We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small gem in a large city”
Review of Hotel Toledo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Toledo
Ranked #32 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A charming little hotel situated at the brink of the most fascinating part of Napoli - Quartieri Spagnoli. Despite the ill fame of the place we felt absolutely safe and protected both within the hotel and in the outside area. We made a couple of long walks through the Spanish quarters and couldn't but enjoy the homely and authentic atmosphere of them.
As for the hotel itself, it's situated at a walking distance from all touristic must-sees; only Capodimonte needs a short ride by bus. Via Toledo with its hustle and bustle and lively shopping is so close that you can see but not hear it from your window. The double glazing works well!
The rooms are not very spacious, so if you need some extra space you may pass a pleasant and relaxing evening in the salotto - a cosy hall with sofas and a bar. Pity that a fireplace is just a fake!
A roof terrace seems another wonderful spot to spend time after a long and tiresome day of sightseeng.
I can't but admit the efficiency and kind disposition of the hotel staff. They so patienly listened to my lame Italian!
We liked our short stay there and we're sure to choose it for our next stay in Napoli

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YULIA_S_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Toledo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 422 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a good visit at this hotel. It is clean and the staff were all polite and helpful. The breakfast is basic and the coffee so strong that your hair will rise! We took the train to Pompei and when we saw the trainstation area we sure were happy that we had choose this hotel in the spanish quarter. We felt safe here and had no security problems as the reviewer from USA had. We recommends this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EsboTilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Toledo is ideally placed for the Centro Storico and the port. It is on a side street off Via Toledo and in the old Spanish Quarter. My room (single with big bed) was very clean and functional. The window was double glazed so I could eliminate 90% of street noise. The breakfast is basic but there is plenty of it. The owner is very helpful. There are three great places to eat within metres of the hotel, two are rustic local eateries and the the third, down the street almost at Via Toledo is a bit more up market. I never once felt unsafe walking in the streets in the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is very well situated for seeing the sights of Naples. We took the bus from the airport and it was fairly easy to find. It is walking distance to all the tourist locations and the promenade with all the shops. Fun for people watching. The room was small but clean and the breakfast on the terrace was a treat! The staff was very helpful in recommending places to eat. Don't expect too much from Naples....it is dirty and gritty but if you expect that you won't be surprised. Overlook it and enjoy the vibe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wearetravel1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Don't stay in this hotel, it is unsafe, very dirty and have big security problem.
We stayed one night. The hotel is far away from bus stop. If you have luggages, you will have to drag them and walked a long way to the hotel after you take off from the last stop. It is located in a dark narrow street and we didn't feel safe walking outside after dark.
The staffs were very rude and not helpful. The night guard barely speak English. Everytime we get out from our room, we were asked to give back the room key to the front desk. They claimed they they need the key to access the room in case there is a fire. When we get back, the front desk asked for our room number and gave us the key back. We told him the wrong room number and he gave us the key of that room. This is a big security problem with this hotel. You can basically tell them any room number and get acces to any room you like! This is the first hotel that we stayed in our whole life that asked for room key whenever you get out your room before you checked out!
Our room was on the top floor and is super dark and dirty. The blanket had lots of visible dirts on it and I even found blood spots on it! I didn't even want to touch the blanket and ended up using my jacket to keep myself warm the whole night. The bathroom is dark and the shower is dirty.
The hotel smell and the elevator is super small.
Don't go to this hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YingUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you need a centrally located nice small hotel in Naples, then you should choose Toledo hotel. You will not be disappointed if initially you expect good basic service and good basic accomodation. Please, do not understand me wrong! There is nothing bad about this hotel!! It is clean, centrally located, small. So it is a very good value for money. Just there was nothing impressive in it! But this doesn't mean that it is bad!! Maybe the size of the rooms, which are small... But what can you expect in such a "tightly-architectured" city-center?! So if you found Toledo, do not hesitate to choose it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank almakonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is situated quite in the historical beautiful part of the city, near all the places of interest and the port. The hotel itself is a very interesting building with the restorant on the roof. The hotel stuff is helpful and hospitble, when I came there by car, they helped me a lot with parking it in the garage, I was a little bit confused by the traffic and way of driving in Napoli. In a few words, it is a nice, safe and convinient place to see Napoli and feel the spirit of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#3 of 185 in Naples
974 reviews
San Ferdinando
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
#25 of 185 in Naples
1,225 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,040 reviews
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#46 of 185 in Naples
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toledo

Address: Via Montecalvario 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#31 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $92 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Toledo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Toledo is in the heart of Naples, in a building dating back to 1725 and has 18 rooms equipped with every comfort. From the Terrace, a small oasis in the Spanish quarters, you will discover the city from an alternative perspective! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toledo Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing