nightfall with people of all ages enjoying the food, drink and ice cream on offer. You will also find yourself on big, broad Parisian style streets with high end shops and clean, concreted roads.

You can also enjoy the breathtaking scenery of the looming Mt Vesuvius and the beginning of what will become the Amalfi coast.

Our room was specious, clean, comfortable and a nice, cool, welcoming temperature due to the aircon unit which we were very thankful for after touring the City and its warm climate.

The hotel staff could not have done their job any better, and enjoyed a chat should either of you not be in a hurry.

One of the mist fascinating things of the City is that it's so family orientated, with small children still out in the streets way past nightfall. Due to this, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed for six nights as part of a work trip w some leisure.
The say at the hotel was adequate. The location is good and the neighbourhood is fine. Close to the Spanish quarter and not far from central areas in the city.

The major problem was that i had to change rooms twice (a record?) before getting a reasonable one. The first room had a decent size for a solo person, but the blinds did not go down all the way and there was a continuous dripping on the carpet from the air-conditioning unit. Having asked to change rooms, i was met with some reluctance, but at the end, i was moved. Alas, the room i was offered was considerably smaller and lacked the features i had promised in the reservation confirmation. the third room was better. Not brilliant, but adequate.
Breakfast, esp. for South Italy, was disappointing.

Overall,given the price paid in that season it was a good value, so i have no regrets.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Gianni, front desk staff person, rescued my family in the midst of a disaster. When we attempted to enter apartment we had rented in Naples, it turned out to be in the middle of a renovation project. Five of us were left on the street with no knowledge of where to go. A taxi took us to the Oriente where Gianni welcomed us, gave us the rooms we needed at a fabulous price, and helped plan our time in his city. The location was perfect for site seeing, shopping, pizza, and my favorite coffee bar in the city. The property was more than adequate with comfortable beds, clean rooms, nice bar, and great breakfast. Best of all, I felt safe. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clpiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,138 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,519 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,170 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#41 of 186 in Naples
2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Oriente

Address: Via Armando Diaz 44, 80134, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Naples
#2 Green Hotel in Naples
#4 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Business Hotel in Naples
#14 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $138 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing