We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Naples City Center
Ranked #46 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My travel agent booked this hotel, before I read the reviews. I was worried by all the bad reviews, but when I arrived at the hotel I was very pleasantly surprised.

From the moment I arrived the staffmembers were very friendly. This Ramada is much nicer than the ones in America. Francesco, the bartender, provided great service. Nico the waiter, was excellent as well.

The buffet breakfast was one of the best I had in Italy, and I traveled extensively throughout the country.

The room was clean, and quiet. I had a great stay, and do not have one complaint.

Yes, Naples is busy, and can be a little dirtier than most Italian cities. Yet, the people, the food and the beauty of the city are not to be missed. I fell in love with Naples. I will stay at this hotel when I return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaCiocolata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo D, Direttore at Ramada Naples City Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

what to say, everyone in the forum expresses their experience of stay without any filter nor benchmark. I believe it is appropriate to evaluate these comments for what they are: considerations in freedom!
I am very happy about your feedback , which confirms my point of view and that Ramada Naples met your expectations fully.
Regards,
Massimo De Angelis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 933 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night before a 6:40 am flight out of Naples. Location is right near the train station and convenient to the airport. The place had no hot water and I had a freezing shower at 3:30 am. There's a way to wake up! When I told the front desk about this at checkout there was a quick apology. I later learned of 3 other rooms (from friends staying there) with the same problem. The staff was lackluster at best as far as service. I am not sure how this qualifies as a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALP1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo D, Direttore at Ramada Naples City Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Guest,
I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience you have suffered. I confirm that, unfortunately, we had a serious problem with a water circulating pump; issue immediately solved as a result of your reporting and that of some other guests. I invite you to contact our customer service for the best resolution of your case. I also inform you that during the night shift at the reception we have two employees who become four after 7AM: an ideal operating/quality standard for a 4star hotel in Europe.
Best regards,
Massimo De Angelis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel has very few positives it can claim.
We arrived in the evening to this hotel having had a very quick transfer from the airport via taxi.

We had originally booked this hotel for a 7 day trip to explore Naples & the Amalfi Coast. It had a very good deal on its website for a double room with breakfast included. Too good to be true it seems!

We arrived to a friendly receptionist who gave us the keys to our room while informing us there was a city tax of 3€ per person per night. Bit of a surprise but nothing too concerning!

However it was our rooms that left us dismayed. Our first room had not been cleaned and there were some dubious stains and markings on the bed. In addition, the lights & AC weren't working.

We went back downstairs and were immediately transferred to a different room on the corridor..with a main door that didn't lock. It was so frustrating!

We returned to reception & asked for another room. The receptionist throughout was friendly but clearly not well experienced at her job. At this attempt she said there would be no need to change room again, they would just clean the first room. After we pointed out this was poor service we finally got a room with everything working.

The decor I can't complain about, it's basic and what I expected for a price of about £40 per night.

However the restaurant for dinner and breakfast just added to the depressing experience.
I ordered the "quick" dish on the menu, which although it was only meant to be chicken and veg, it looked vile. It tasted worse. And to top it off I was charged 15€ for it!

The breakfast items were all stale pastries. At one point I tried to have some cereal but the smell of the milk was enough to put me off. It might have been out of date but at that point I didn't care anymore!

The location is perfectly placed next to Naples Central station. Great for travelling! However this happens to be one of the most rundown parts of the city. Definitely did not feel safe for women at night/early evening to walk around or for young families to stay here.

Sure enough, myself & my family members checked out that morning. We had obviously lost a lot on our pre-paid booking but we had to leave if we were to enjoy the holiday.

If you get a cheap deal from this hotel & can stomach poor food & rooms, by all means go ahead and use it as a base to explore Naples.

However in my opinion, if you want to really enjoy your holiday and look forward to having nice accommodation I strongly suggest you stay clear. Other options are available around the city and in neighbouring Sorrento, Cava & Salerno- all 20 minutes by train from Naples!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muchacho1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo D, Direttore at Ramada Naples City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear guest,
I will try to give a detailed response to your comments that will, hopefully, provide you and those reading an objective interpretation of what happened. The city tax is clearly stated on our site, as it is on all reservation sites. Upon your arrival, the receptionist made a mistake and gave you an "out of service" room, i.e., a room that was not cleaned and with the relative systems (electricity and air-conditioning) turned off. Our rooms can always be opened from the inside (for reasons of safety in the case of fire and/or earthquake, for example) and, even with the bolt turned, the guest can immediately open the door by turning tha handle; something that, obviously, can't be done from the outside, also because there is no handle! Relative to the food, I would like to point out that the dish you selected is named "American style Chicken with spinach for the strong" and normally priced on the menu. However, I agree that any Neapolitan speciality on the menu would have been more to your liking. While, in regards to your comment about breakfast, I really don't understand the connection between not eating cereal and the smell of milk, which I think is difficult to believe if not actually ridiculous. I would also like to remind you that our buffet breakfast offers, among other things, eggs, bacon, sausages, potatoes, savory croissants, krapfen, fresh fruit, crepes, etc.
In all sincerity, I think that the negative experience you had on arrival at Ramada (being given a room that was not ready) irreparably marred your stay and your memories. I also think that the readers of this site will be able to find calmer and more credible comments about our property.
Kind regards,
Massimo De Angelis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Room was ok, tub/shower was the biggest and most American that we saw during our 2 week Italy trip. We had a room reserved for 3 beds, first room had 2 beds, second room the AC didnt work, 3rd room was ok AC. Dont expect great AC in Italy. We stayed here so we didnt have to walk around Naples to find food, we were especially leery after being almost mugged at the train station. We went down to the restaurant for dinner and it was 30 euros per person. We did not eat there. Front desk lady would openly ignore the Americans to help the Italians first, I resorted to rudely and loudly interrupting them until I got service. I would prefer to never be caught in Naples again, no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiinxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo D, Direttore at Ramada Naples City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

I want to personally apologize for the type of room you were given when you arrived, while I have to stress the "unlimited assistance" provided by our reception staff. Ramada is an American chain and we have many more foreign than Italian guests; we offer help regardless of the passport they give us and every individual guest receives the due time and assistance. I also hope that you can rethink your opinion of Naples.
Best regards,
Massimo De Angelis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently stayed here for one night because we had an early flight out of Naples the next morning. The hotel is conveniently located within a 5 minute walk from the train station. However, the staff seem to be a bit confused. We booked a room for 3 guests and another for 4 guests. When we arrived, the hotel staff gave us they keys to someone else's room with all their belongings still there. Then they gave us a room with two twin beds for 4 people. When I called to inquire about whether this was correct, the guy replied "yeah, what's the problem?" Then we found out that the rest of our family got a big room with a king bed and a cot for 3 people. We ended up having to switch rooms and they brought us extra cots. I had to ask for extra towels. The hotel staff also gave us incorrect information regarding Naples airport. Two of the receptionists independently told me that Naples airport opens at 5 am. We had an early flight out at 6:05 am and they said it would be OK. I was too nervous to cut it so close so we arrived at the airport at 3:45 am and there was already a line up at the check in counter.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo D, Direttore at Ramada Naples City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
more than confused, I think that my co-workers'heads were still "on vacation". I also personally apologize for an error that was as innocent as it was annoying for the guest but that created a not very reassuring image of the hotel where they were about to stay. While as regards the information about tha airport, I assure you that I personally called the airport office and they confirmed that airport operations (ticketing and customer assistance) star from 05,00AM; this doesn't change the fact that, in any case, the public areas are always accessible (if I'm not mistaken, there is a nice film about a man who lived a long time in an airport).
Kind regards,
Massimo De Angelis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have just returned from a two week holiday stay in Napoli. This was our second visit to the city and, despite the fact that we spent a good deal of time exploring museums, churches, and archaeological sites, we only scratched the surface of what this fascinating city has to offer. It is true that Napoli suffers from some institutional neglect but it would be a mistake to let this put anybody off. The Neapolitans (and the Southerners in general) are very hospitable and the food (and wine) is about as good as you will find it anywhere in the world.

Of course, Napoli is a city and anyone who lives in a large, busy city has to be street wise (particularly at night and particularly if you are a woman.) That's true of Napoli and, believe us, that's true of cities like London and New York as well. We went as a family of four but, for a few days, I was alone with my two children when my husband had to go on a business trip. At no time did I feel threatened and the target of pickpockets or worse.

The Ramada hotel, itself, was very comfortable, the breakfasts and coffee plentiful, and the staff helpful, friendly, and, at times, hilarious (I am talking about you, Antonio!) All of us felt very much at home.

As to the location, we want to make a couple of points. Yes, there is a lot of traffic and crossing the street in Napoli is even more of an art than it is in Roma but, in general, the drivers are mindful of pedestrians and everyone seems to just embrace the chaos with gusto. The area around the station is typical of areas around major stations in many cities but, unlike London, New York, even Paris, the number of muggings that take place is vanishingly small. On the other hand, the station is truly central and it is very easy from there to get transport to all of the other interesting parts of Napoli and its surroundings.Furthermore, there are a number of excellent restaurants within brief walking distance of the hotel.

In summary, we had a great and enriching time in Napoli, very much enjoyed our stay at the Ramada and definitely plan to return some day!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WillandAnnaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo D, Direttore at Ramada Naples City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear guest,

I am very happy that you enjoyed your time at Ramada Naples as well as for the (real!) description of our city. I hope to host you again as soon as possible.

Regards,

Massimo De Angelis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Hotel claims to be a 4 Star hotel but I want to know by what standards. We stayed on the 5th floor which has stains on the carpets in the hall. Once you enter the room the wall paper is peeling off in several places with brown stains on the wall paper. The fridge was not plugged up and there was black mold inside fridge. The air was not working properly in the room, but once fixed we could smell cigarette smoke all night coming through the vents. It was very loud and you could hear every sound in the hall all night long. The hotel claims to have free wifi in the lobby but it never worked our entire stay. On a positive note the hotel staff was very nice and helpful and the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo D, Direttore at Ramada Naples City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear guest,
Today the hotel classification by stars is purely indicative and very personal as you may see from the comments of other travellers. The Ramada offers its services in manners and times that it considers relevant to its company philosophy. In this perspective should be considered the kindness of the staff and the quality of the breakfasts that met your expectations.
With regard to your warnings?? we can confirm that some rooms require more maintenance relative to the wall paper, while we do not consider very credible noise and smell of the air conditioning system (we have independent splits for each room!) as well as the lack of the
Internet connection in the lobby (which may be momentary, but certainly not repetitive for the entire stay!).
Thank you for choosing Ramada Naples.
Massimo De Angelis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#62 of 185 in Naples
994 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#21 of 185 in Naples
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Tiempo
#50 of 185 in Naples
682 reviews
Holiday Inn Naples
#45 of 185 in Naples
1,424 reviews
Montespina Park Hotel
#29 of 185 in Naples
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Naples City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Naples City Center

Address: Via Galileo Ferraris 40, 80142, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Naples
#33 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $91 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Naples City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Naples is the perfect location to visit easily and relaxed the city of Naples and its surroundings within the region Campania. The hotel is situated in the historical centre of Naples at only 200 mt from the main Railway Station and from the Metro of Garibaldi Square. The “circumvesuviana” , train that reaches Pompeii, Ercolano and Sorrento is just in front of the hotel and the main harbour with boats and ferries to Capri and Ischia is at 800mts. Ramada Naples welcomes you in elegant and functional spaces; 152 rooms, all double bedded and spacious in American style, are air conditioned and soundproof with cable TV, wi-fi connection, safe, working desk and mini bar. Standard, Superior Room and Junior Suite are differently equipped in order to satisfy all accommodation requests. Ramada Naples awaits its guests with an intimate and cozy restaurant, where Mediterranean cuisine, as well as a more modern Neapolitan kitchen full of fantasy and estrus are performed. Solarium, lecture room, internet point, free wi-fi area and a spacious garage enrich the offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Naples City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Naples City Centre Hotel Naples
Naples Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing