We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro
Ranked #39 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“good but could do better”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Clean and tidy. Great location - decent breakfast though I suspect the Orange juice was sometimes watered down. Snags - no WiFi (though advertised) and no bar (likewise) Great view of bay from balcony and staff totally helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddy5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    599
    219
    55
    27
See reviews for
186
513
89
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Great location, excelent and friendly staff, there to help you in many languages, buffet breakfast was very good may need to change some of the items if you spend more than 2 night, restaurant has a great view . highly recommend this treasure!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank master1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have just got back from this hotel and we recommend it. When we first arrived in Naples, we wondered if we were going to enjoy our time here as our first impressions was that Naples is chaotic and run-down. Upon leaving, this is still an impression we have, HOWEVER we had a truly amazing time. The hotel is situated near the harbour and castle and in walking distance to many places. We were a little fed-up that we couldn't check-in straight away, as we had arrived earlier than 2pm and a little taken aback that we could have checked in for a fee of 25 euros per room. We thought that was a liitle pricey and in other hotels, we have been allowed to check-in early for free! That aside, the hotel was clean, fresh-looking and our 2 rooms were on the 6th floor, at the back. The wifi was ok. Tea & Coffee facilities in the room, powerful showers, complimentary toiletries, great air-con and adaquate sized rooms, comfy beds and sheets and towels changed as you requested. One of the great things was the breakfast on the 3rd floor with a fantastic terrace overlooking the castle. The food selection was fabulous and it was never overcrowded. There was srambelled eggs/sausages/bacon and a huge variety of cold meats, fruit, breads, pastries and other snacks. It was one of my favourite things to sit on the terrace in the sun - absolutely gorgeous! As in all of Naples, there was on-going work being carried out and there seemed to be cranes, scaffolding and roadworks everywhere, but this all seemed to add to the buzz and charm of the chaotic city. All the staff from the breakfast staff, the maids, the receptionists were friendly and very nice...especially Marta and Mary on the reception desk - they were really sweet and helpful (Thank you!)
We were able to leave our cases at the hotel on the last day, which was helpful too.
Now for Naples itself...crossing roads was a challenge, the traffic is mad, Public transport cheap and very crowded. Great shops. Fantastic restaurants (see separate review for Ristorante Antonio's a few doors up from hotel and Ristorante Mendini). Wonderful sights.

Helpful tips:
1) R2 Bus across the road from hotel at Bus Stop called Via Depretis. Goes to train station Garabaldi.
2) Get tickets from tabac stores. We tended to get the 90 min pass for 1.30 each. You are meant to validate ticket in the machine on the bus, however because of the crowds, couldn't get to the machines at times, so used the ticket later in the day, as it hadn't been stamped.
3) We got the Alibus from the Airport for 4 euros each (3 euro's if you buy them before the bus). It does 3 stops only, from Airport to Garabaldi Train Station to Molo Beverello Port, where you get off for this Hotel. We did have a little trouble finding the hotel after getting off the Alibus, it is on the right. You can see the pink sign if you look up.
4) We got the R2 bus to the train station, to get the Circumsuvenia train, once to Pompeii and another day to Sorrento. To get to this train, it is signposted well and cost 4.10 euro's per person to Sorrento and 2.90 euros for Pompeii. You need Line 3 and they run half-hourly. This train starts in Naples and ends in Sorrento and takes about 1 hour 15.
5) Sorrento - beautiful!
6) Pompeii - wonderful! It cost 11 euros for adults and if you take a photocopy of passports, my 16 year old got in for free and my 18 year old for half price.
7) Food was delicious and atmostphere was wonderful. Generally people were helpful and friendly. They showed prices on calculators if there was any confusion.
8) Like you would anywhere, just be aware of your bags etc but don't be overally worried, as long as you are careful. As others have mentioned the area around the train station isn't perhaps the nicest but you just have to be alert, as you would in any city.
9) Via Toleda 5 mins away and signposted clearly. Lots of shops!
10) The hotel rang a taxi for us to go back to Airport for a fixed rate of 20 euros.

So overall a mad but vibrant city. They have a sense of 'order' in their 'chaos'. We really enjoyed Naples and the Hotel was a good choice!

Room Tip: Wifi worked on 6th floor. Quieter rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank meerkat365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights and we enjoyed our stay. Good location for most of the sights. Breakfast was excellent, with and wonderful view of the castle and port. Unfortunately there is ongoing building works for a new metro next to the hotel, however this didn't detract from our stay. Staff were efficient. WiFi was free but did not work in room.

Room Tip: WiFi did not work on floor five. Choose floor three for WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel_Lungenmuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have stayed in Naples three times now and this would be my favorite spot so far. It's not exactly in the pretty part of town (if Naples has one), but you are walking distance to so many places. I stayed on the waterfront last time which was awesome, but everything nearby had tourists prices; the time before was near the train station which could get sketchy. Staying here we could walk to the city center which was very unexplored from my previous trips. The hotel itself is quiet and clean, and the staff was unusually friendly. I had breakfast every morning, and it was typical breakfast. Zero complaints about the hotel, I would come back.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators. Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel is near the ferry harbour so if you have an early morning departure it is a good place to stay. Breakfast is excellent. The rooms are simple, small and convenient for a short stay. The Wifi is rather unreliable. The receptionists are excellent. and helpful The lounge is far too small and there didn't appear to be a bar. So it was a bit like staying in a motel. The convenience is everything and if you go to Antonio's for dinner you will have a good time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
NH Napoli Ambassador
#56 of 186 in Naples
2,091 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
954 reviews
Palazzo Turchini
#49 of 186 in Naples
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro

Property: Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro
Address: Via Agostino Depretis 123, 80133, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Naples
#27 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, offering 85 airconditioned rooms, is located in the heart of Naples near the historical city centre and the Royal Palace, 5 minutes walk from ferries to Capri, Ischia, Sorrento and Sicily. 150 m from the Expo Napoli Convention Centre locatedinside the Stazione Marittima. Other features include a bar and a meeting room and public outdoor pay parking open from 6am to midnight (alternatives available on request). Guests must leave the car keys at the parking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro Hotel Naples
Mercure Hotel Naples
Accor Napoli Angioino Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing