We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wide array of Napolitian pastries”
Review of Carraturo

Carraturo
Order Online
Ranked #4 of 103 Bakeries in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In Porta Capuana since 1837, Carraturo represents the artigianal cake and pastry production of Naples. Specialized in Sfogliatelle Ricce (cruncy), and Sfogliatelle Frolle (soft), Baba with rhum, Pastiere and all what neapolitan traditions provide. Artigianal Gelato, as well, represents one of the focuses of the production.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

The shop had many different pastries, cakes and icea cream; It was clean, and the staff who spoke English were helpful by recommending us some pastries. The cannoli was really good,crunchy and creamy, and the shop's specialty the sfogliatelle was very crispy, yet soft on the inside. There are some tables if you want to eat inside, but you can also take away. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Big-guys-crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 350 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile

Tasted the tiramisu, must try! From the freezer so icey/semifreddo taste. Bellissimo! Also small cannoli and baba were nice :-)

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank laurav485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017

I was originally born in Naples, on my first time back after I initially left as a young teenager (now 49) my first visit upon my return was to Carraturo. It was incredible as everything tastes just like 35 years ago. I had to be dragged out of there or I would have practically eaten everything in sight.
The place is right in the historic part of town where you can appreciate the beauty of arquitecture and of the folks that live there.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Giovanni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

The first good impression of this bakery were the nice people working there and the locals that were rotating in & out buying goodies. Sfogliatelle was my mission in Naples and the bakeries here didn't disappoint.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank kimmiek386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016

We wanted to taste the shell-shaped Italian pastry sfogliatella with some espresso and we thought it was delicious. We sat in front of the eatery but most locals simply order their food as takeaways. The place is in the heart of the historic centre so grab some sfogliatella or baba with whipped cream which is even more delicious and watch the tourists walk past and the locals go about their business. Price is very reasonable. Watch out for beggars and pickpockets, as the area is notorious for petty crimes.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Murat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carraturo also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Carraturo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing