We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a disaster...”

Project Napoli Service
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.76*
and up
Mt Vesuvius Half-Day Trip from Naples
Ranked #10 of 57 Outdoor Activities in Naples
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Giving you the welcome in Naples and wishing you a pleasant stay I pick the occasion in order to describe you the services provided by our incoming agency in the eventuality they could be of your interest. In case during your permanence in Campania you wish to visit our town or surrounding archaeological sites or the Amalfi coast, our staff is at your complete disposal in order to organize: 1) personalized excursions or daily tours half or full day 2) car rental with driver half or full day 3) transfers from and to the Airport, harbour and stations Hoping to please you, enjoy your time, all my best regards
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I just have to say the local tour company, Project Napoli Service, that provides the tour was superb!! We were coming by train into Naples to catch the tour bus but we took the wrong train and missed the bus. The gentleman at the office helped coordinate a minivan to pick my family up and get us to Pompeii to catch up with the tour. He was patience and very helpful and I can't commend him enough for everything he did to get us on track with the tour. The tour was amazing and Andres (hopefully I got his name right), the tour guide, was informative and very funny. He made the tour enjoyable even though we were melting under the sun's heat. The climb up Vesuvius was great and had a wonderful view. I would highly recommend this tour, it's not one to miss

Again, I applaud everyone who helped in getting my family to Pompeii and making our day wonderful!!! I just hoped I didn't drive the gentleman crazy at the office who I kept calling, he was the best.

Thank EFidaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"booked through viator"
in 6 reviews
"pizza lunch"
in 4 reviews
"lack of organization"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 10 reviews
"lunch stop"
in 3 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 6 reviews
"take pictures"
in 5 reviews
"hour tour"
in 4 reviews
"up hill"
in 2 reviews
"mt vesuvius"
in 3 reviews
"excellent driver"
in 3 reviews
"steep walk"
in 2 reviews
"great guide"
in 3 reviews
"train station"
in 4 reviews
"small group"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"amalfi coast tour"
in 2 reviews
Filter

77 - 81 of 118 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

I booked the half day Pompeii tour as we were on a cruise coming to Naples. We were picked up at the Port and then had to pick up some more people at another stop. We finally reached Pompeii and we were introduced to our guide Andreas. We were given head sets and off we went. I would say he was an excellent guide and we enjoyed this part of the tour. When we finished and arrived back at the meeting point our escort advised us that we should have a coffee and the coach will be with us shortly and "do not complain"! We waited at least a half an hour for the coach to come in the boiling heat with some of us finding it difficult to stand after all the walking and the heat. The escort kept telling us there was a lot of traffic in Naples and we should not complain! Naples is known for the traffic and the coach should have been waiting for us not the other way round. We were dumped on the coach with another woman who was so rude it was unbelievable. A simple apology for keeping everyone waiting would have been enough to calm everyone down instead of her rudeness and sarcasim. It left a very bad taste in my mouth about visiting Italy. These escorts back to the port should be ambassadors for Italy. If you are working with the public and offering a service you need to be respectful. I would never use this company again.

2  Thank CarlyEve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo C, Direttore at Project Napoli Service, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Madame as you told the visit and the guide were ok and if traffic conditions that day caused a late is not completely our fault. Anyway I appreciate your alert about the behavior of the escort and I would ask you to indicate us the date of the tour in order to understand who was and reproach her. Please write me to pns@iol.it, thanks for your help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked the Pompeii/Mt. Vesuvius tour through Viator and it was by far the low point of our entire trip to Italy. Everything was completely unorganized and unprofessional. It seemed as if this was the first time the tour had been done - no one knew which bus we should be on, we were picked up late, no one knew how many people were in the group (we kept recounting our huge group), and we were dropped off in the middle of an intersection at a red light at the end of the tour. The guide was more concerned with being "funny" and gimmicky than imparting any history.

Basically we paid for the transportation and nothing more. The only redeeming part was the hike up Mt. Vesuvius (the only part on our own!) as that was a neat experience.

Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo C, Direttore at Project Napoli Service, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Madame the day of your excursion we transported 83 participants ensuring everyone a door to door pick up and drop off service in more than 16 differents and away from each other pick up point in town and everybody, every minivan and bus travelled coordinated by our office that checked in real time their positions in order to make them arriving together at the same time at the meeting point in Pompeii. Later the group has been splitted in 3 differents parts going to Vesuvius, to Sorrento and Naples and every little group with its own guide respected all returning time to the original starting points. You were picked up and dropped off at the station as requested. On 83 participants we have received tens of positives reviews and one bad feedback, the yours. We are sorry, we are not perfect but please we truly don't think you can say that such a kind of organization can be defined unprofessional ad not well organized. My best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked the half day Pompeii tour through Viator, our local guide was meant to be Project Napoli service, we made the confirmation 24hrs prior for hotel pick up time, all was ok. We were then contacted via phone the same afternoon by the tour service and they stated that they couldn't make up the numbers for the tour and if we could push the tour till the next day (which we were leaving) so obviously we couldn't. They said that this would be fine they'd take the 2 of us on the scheduled tour. Our tour description stated that our tour will commence upon pick up from hotel with our professional guide, the driver arrived on time but we became suspicious when he didn't speak a word of English, so after the completely silent trip from Sorrento to Pompeii we were dropped at the main gift shop and directed to have a coffee etc which we didn't want because we wanted our tour to start and not take all day. Whilst standing in the shop while our driver was ordering a coffee and sitting down with his comrades having a smoke, we had literally no idea what was happening he tried to tell us in Italian that his boss was running late or meeting us here, anyway after 20 minutes or so the driver signalled that his boss was over here so we followed him to were someone (no introduction) was waiting with a group of 20 or so from a cruise ship doing a full day tour from wherever they disembarked. The driver was payed then we were dumped with another group of people to do the Pompeii tour then had to wait for them to finish their lunch in Pompeii then get a guided tour of the amalfi coast all the way back to our hotel (instead of the original tour taking us back to our hotel). They rave about how many tourists visit Pompeii each year and at a guess a majority of them would be guided tours and one would think a simple 4hr visit wouldn't be that complicated. Totally unorganised tour service we would of rather cancelled than go through that garbage again. No apology from the company, mind you we actually don't even know what tour company we were with after we were dumped with another group.

2  Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo C, Direttore at Project Napoli Service, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Sirs we read your review and we did not find any lack by Project Napoli Service. We contacted you the day before because it is usual to try to optimize groups putting together more participants coming from the same town everyday, you said that you could not and we arranged a private car just for your 2 picking you up in Sorrento. Once in Pompei you waited few minutes for the rest of the group coming from Naples and be carefull, it was not another group because the visit is one for everybody, all together participants coming from Naples and the ones coming from Sorrento. After the visit who I suppose was ok for you because you did not mention about, it is well advertised on tour operator web-site, there is half an hour of free-time before departing to Sorrento. On this time people wants to look at shops, have a break for lunch, search for a toilet and so on.. Maybe that day you waited a little more because of the big group but nothing was unusual and you were dropped off regularly at your hotel in Sorrento.
In the end maybe you did not enjoy the service that day but we provided exactly what we advertise and what you paid for. My best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Rosario our driver met us on time in front of our hotel in Positano. He made some suggestions how to spend the day and we more than happy to follow. He gave us some background information of all the places. We started with Amalfi, then Ravello, even stopped for us a wine farm in Ravello because we love our wine so much, we bought a couple of bottles. We then went for lunch at this incredible place with the most magnificent view in Positano, the pasta was just beautiful and the Italian mamma was in the kitchen preparing the food. Rosario was the best, he stopped at lookout points and took photo's of us, so both of us could be on a photo for a change. Next stop was Sorrento, and then back to our Hotel. We were well impressed with Rosario's driving and friendliness. Overall we had a beautiful and enjoyable day out and will never forget it!

Thank Sonja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Project Napoli Service also viewed

Pompeii, Province of Naples
Ravello, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Project Napoli Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing