We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Naples: still rubbish in the streets” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro
Ranked #37 of 189 Hotels in Naples
North England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Naples: still rubbish in the streets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Mercure hotel is situated near the castle and the harbour in what is called the 'centre' of Naples. The hotel reaches its reliable international standard with clean rooms, modern bathrooms, good receptionists and a tasty and varied breakfast. What disappointed me, however, was the very slow internet connection and the habit of someone outside of moving rubbish bins at about 6am with the result that it was almost impossible to get one's full quota of sleep.

Naples itself suffered from an extended dispute about rubbish collection and, though this has now been resolved, many Europeans would be surprised at the amount of rubbish that still litters the streets or the main roads. The minor roads are uneven and bumpy and the traffic, with lots of motor scooters, shows signs of suicidal recklessness: this is not a place for hiring a car.

The food is generally acceptable and we understand that Naples is the city where the pizza was invented so you should try at least one of these before you leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwinOddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    573
    204
    51
    24
See reviews for
176
487
86
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We only stayed for the one night. Good location next to the port and castle and plenty to visit roundabout. The room was comfy and clean, breakfast too expensive so we didn't bother

My major gripe was being kept awake until gone 7am by what I though was loud music from outside only to find it was music coming from the hotel's own reception. Had I realised earlier I would have asked them to turn it down as, considering I was a few floors up, I could not only hear it, but also feel the vibrations of the bass coming through the pillow

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nesswotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alebossa, Direttore at Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear traveller, I thank you for your positive comments about the hotel good location and the cleanless and comfort of our rooms.

The breakfast price of € 13.00 could seem too expensive, and I respect your personal opinion, but let me explain, also for the other travellers that could be interested in your comment, that we offer a very complete choice of sweet and salt products, with biological and equo & solidal corners, in a modern and comfortable hall with the possibility in having breakfast on the panoramic terrace on maschio Angioino Castle. With € 13.00 you can have a complete buffet breakfast and you can have how many cold or hot drink you want. Moreover all the products are the best of Italian leader farms.

In order to your comment about the music coming from reception during the whole night, I inform you that we have a central music station with diffusion only in the hall and on the 3th floor in breakfast room. The music is normally switched off at 11.00 p.m., and even thought it was left switched on for a mistake during the whole night of your stay , I assure you that it is materially impossible that you felt it throught the pillow, because there is a very big distance from the music diffusion to the rooms, and the volume is not so high . I think that probably you were disturbed by some other client in a nearby room. Aniway, you didn’t express this problem at the reception, so for us it was impossible to solve it and immediately give you satisfaction .
I hope to welcome you again in Naples in our hotel.

Alessandra Bossa-Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Apart from evening staff in restaurant, the hotel staff were uncaring, we felt invisible. Maybe the reason for the attitude was we were not part of a large travel group or returning local business clients.
Room did not have the space to accommodate 2 suitcases.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerewetherTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
740 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel is located right in the centre of Napoli, with Piazza Municipio to the West and the port to the South. From the airport you can reach the hotel via Corso Umberto I in under 30min costing some 25 euros in a price agreed with the taxi driver (as advised by other reviewers).

As I stepped into the dusty Corso Umberto I in front of the hotel, I was welcomed by a not very impressing facade, with a depressing looking reception of a 3 star hotel but rather helping male receptionist. But as I took the elevator to the top floor for room 702, the hallways were clean cut and elegant, just like my room where I could not hear any noises. Despite booking the hotel via Hotels.com, the reception kept my requests, or maybe the fact that I am a member of the Accor Group helped.

The bathroom had a good shower with adjustable heigh, temperature and pressure but the only toiletries were the soaps, shower gel and shampoo besides the hair drier and a brilliant magnifying mirror. The hallway led to the decent size room with a double bed, clean furnishings but no carpets or sleepers on the cold floors. On the table near the TV with channels in every language and only News channels in English, there was a kettle with tea/coffee/sugar bags. Most importantly the balcony door led to a massive balcony with great views towards the port in the south and Castel Nuovo located West.

The breakfast room is located on the third floor and you can have your breakfast in the balcony with great views over the city. The breakfast is rather diversified and the staff is very welcoming and friendly.

Walking around is very easy if you ignore the masses of Italian men that follow you for no reason only to get rid of them and come across another army of Italian men even approaching you with their mum in hand or their kids. A taxi up to Piazza Garibaldi where the train station is, should cost no more than 10 euros and from there one way train to Herculaneum or Pompeii is no more than 2.80 euros or Sorrento 4 euros one way which can be reached in 1 hour with some 15 stops. But you can walk easily up to the churches of via dei Tribunali: Duomo, San Gregorio Armeno, Sansevero (closed on Tuesdays), Santa Chiara or Gesu Nuovo (bring a shawl to cover your shoulder though even though you have 30 degrees Celsius in October the way it happened during my stay).

For shopping walk to Via Toledo (amazingly cheap leather shoes) or for eating on the cheap; or to the more expensive via Chiaia on the right of the hotel off Piazza Plebiscito.

Room Tip: Send your requests to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TERRAvelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is nice and is a Mercure one. One thing I didn't like was the bath, it's a bit dangerous do get in and out of it. The hotel is well located and is very clean. The have wifi access. The ladies from the reception are a bit rude but try to speak italian and everthing changes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deabarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

1st time in Naples, so wanted a hotel that was easy to get into and out of with a car.
Was great hotel, loved it, easy to find, could park outside to unload, staff fantastic, very happy and polite. Was told that parking was in a private carpark that was across the road, run by different company but hotel has arrangement with them to park there.
Rooms where great, lovely and clean, big bathroom and comfy beds, air con and quite with the windows shut, surprising as we where in the center of naples. Breakfast area was amazing, half way up the building on a big terrace over looking naples, you get the usual traffic noise, even up that far, but was worth it all and very nice. Breakfast is continental style, with alot of different things to choose from, so was very filling.
All in all, very nice place, considering that i drove from the uk to naples, was a great rest stop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoofussF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Palazzo Turchini
#51 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
NH Napoli Ambassador
#59 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#11 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Porto
Palazzo Salgar
Palazzo Salgar
#10 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#12 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro

Property: Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro
Address: Via Agostino Depretis 123, 80133, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Naples
#25 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, offering 85 airconditioned rooms, is located in the heart of Naples near the historical city centre and the Royal Palace, 5 minutes walk from ferries to Capri, Ischia, Sorrento and Sicily. 150 m from the Expo Napoli Convention Centre locatedinside the Stazione Marittima. Other features include a bar and a meeting room and public outdoor pay parking open from 6am to midnight (alternatives available on request). Guests must leave the car keys at the parking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro Hotel Naples
Mercure Hotel Naples
Accor Napoli Angioino Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing