We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay”
Review of Hotel Toledo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Toledo
Ranked #35 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Poznan, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice stay”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

A pleasant hotel in the heart of an ancient part of the city. The staff was extremely nice and helpful – they helped me in my trip planning, offered their assistance in case of any problem out of the hotel and even made sure that a taxi driver wouldn’t charge too much when I was leaving the hotel. The hotel is located near the Beverello Port (just few minutes of walking) from which tourist ferries depart to the local islands (Capri, Ischia, Procida). The neighborhood is a bit noisy but thanks to the soundproof windows you won’t be bother by the noises , besides this is a part of the real atmosphere and character of Napoli so it wasn’t a problem for me whatsoever. I wish I always stayed in such hotels in my travels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolejorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    184
    48
    13
    3
See reviews for
81
150
58
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The hotel met our needs, for one night. We chose it for location - easy walking to the archaeological museum, duomo, centre of town. We came by car and parking was safe, fairly priced (20 euros) five minutes away. The room was adequate - two and a half stars. Breakfast on the roof garden was brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molonglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

The only bright part of the stay was the super kind service from the heart by the manager Mr. Pepe. He went out of his way to walk with me to the remote car park and drive the car in the maze of extremely narrow alleys. Thank you Pepe!

The next day when we went to Sorento, and stayed in Grand Hotel Aminta where we paid less and got much more. In comparison, Hotel Toledo is not a great value for money.

1. The photos look great on the website. The reality you can see on the photos and judge by yourself. I highly recommend to the owners to consider investing to complete the renovations and change the doors. The green plastic door is also too thin and we were woken up by the breakfast crowd noise.
2. If you are driving, please note that Hotel Toledo does not have parking, We felt like in a movie when I navigated nervously in the dark to find the hotel. It was a great way to learn about how kind and nice the local people are. They went out of their way to help us to find the way and avoid hitting anything. The problem became an unforgettable experience to appreciate the wonderful hospitable nature of the people of Naples.
3. I am used to normal towels that absorb water, not kitchen towels for the shower. Perhaps it is the custom in Napoli?
4. The internet did not work for me, however, Pepe was so nice, he really tried to help me with his computer in the nice cafe/bar level.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avilir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Maybe it's because I didn't really like anything about the city of Naples, but I didn't really like Hotel Toledo. First of all, we walked from the train station and we had a hard time finding the hotel. Second, the room wasn't very clean. Especially the shower!! But it was a short walk to molo beverello, which was a big plus for us and the breakfast was just ok. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying-sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Hotel Toledo, close to Via Toledo a shopping area, is a nice, small 3-star hotel situated in the historical/monumental part of Naples. Starting your day with breakfast on the roof terrace is quite relaxing and all places of interest can easily be reached by foot (lungo mare 10min museo de arqueologia 10min) or by bus (ex. museo capodimonte). Receptionists are efficient and helpful. we are just back from our 3-days visit to Naples from Oct22nd to Oct25th and keep a nice souvenir of the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank privategeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

Small, clean, renovated hotel in historical center of naples. The breakfast is a buffet and the internet access is good. They have a free terminal in the lounge and free wireless access. Overall I thought it was a great place to stay if your looking for something reasonable (I paid 80 euro/night for a single). It's in the historical center of the city, which is great if you want to walk around, but it is a fairly busy area in the evening.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank dugan131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2005

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights this summer (Juily, 2005). We were at the start of a 5-week trip, so we were on a limited per-night budget. We found a clean hotel, a very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds (the mattress appeared to be fairly new) and it was a quiet place for ample rest.
It is located in the Spanish Quarter and this area had problems with crime in the past. We did not feel that to be the case while we were there and experienced no problems. We were not approached at all, despite warnings in guidebooks about gangs of teenagers lurking around. We ddi not see any of that. With that said, I will add that I look and dress like a European while traveling abroad. We are not flashy people. We came and went from the hotel to retaurants and shops after dark and did not feel any sense of danger, but admit the the side street, including the hotel's address is poorly lit after dark. If you feel that you cannot adapt, I would suggest staying in a different neighborhood for peace of mind. Also, I would not have stayed here if I were an unaccompanied woman. As it was I had my husband with me at all times.
The hotel featured a decent breakfast with ample amounts of fruit, yogurt, ham, cheeses and breads along with beverages (served buffet style). I personally would stay here again.
I should also add that there is free internet access, but only one computer in the hotel. This hotel is small, so this was never a problem and we were able to log on each evening.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoanieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
949 reviews
San Ferdinando
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
#24 of 186 in Naples
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Correra 241
#14 of 186 in Naples
940 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 186 in Naples
955 reviews
Pendino
Culture Hotel Centro Storico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toledo

Property: Hotel Toledo
Address: Via Montecalvario 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#31 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Toledo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Toledo is in the heart of Naples, in a building dating back to 1725 and has 18 rooms equipped with every comfort. From the Terrace, a small oasis in the Spanish quarters, you will discover the city from an alternative perspective! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toledo Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing