We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very odd” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Germano

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel San Germano
Ranked #128 of 189 Hotels in Naples
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very odd”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Firstly this hotel is no where near central . The location is best described as bang on a a noisy and busy road. At night the traffic noise is relaced by the squeals and requests from the various ladies of the night who work right outside.

Room was I guess ok. Bed alright and aircon ok. Wallpaper was peeling of and it all looked very tired. Shower door was one if those puzzle like 1980 s shower doors. Room cleanish but carpet has been down for a long long time and it shows.
The bar area can only be described as odd . It is around 2 metres wide and the drink fridges are protected by a large metal bar which with every order is ceremoniously unlocked by its very grumpy custodian. You are then sent down stairs to a glass box with two dirty tables which we were told was the American Bar. Truly awful with no common area to just sit and relax.

Pool area is very nice though and staff attentive . Noise from the traffic is always there but it is a nice area.

Note to the management close the glass box bar and use the area before the pool. It's nice and there is a bar there you could use.

Breakfast was uninspiring . A rotten yogurt was the highlight and other choices include donuts and roast pork!! Most strange .

This seems to me to have given up the game . It's tired, in a bad area , most staff pretty indifferent (exceptions were the very sweet cleaner and the pool staff).

Unless you are a teetotal swimming enthusiast do not stay here it is just existing and not really there to serve guests.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    53
    49
    44
    29
See reviews for
27
44
20
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Unfortunately this Hotel was put in my way last July. Nothing to say except it is poor. Front desk people gave no advice about the region, knew nothing about the city or about Pompei or the volcano, did not fix the problems in the room (it was raining over my head in the bathroom) and was not kind, gentle or anything good to compensate the bads. Do notrecommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Naples hotels

That would be telling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My car was stolen in front of the reception. Do you need to know more. With a bellboy maybe involved. It wasn´t a worthy car. It is a different world down there many of Italians i know never entered this city. It´s completely wrong to travel under Rome with your own car.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pssst701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here as part of our Cosmos tour. It isn't close to anything and the staff weren't very pleasant. We had trouble with our air conditioning and the maintenance man came up, but just shrugged his shoulders. The pool was refreshing, but they make you buy a bathing cap for $1!! Even though my husbands head is bald he still needed to wear one!! I didn't want to wear one & I asked the attended why we had to and she said because of losing our hair in the pool, so I asked her about all the men with hair on their backs & elsewhere---she didn't have an answer for that. The wifi doesn't work in the rooms!! The breakfast buffet was constantly running out of food and not very good when there was food there. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamakoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome, italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

beautifull hotel right in the heart of naples with an awesome swimming pool and the staff was more than helpfull. the breakfast buffet was a little scarce but lunch and dinner were great.
another good thing was the garage belonging to the hotel so you didn't have to worry about the car being on the road. overall rating......not bad at all

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miciomacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here thinking it would be nice to stay close enough out of the city at a decent price but for us it was a little too far. Yes its about 15mins from the centre (water front which is really the only thing worth visiting at night) but if you dont have a car its a tad bit of an effort. There is a Metro system which is about 1.5kms away but where the hotel is located is not a family friendly place. It looks like at night the main street turns into a 'car brothel' and after they have finished their business leave the condoms behind. There is an old girl out the front all the time, working her magic x

The pool is lovely but opens and closes at really strange hours (10:30 - 17:45) on the dot. At 17:45 they throw in chemicals whether people are still in it or not. There is also a city tax or approx 3$ per night.

Ps - depends on the day - sometimes breakfast is good - others its vomit.

Room Tip: Ask to be located close to the pool. Rooms near the main road can be loud. The pool is located on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allsmileslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Unfortunately I have to start this review by saying I would never stay at this hotel again. It is most definitely not a 4 star hotel as advertised. I would say it was a poor 3 star.
Negatives -
Poor quality towels, bed linen and toiletries.
The decor is extremely outdated and looks very worn and tired.
I found the hotel to be rather smelly.
The rooms had old sash windows with gaps to the outside making the rooms rather noisy, thankfully my room was at the back so not as noisy as the rooms at the front.
Hair dryer wires were snapped and left dangling.
I had to run water for 5-10 minutess to get a hot shower, others on the tour complained about this too.
Lots of us had real problems with opening our room doors.
We requested additional condiments (twice) during dinner which never arrived. The waiting staff need to learn some manners from the front desk staff. They were very abrupt and unfriendly and did not smile.
Average standard breakfast

Positives -
Our evening meal was actually very nice.
The front desk staff were pleasant.
The internet was fast and reliable.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here then request a quieter room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wooforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naples
Bagnoli
Montespina Park Hotel
Montespina Park Hotel
#35 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Gli Dei Hotel
#2 of 21 in Pozzuoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel San Paolo
Hotel San Paolo
#94 of 189 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Ancore Hotel Resort
#17 of 21 in Pozzuoli
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Bagnoli
Hotel Nuvo
Hotel Nuvo
#13 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Palazzo Esedra
Hotel Palazzo Esedra
#21 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Germano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Germano

Property: Hotel San Germano
Address: Via Antonio Beccadelli 41, 80125, Naples, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN San Germano)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Bagnoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Germano 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Germano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Germano Hotel Naples
Best Western Hotel Naples
Naples Best Western
Best Western Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing