We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Oh Heck No!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Rossa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Rossa Hotel
Ranked #97 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Central Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh Heck No!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We changed our trip according to my neighbor who's wife is from Sorrento. "Naples is so awesome! You'll have the best time". Now Im from "the hood" and I locked my own damn doors. We couldn't find the hotel on the GPS. When we finally went down some random streets, I saw the sign. It was a road our car couldn't even fit down. No parking whatsoever! AND it was in the middle of a "favela". I've heard the stories of getting robbed in Naples AFTER we'd gone, but this neighborhood was dirty and ghetto. No one could ever speak of the US's ghettos in a negative manner again. It smelled like hot butt! We were so frustrated and it was so nasty that we didn't even stop to stay. We just drove away...I took that hit of no-show payment bc it just wasn't about to work for me. BLECH!

Room Tip: choose hotels by the water. do NOT go into the more busy downtown. it is not for you. watch your val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nani012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    24
    9
    12
See reviews for
14
19
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is Napoli with all of the noise, confusion, craziness but filled with great warmth. It is located on a side street from the train station that could be a bit of a cultural shock if you are not accustomed to a certain earthiness. I have been to Napoli many times and find it refreshing to be a part of it all.

I was greeted by warm staff. My room was though not fancy, was a decent room with a comfortable bed on the second floor directly over the street which I prefer. I like to hear the sounds of the city. A small but adequate bathroom with large towels. A good working tv with lots of stations.

The staff were always cordial, friendly and very helpful. I did not have the breakfast except for the last day, which was ok,a continental breakfast we would call it. I usually prefer to go and sit outside at a cafe and watch the people.

The area near the hotel is the Forcella market which might feel a little scary and dirty to many but it is alive with all kind of street vendors, fishmongers, and even a shop to buy saddles and other equestrian items. Just go early in the morning when there is lots of people at the market and not when they are closing in the afternoon. It is a great place to make real street photos.

My stay at the Luna Rossa was very comfortable . I certainly will return again. Every day during the Hurricane the staff asked me how my son was doing back at home in NYC.

Thanks Luna Rosa for making my stay fun! Oh, yes I forgot each room is named after a Neapolitan song.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one on the inner courtyard. Also, the wifi only works up to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel has definitely seen better times - only the lobby is kept in a fairly representative shape. The rooms, however, are tiny and in 80's style, poorly cleaned (a thick layer of dust on certain items, such as the phone) and a smelly bathroom covered with black mold (definitely not healthy!). It wasn't a pleasure to have a shower there.
The area around the central train and bus station in Naples is a shady neighborhood where you wouldn't want to go out, esp. at night. It's about 1km west to a better area, but you might want to take a taxi to get there.
This hotel is ok if you are on a tight budget and want to spend the night just before taking a bus/train early the next morning - but not recommended for longer stays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Naples hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Although the plaza directly opposite is under going severe renovation, the central location, the wonderful staff and pleasant rooms make up for any inconvenience. I left my mobile phone here and organised the following day to pick it up upon my return to Naples. I am writing this positive review as I believe that honesty and helpfulness should be rewarded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Hotel was nice. They were very accomodating and were able to change my reservation from 3 to 4 person room. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Hotel was nice. Area around was kind of shady though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Tucked away in the corner of a narrow, dirty and scary looking street just of the main piaza Garibaldi (where all the busses and trains are) this hotel is ideally located for touring the city on foot, getting the train or bus out and within walking distance of the ports for Capri. It has hot water, blankets, a TV with English channels and a little restaurant (if you are really desparate) which you don't need to use. Although Piazza Garibaldi is undergoing a face lift and can be a little confusing to look at, there are plenty of lovely restaurants and street food stalls around to ensure you are never hungry.

Having seen the write up's I was worried, but given how much there is to see in this area, you would be mad to spend any more time in the hotel room than is necessary...if this is your plan, pay more.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces away from the courtyard as the sound echoes around it making the rooms a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stayed at this hotel June 2-June 5. There is a woman receptionist who speaks English well, but lacks Enthusiasm. Breakfast says it is between 7:30 and 9:30 but at 9,:00 they told me to 'hurry up' when I came down the stairs to the breakfast room. They serve one simple thing: a croissant, juice, and cappuccino. They don't have any idea on how to go places, like which bus to take to go to museums. They don't offer any extra service, such as posting post cards for you. They are not overly friendly. The carpets are stained everywhere and the automatic hall lights don't work unless you wave your arm in the air so the sensor can catch it.
Internet service was supposed to be 2 euros but the woman receptionist tried to overcharge me. Be careful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intlgirltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Mercato
Hotel Potenza
Hotel Potenza
#122 of 188 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
B&B Hotel Napoli
#44 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
#78 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Hotel CineHoliday
#55 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Stelle Hotel
#26 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Rossa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Rossa Hotel

Property: Luna Rossa Hotel
Address: Via Giuseppe Pica 20/22, 80142, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Rossa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Luna Rossa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Naples
Naples Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing