We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Holiday Inn I've ever been”
Review of Holiday Inn Naples

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Naples
Ranked #47 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Gessate, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The worst Holiday Inn I've ever been”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located in the city but this is the only good point. Rooms are small, sheets and dryers smell of cleaning chemical they used to clean them. Resturant cannot offer more than medium quality food and reception is always too busy with crowd of turist groups obliging for long cue for a check-out or check -in in reasonable time.
There is no fast check-out lane for Gold Member.

Room Tip: Choose high floor room and facing back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paolo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMManager, Direttore at Holiday Inn Naples, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Paolo S,
Thank you for sharing your experience.I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay at the Holiday Inn Naples. I took good note of your comments and I can assure you that all points raised will be thoroughly checked and corrective actions will be taken to improve our service and guests’ experience.With regards to our restaurant, I was surprised to hear that you found the quality medium as we usually receive comments of appreciation. I hope to welcome you again to our Hotel in the future and thanking you once more for your comments, I remain, sincerely yours. Bruno De Caria, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    552
    366
    74
    61
See reviews for
228
289
57
486
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very well maintained hotel with excellent breakfast (note that usually in Italy you wont get much more than coffee and snack for the breakfast). Poor location is counterweighted wit hgreat shuttle service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ymmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMManager, Direttore at Holiday Inn Naples, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear ymmel
We are really happy to know that you very much enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Naples.
Thank you for your positive feedback on your buffet breakfast experience.
We are glad that you found our hotel well maintained and that you appreciated the convenience of our shuttle service.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again at the Holiday Inn Naples.
Best regards. Bruno De Caria, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for four nights in March 2013. I found the hotel very, very clean & the staff was wonderful---special "shout out" to Nunzia at the front desk :) She was amazing !
Yes, the front of hotel is on a narrow rundown street ( not very inviting at all)---nicer in back where it opens onto a large business park where there is a restaurant, snack shop, coffee shop, etc....but most are closed on the weekend. While it's not a place to wander around at night, the rest of Naples is a short cab ride away...$4 euro to the train station, $15 euro to the port. Breakfast was also included--a decent variety every morning...again, very clean & appealing.
For our purposes it was perfect...we wanted somewhere clean & comfortable to sleep while we explored Naples & Amalfi coast by day. (For Priority members...we were immediately upgraded to a suite & wifi access was free)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MercyCope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMManager, Direttore at Holiday Inn Naples, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear MercyCope
We are really happy to know that you very much enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Naples.
It is lovely to read that you found your accommodation very clean and comfortable and thank you for your positive feedback on your buffet breakfast experience
Moreover I am particularly proud to know that you appreciated the courtesy of our staff and I will be very happy to share with Nunzia and our whole team your positive comments.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again at the Holiday Inn Naples.
Best regards. Bruno De Caria, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are spacious. Hotel are generous with extra beds as two queens size beds and a single bed was provided for three adults. Plenty of space to move around as it was a one bedroom and the bathroom was equally big as well. Quite a comfortable stay after all. Nice modern decor.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolPei26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMManager, Direttore at Holiday Inn Naples, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear CarolPei26
We are really happy to know that you very much enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Naples.
It is lovely to read that you found accommodation very comfortable and you appreciated our decor.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again at the Holiday Inn Naples.
Best regards. Bruno De Caria, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for three days in January 2013. First, finding it from the airport in a rental car is not easy.... and as you approach you have a sense of foreboding. The area around the hotel is derelict and looks scary...large areas of derelict buildings and motorway flyovers. The entrance is small and poorly signposted and signed, but as the hotel is about 22 stories high and sticks out across Napoli, you can figure it out.

So, the reception is friendly and helpful. The rooms are good and has everything you need. Good wifi, free for Platinum, reasonable TV channels, fair shower and bathroom, etc. The restaurant looked reasonably good and we had the €30 hot and cold buffet. The buffet is mixed. The hot food isn't up to scratch, it was often cold and not kept refreshed enough. Some is left under the hot lights far too long and looks utterly unappetising. The bold buffet is excellent with a good choice and variety. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Breakfast buffet was also a mixed bag. Fair cold buffet, but the hot buffet not too good. At €10 it was not too bad, but we had it once and avoided it thereafter.

The shuttle was a bit restricted, especially on Sunday and we mostly used taxi's to get into town, whichs add to costs and is should be considered when comparing the cost vs a hotel in the centre of town. The area around the hotel is not somewhere you would want to walk.

If TA scored out of 10, this would be a 7. The rooms, facilities and staff are good, the food is so, so and the location is poor. As they don't we have to choose. I will go for a 3 as "average", but that is probably a bit unfair.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMManager, Direttore at Holiday Inn Naples, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear James W,
Thank you very much for sharing with tripadvisor readers your experience at the Holiday Inn Naples.
I’m glad to learn, that you found our Hotel a nice place to stay.
Concerning the things that didn’t totally satisfy you, I agree with you that the area on the back of the Hotel needs a huge work to be cozy again, and we hope that the public administration will take care of it as soon as possible.
I’m sorry our hot buffet was not inviting, and I’ll personally check any possible solution to improve it.
Thanking you once more for the time you dedicated to us, I hope to see you again in our Hotel, and I send you my best regards.
Bruno De Caria, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of a trip to Pompei and Amalfi. We had a 6.15am flight out the following morning.
Finding the place is an effort to say the least. The hotel is located to the far end then left outside of an industrial park. Despite being huge, it has limited street frontage or signage and a small drive way. Directions on the hotel website are inadequate.
Having got there, we needed to return a rental car to the place near the airport - we were given directions but no map. We got lost, paid the tolls several times and drove around for more than 30 mins before finding the rental return near Aeroporto Civile by accident.
We then waited for the shuttle at the appointed time and place near the airport ... the time came and went and we called the hotel. "The driver must have the dinner" we were told.
We got a taxi.
We went to front desk to ask about the shuttle for the next morning to the airport - "it starts at 9am".Ok so i guess we are taking a taxi - the charge was 20euro.

The hotel itself has standard rooms, reasonable bathrooms and large comfortable beds. There is an extended buffet in the restaurant (or ala carte), There are sections of the buffet you can order or whole buffet for 30 euro. The wine list is well priced with a skew towards local varietals. There is live music during dinner, piano and vocals.

Another food option is Trattoria in the shopping area off level 2. The shopping area on this level has extensive clothing stores but also a deli.

I would consider staying again but hotels in the downtown might be better value especially if they offered an extended hour shuttle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoesNotGetOutMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Naples, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear DoesNotGetOutMuch,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because our staff did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I cannot compare this Holiday Inn to others in Europe as it was our first stay at a Holiday Inn outside of the US. We checked in to two rooms for a family of four. Our rooms were fine, could use some updating. Price was right, though.
Bathrooms are equipped with multi-use bottles of shampoo and soap and in each of our rooms these were empty and we had to ask for refills.
Breakfast, if included in your room rate, can be brought to your room for a nominal fee and is a Continental style breakfast.
Hotel location is a bit out of the way, shuttle runs on a schedule that isn't always convenient getting you to and from major areas. You can walk to the train station (though I wouldn't try with your luggage).
Upon first arrival it will appear that the hotel is located in a waste-land, however, behind the hotel there are a number of restaurants and coffee shops.
Staff at hotel was helpful, though hotel was fully booked, including many Japanese tour groups, which sometimes made the line at the front desk quite long and the wait longer.

Room Tip: I would try to go as high up as you can and away from the elevators - there was a lot of noise above...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tennismomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMManager, Direttore at Holiday Inn Naples, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Tennismomma DC,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Naples.
I’m really sorry to hear about the empty soap and shampoo bottles in your bathroom and I can assure you that corrective measures have been taken to avoid these inefficiency to repeat in the future.
I wish to inform the readers, that the breakfast in the room, with a nominal fee, is Continental style, but other items can be ordered through our “in room breakfast” form or by calling Room Service. In addition, American breakfast with a wide selection of items (hot & cold) is available every morning in our restaurant and it is included in the B&B rates or can be paid in the event of a room only reservation.
I hope you will enjoy a second visit to Naples soon and that you will be again our welcome Guest.
Thanks again for your attention and best regards. Bruno De Caria, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#54 of 186 in Naples
919 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#21 of 186 in Naples
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Naples
#42 of 186 in Naples
866 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#5 of 186 in Naples
1,066 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Naples

Property: Holiday Inn Naples
Address: Centro Direzionale E6, 80143, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Naples
#29 Business Hotel in Naples
#32 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Naples 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Naples hotel for a stay in the heart of the modern Centro Direzionale, a few minutes from Naples city centre. Everyday, take advantage of our free scheduled 16-seater shuttle bus, to/from the Naples Central Rail Station. From here, move around with metro and buses to reach all the main attractions a few stops away. If you travel by plane, book a private transfer to/from Capodichino airport at a charge. Holiday Inn Naples boasts conference and event facilities for up to 300 delegates with 18 bright meeting rooms equipped with free Wi-Fi. For sport lovers the hotel offers a mini-gym open 24 hours with cardio fitness circuit including treadmill, cycling, elliptic and multifunctional machines and dumbbells. Hop on a ferry and make time for a trip to Ischia Island and its many beautiful thermal spa. If you are a fan of good Neapolitan food, our Chef will amaze you with its wide selection of starters, desserts and numerous delicious dishes available at the Bistrot Victor restaurant. The Bellini Bar and its terrace with Sky TV, offers cocktails and snacks accompanied by live music (mon-fri) for a relaxing evening with friends and colleagues. Treat yourself to a stay in one of our comfortable Standard, Executive, Suites, Business Suites and Executive Suite, all equipped with free Wi-Fi and Mediaset Premium movie and football channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Naples Hotel Naples
Naples Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing