We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past grandeur..”
Review of Galleria Umberto I

Galleria Umberto I
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.69*
and up
Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome
More Info
$77.42*
and up
Naples by Sea from Sorrento
More Info
$95.29*
and up
Naples Segway Grand City Tour
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
664 reviews
327 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Past grandeur..”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

One comes here for the edifice not the shops.

From the intricate mosaics to the headlight of the dome you will be craning the kneck to enjoy.

It is fortunate for Naples and its visitors that this edifice has been preserved in the way it has. It is a lasting piece of the city's intricate and fascinating history.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MDR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    326
    142
    31
    21
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
452 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture and mosaics”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We walked from our hotel in the Decumani neighborhood to Galleria Umberto to find some shopping for my wife and daughter. The Galleria is a magnificent piece of architecture. The glass ceiling is amazing. The tile floor has some interesting designs and mosaics. I looked more at the building than I did at the shops. I did a little people watching as well, but it was hard to take my eyes off the ceiling. It is a gorgeous structure that you need to see if you are in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
991 reviews
470 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a few minutes to walk through”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were walking through town on our way to the port. We probably would not have walked through the Galleria if it had not been mentioned in Rick Steves' book. The Galleria is about 100 years old and a tells me what shopping malls could have been like before Americans streamlined them. The frescoes, the open architecture, the painting - it was hard not to run into people because I was looking up all the time. Of course, don't forget to look down too to see the designs on the floor. We just walked around looking and didn't even bother to go in any shops.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

When I was walking into the gallery, I was so transfixed by the airy ceiling that I bumped into another crowd of people that were staring at the ceiling as well. The structure itself was beautiful. I would definitely recommend going just to gawk at the architecture.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by to see and it is amazing. The ceiling is gorgeous and the details in the architecture amazing. Good places to sit and enjoy people watching. The mosaics are cool too.

Helpful?
Thank mmccauley2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galleria Umberto I also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Galleria Umberto I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing