We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A caring staff, a landmark location, and a very comfortable room.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro
Ranked #37 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A caring staff, a landmark location, and a very comfortable room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro during a 10 day trip to Naples. The cab ride from the airport took about 20 minutes, very easy ride in. We reserved a regular double room. The room was very clean and modern, although small. The two twin beds were right next to each other. The nice perk was that on our 6th floor room, we had a beautiful ocean view. The bathroom is very comfortable with the raised shower a true traveler's delight. The TV had a lot of channels in other languages (4 English Channels, and also Japanese, French, and German.)

The staff was very kind. My sister got sick on our trip and stayed alone in the hotel room. The staff called her twice during the day just to make sure she was okay and to see if there was anything she needed. The staff was good with directions and restaurant recommendations.

The Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro is located just steps away from the New Castle. It is a magestic old castle that makes for a great landmark. If I ever got lost (which is so easy and fun to do in the narrow streets of Napoli) I'd just look for the castle and find my way home. It is also just a block away from the port. Our stay in Naples took us to Capri and Ischia and it was a 2 minute walk to the ferries. There is an R2 bus that stops right in front of the hotel that goes direclty to the train station. This made the day trip to Pompeii very easy. The hotel staff will also book tours for you, though we found them to be quite expensive.

About 3 doors down from the hotel is a great restaurant called Antonio's reasonably priced with a warm atmosphere. There is also a grocery store just a block away (we like to buy some food to take back to the hotel to cut down on food costs. In the alley behind the hotel there is a fantastic pizza restaurant and two small convenience stores.

One small problem we had (and maybe it is more of a problem for our travel agent) is that at check out we found out we were responsible for city taxes that our travel agent didn't take care of. The pictures advertised by our travel agent also showed a rooftop terrace with perfect views of New Castle. However, we couldn't find the rooftop, not sure if it is closed permanently or for winter. Around New Castle there is construction to make it a metro station. That will truly up the convenience, although there is ametro stop about a 10 min. walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors so you can get the good ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pailin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    573
    204
    51
    24
See reviews for
176
487
86
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Since this trip was for work we went with one of the privilege rooms. The room was nice enough but the bed felt like some of the slats or springs had gone and the top sheets were dirty.

The free paper, (in my case i was offered the times) never showed up on any day i was there and the free mini bar contained a single overwhelmingly small bottle of still water same sparking and two tonic water. Some softdrinks or more bottled water would have been nice .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sotondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is situated a short walk from Stazione Marittimo and the Alibus stop (blue sign) - the last bus stop from the airport. From the port keep the Castle to your left then turn right down the first busy road and it is on your right. Room 303 offers complimentary tea and coffee, bathrobes and mini bar (three bottles of water and an orange juice). The coffee or tea, should you chose to figure out how to work the perculator, can be drank from the cardbord cups provided. We arrived during a thunderstorm and decided to dry off and get a drink in the bar area - thunderstorm moved quicker than the service for drinks (15 minutes). I enquired at the reception where we could we get a bus from to the airport and was given the wrong information. That said, the room/bed was very comfortable, all toiletries provided and a good size, powerful shower. Despite overlooking a main road we were not disturbed by traffic noise. There is a lot of renovations going on between the hotel and the Castle (new railway station). We think there are better options available if you need to be near the port. If not go for somewhere more central - Napoli is an interesting and vibrant place to spend a few nights and just simply explore - at no time did we feel unsafe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great value for the money.
Perfect location, good service.
Room was clean and spacious for one person
Only the breakfast was not consistent with quality of he hotel. Below average for the quality and the variety offered. No fresh juice, no skim milk available. The pasties looked not fresh made (Naples is very well know for this). Indeed the 'cornetti" were frozen and heated up instead of fresh from pastry shops. The coffee and cappuccino were available through a self-service machine. I wouldn't mind if it was a Nespresso or Illy Iperespresso machine which deliver a very good quality coffee. Anyway I would go back, though I would choose to have the breakfast in a bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DERUBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for two days right after New Year (2013). Well, probably, you should count that this hotel situated in Naples, which rather dirty and unwelcoming. But still, not really satisfied by its quality. Rooms was ok, but average. Our bathroom was dirty, it looked clean on the first sight, but later I noticed a few hairs on the floor and walls, so it wasn't cleaned properly. And it's really unpleasant to see something like that in your hotel bathroom! Bathroom itself wasn't new. Hotel looks old, though renovated.

So, if you're looking for a cheap place to stay, it'll be ok. But if you're looking for a decent hotel where it'd be pleasant to spent your time, you're surely be disappointed! So better look for some other place! Wouldn't stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsfun_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

A very good hotel in a great location. It is about 25 minutes walk from the train station, 15 minutes to the centro storico, 10 minutes to Via Toledo and just around the corner from the port. My room was spacious and quite even it was located facing the street and also had a nice balcony. Breakfast is a little pricey at 13 euro so I didn't bother with it. The reception staff are professional and most of them were friendly.
Arriving at the main train station will not give you a good impression of Naples as the Piazza Garibaldi is quite chaotic and the surrounding streets are filled with street vendors selling counterfeit handbags (and blocking large sections of the footpaths). Naples does have a lot to offer however with a lovely seafront area and many interesting historic buildings. The traffic is quite a challenge but I mastered it by watching how the neapolitans manage and copying them (they just walk right out into the street and negociate their way through the cars and scooters!). It's also worth checking out the new metro system and the amazing pink station at Universita!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

As a travel professional and having access to great deals all over the world, I normally spend Thanksgiving in Naples and have tried different hotels around St. Lucia area. I normally prefer modern hotels and based on the travelers reviews, I have chosen the Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro this time. After a long connecting flight from Miami, I was welcomed by Diego at the front desk. The check in was easy and I was able to reach my room immediately. Even if the room was located on the first floor, it wasn't noisy, day or night. The room was large, had wood floors, modern furniture and nicely decorated. It was very clean with a little balcony facing the back of the building on a typical Neapolitan street. Internet was good and free of charge. Flat 32" TV with channels in many different languages. The bathroom was big enough and the shower was really good. The amenities were also good. The hotel is located in a very busy and safe area and walking distance to the Port of Naples where you can take the transportation to the Amalfi Coast and other places, Castello Angioino, Via Roma, Piazza Plebiscito, Teatro San Carlo, the beautiful Galeria Umberto and great caffes such as Caffe Gambrinus and great local restaurantess like Trattoria La Chaicchierata di Giosue Borrelli. It is really located "nel cuore della bella Napoli". The buffett breakfast was really amazing with many different coffee options, pastries, scrambled eggs, breads, fruits, etc. The restaurant is located on the third floor with a great terrazza facing Castello Angioino. I have to mention the great service as well provided by Ana Rita (breakfast area), Diego, Marcella and Serena (front desk guys - day and night) and the cleaning ladies. They were extremely nice, smiling and very pleasant and made my staying a lot more enjoyable with their genuine Southern Italian hospitality. The Mercure Napoli Angioino was a great surprise and I highly recommended for singles, couples, families and business people. Nice, modern, great location and affordable. Everything was perfect and it deserves my 5 stars! Grazie ragazzi.. Arrivederci Napoli!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robdezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Palazzo Turchini
#51 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
NH Napoli Ambassador
#59 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#11 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Porto
Palazzo Salgar
Palazzo Salgar
#10 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#12 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro

Property: Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro
Address: Via Agostino Depretis 123, 80133, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Naples
#25 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, offering 85 airconditioned rooms, is located in the heart of Naples near the historical city centre and the Royal Palace, 5 minutes walk from ferries to Capri, Ischia, Sorrento and Sicily. 150 m from the Expo Napoli Convention Centre locatedinside the Stazione Marittima. Other features include a bar and a meeting room and public outdoor pay parking open from 6am to midnight (alternatives available on request). Guests must leave the car keys at the parking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro Hotel Naples
Mercure Hotel Naples
Accor Napoli Angioino Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing