We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel but too hot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Mancini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Mancini to your Saves list
Hostel Mancini
Via Pasquale Stanislao Mancini 33, 80139, Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice hostel but too hot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

First impressions of this hostel weren't great, it's jot in the nicest of areas. However once you check in you're put at ease. It's very secure and clean and the guys that run it are so helpful and friendly. Breakfast is cereal and toast, help yourself which is really nice.

The only downsides are that it was so hot and even though they had air con units they weren't used so it was pretty unbearable. Also there is only one wc with toilet and shower so you find yourself having to wait often.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    87
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
16
29
111
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Don't mind those who say that the hostel is in a dangerous area. This is nonsense. The area around the hostel is a little different from what you would expect of a Western European City i.e. lots of traffic, noise (though not at night), people selling things, kids playing soccer on the street etc but one thing it is not is dangerous. It is perfectly safe. I walked the area at 1:00 a.m in the morning time after time and there was no problem. This is Naples! The charm of the city is its energy, its life!

The hostel is without a doubt an excellent hostel. It is impeccably clean. The staff are very nice and helpful with any question you have. I remember I asked Alfred (the owner) about visiting Scampia ( Zona Orientale/ far from Central Naples) and he warned me against going because that was a bad area. Many other hostel owners would just have told me how to get there and not the dangers involved.

Do yourselves a favor and go to this hostel. It is perfect being right next to the train station. It can be used as a launch pad for day trips to the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, etc. There is just so much to do.

Ciao bello!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is not located in a safe area. It's a convenient walk the the train though. Very loud. The family that owns the hostel is very nice and has great tips on Naples attractions. But other staff was rude and unhelpful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il Gzira, Malta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had a few nights stay at this hostel. Alfredo was really helpful. Nice people I shared room with. Close to trainstation and other transport such as metro and bus. Not a big hostel which gave it a good vibe. Only downside the internet WiFi did not work and the toilet in our ensuit bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I had a great stay at Hostel Mancini. The hostel is located near the train station and the airport bus stop is also nearby. Also, I could easily reach the most important sightseeing places by foot. My room (a double-room I shared with a friend) was clean and we had access to all the facilities we needed - hairdyer, Internet, or kitchen, where you can keep your food in a fridge and cook your own meals. Also, there's a breakfast with a range of sweet foods - cereals, yoghurt, toasts, jam, peanut butter or nutella in huge 5 kg jars :) And, last but not least, the staff was very friendly, always available for help and advice. They also organised a pasta night with free pasta and ice cream, followed by a pub tour. Of all the hostels I stayed in, Hostel Mancini had the best vibes and home feel to it :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank br_magda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

First start of trip through Europe and it was a good one. Very friendly staff and good quality of beds, bathrooms and kitchen. Nice atmosphere and during World Cup finale we got free sangria. Location only 5 min from central station! I would recommend this hostel when you're looking for a safe and clean place in Naples

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

walking distance from the train station...you can easily walk to the city center. Rooms are nice and clean with private bathroom in the dormitory ones (i don't know about the double and triple rooms). The staff is great and always available for an help, they can tell you everything you need about the city and how to reach all the best parts of the city, just amazing persons!! The vibe at the hostel is absolutely cool, always full of international people, you won't get bored for sure!!! If you are going to Naples stop by the hostel and give it a chance...won't be disappointing! Perfect for guys in their 20s and 30s.
Free breakfast at 8:00 with coffee, tea, milk, cereals, bread, and all you need to start you journey!! Kitchen available if you want to cook something, there is a fridge to keep your food.
Alright, the area the hostel is in might not be the most wonderful of the city but nothing ever happened when i was there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#10 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#19 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 1,462 reviews
Hotel Garibaldi Naples
#45 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Europa
#42 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mancini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mancini

Property: Hostel Mancini
Address: Via Pasquale Stanislao Mancini 33, 80139, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Mancini Naples is a small and central located hostel in Naples, Italy, renewed in 2011. It offers many types of accommodations ideal for individual travellers and also for families, groups and erasmus students. Hostel Mancini is located right in front of Napoli central railway station and local trains to Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Pompeii and Sorrento. Few minutes from the hostel is also located the harbour where you can pick the ferry boat to reach Capri and Ischia. We will offer you a free city map at your arrival to show you how easy is to reach the most important city touristic attractions with no worries and how to make easy and cheap day trips to Napoli surroundings. The hostel is 5 minutes walking from "Pizzeria da Michele", the most famous pizzeria in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Mancini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing