We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starhotels Terminus

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Starhotels Terminus
Ranked #41 of 189 Hotels in Naples
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stay away!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Spent 2 weeks in Italy and have tried star hotel in Florence, impressed with them but the Naples branch totally bring down its brand.

1) Checkin and greeted by unfriendly, monotonous staff.
2) Our no-smoking is as good as a cigarette den and sight of severe wears and tears. We complained and the front desk simply told us to open the windows to air the room and told us 3 times they will get someone to "freshen up" the room but no one ever shown up.
3) ultra small and slow lift (better off taking the stairs)
4) walls are so think, I can literally hear the next door turning on the faucet or taking shower!

We spent most of our time at night in the lobby and even thought of sleeping at the lobby lounge instead of our room! Yes it's that bad!

Do not stay unless you are not particular about cleanliness and can put up with bad services!

Only plus point is the location but I rather pay a taxi to bring me to nicer hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loracny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    409
    232
    85
    55
See reviews for
153
307
59
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I recently stayed in the starhotel terminus and found it to be a comfortable place to stay.

The rooms were clean and spacious with a nicely fitted bathroom, The hotel staff were a bit rude but i think it was just their nature. Nothing i felt i had to complain about.

We went for a meal in the hotel which was a little overpriced for what we got and one of the waiters was really rude attending to other people and ignoring my request but no big deal.

Checking in and checking out was smooth the hotel bill is available on your TV so you can check it as you go. I did request a room with a good view to to be fair to them we got a brilliant view up on the 6th floor of Mt Vesuvius. There is also a rooftop garden which we had a look at and it had a scent of fresh flowers with brilliant views all over the city.

The hotel offers a range of services we didn't use them so i cant comment on them.

Overall nice hotel i would recommend this hotel and i would stay here again.

Room Tip: request a room facing mt Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jet2jimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The location of the hotel is near to the railway station. It come with the facilities similar to that of other hotel. The room is big and so is the toilet. The room does come with television and fridge but without safe deposit box (if you need either of this or all). The hotel has elevators. It also allow free storage of your luggage. the room include breakfast. The hotel is quiet in the inside therefore we have a good rest. Even though our room overlook the main road. The Main Railway Station is about or less then 5-mins Walking Distance and there are no supermarket nearby not sure if there is any at the Mcdonalds side of the railway station. And the wifi is only available at the lobby area unless you wanted to pay for it. Other then the check-out which is slower then others hotel nothing much to complain about. However, do request to take your own luggage if you store it with them. Cos it will take very long before it reaches your room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
845 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Maybe they don't like British tourists, but I found the staff offhand and not at all attentive.
We stayed in a standard room which was adequate, however it was cleaned thoroughly each morning.
The breakfast buffet was adequate but if you needed a hot drink, it was easier to find a waiter rather than wait for one to ask if you wanted anything.
The gym was adequate, but the one running machine wasn't always working and there was no water or antiseptic wipes and one day there were no towels.
If you want a central hotel, this is good because it is next to the railway station and bus station. If you want luxury and attentive service, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. They are building in the Piazza and they start work at 6am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mouseHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The only thing that is good about this hotel is its proximity to the station. Many things were broken or missing. For instance in the fitness room, there were no towels or water or antiseptic wipes. On 2 mornings I went to use the running machine and it wasn't working. Our room lost all water one morning, although this was fixed within a few minutes. The breakfast was adequate, but on occasions, there was no butter, bowls, cereal spoons and sometimes the hot breakfast - bacon, scrambled eggs, frankfurters - was cold. If you wanted a hot drink, it was better to find a waiter and ask, rather than wait for them to find you.
Maybe they don't like British tourists, but I did find most of the staff offhand and you could be waiting a long time at reception, even though you were the only person there.
However, the room was cleaned well each day.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel because there is a lot of building work happening on the piazza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mouse700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Naples is not the best place to see Italy, it is dirty busy, and lacks charm, however the Star hotel terminus by the railway station is suberb. This hotel even has a pillow menu!
In the same street are two very good inexpensive restaurants. Good friendly service and in a safe area. Come out the hotel's swing doors turn left and you are their.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparrowwelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We chose this hotel for two visits to Naples during March and April because it is close to the railway station. On this score it didn’t disappoint, being literally across the road. Unfortunately we were disappointed in many other areas.

On our first visit we found the reception staff unwelcoming, quite offhand. The room we were assigned seemed a little small and the porter pointed out that it was, in fact, a single room. We had booked (and paid well in advance) for two people, so this was clearly a mistake. The porter was directed to put us in a double room and when my partner went to reception to have the room key re-programmed he was greeted with the words “What did you do wrong?” as if we were to blame.

The double room was a reasonable size with a good bathroom and a balcony overlooking the street. It wasn’t too noisy with the window closed. The pillows from the pillow menu were wonderful and the bed was very comfortable. The decor was a bit tired and we noticed that this was the case throughout the hotel. We went upstairs, hoping to enjoy the roof garden but it wasn’t open and the area had a sad, neglected look.

Later we went down to the lobby to have a drink and use the internet. The same male receptionist was quite rude, throwing the piece of paper with the password at us. We then had to go in search of someone, anyone, to serve us. Eventually we got our drinks and then had to go through the same process in order to pay for them. Most of the staff were sitting in the restaurant, eating a meal.

Breakfast was adequate although the cappuccino appeared to have been made from a packet rather than a coffee machine. Like the rest of the hotel the restaurant was in dire need of redecorating. Some light fittings had only about half the bulbs working.

On our second visit we were checked in by a friendly, pleasant woman, a considerable contrast to our previous experience. The room we were given had a jammed plug in the washbasin and a bad smell from the drain. My partner reported the ‘puzza’ and we were immediately offered an upgrade to a large corner room overlooking the piazza (currently being dug up). We had tea and coffee making facilities, a small table and chairs, and room to spare. Very comfy bed and pillows again. Surprisingly there was no mirror in the room apart from the one in the bathroom. The bathroom was a good size and the shower spacious. Again the room was in need of updating. The television sets in the rooms are practically antiques.

Before leaving we checked our account on the in-room television and confirmed we had nothing to pay. We handed in our keys at reception and were told by the receptionist on duty that nothing was owed. Just then the phone rang and he answered it. We were preparing to leave when an older man behind reception called out to us. At first we thought he couldn’t be talking to us as we were about to leave, but he insisted that we wait, asked for our room number, checked the computer and told us we were booked in for another night and we would have to pay. At this stage I started looking in my bag for a photocopy of our voucher to prove that we did not owe for another night, while my partner suggested he check again as we definitely had not booked an extra night. After a degree of bluster he agreed that we ‘could go’, upon which we told him we were going anyway as we had a train to catch. I cannot remember ever having been spoken to so rudely by a hotel receptionist.

My score for this hotel is 2 out of 5: 1 point for the location near the train station, half a point for the comfortable bedding, and half a point for the 50% of the staff who were polite.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Naples hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#20 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Stelle Hotel
#28 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Naples
#43 of 189 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#12 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Grand Hotel Europa
#47 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Terminus

Property: Starhotels Terminus
Address: Piazza Garibaldi 91, 80124, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Terminus in Naples. We're conveniently located in Piazza Garibaldi, close to the historical centre and just beside the railway station - ideal for travelling around and exploring the city's most important cultural sights.Our romantic hotel is styled with harmonious colours and exudes the warmth and hospitality for which Naples has always been famous. Sit and enjoy drinks in the roof garden and soak up the beautiful views encompassing Vesuvius and the Gulf of Naples. During the spring and summer, you can enjoy the sounds of live piano music too.In all there are 173 traditional rooms and suites, a well-equipped fitness room, new Congress Centre with 10 meeting rooms seating, all bathed in natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Starhotels Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Terminus Hotel Naples
Starhotel Terminus Naples
Starhotel Terminus Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing