We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #43 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and view”
Reviewed September 9, 2006

We chose the Royal based on other Trip Advisor reviews and weren't disappointed during our two night stay.

Good points

Our ninth floor room had a perfect view of Castel dell' Ovo and an enormous balcony from which to enjoy it (could also make out Vesuvius to the left).

The location is great for walking along the waterfront and into the city (my wife and I walked as far as the main train station, but that's a ways).

The folks at the front desk were very helpful in arranging a car and driver for a trip to Herculaneum and the top of Vesuvius. They also happily agreed to our request to delay our checkout from noon to 4pm (just be sure they write it down in case, as happened to us, the staff on duty in the afternoon don't get the message).

The breakfast is quite good, and the dining room has a great view as well.

Oh, and the pizza in Naples is as good as they say.

Less good points

The bathtub / shower seemed specially designed to make sure that water pours onto the floor when you shower (however, I've had that experience in Ritzs too ... and that's why they provide all those towels).

As others have mentioned, the taxi situation is dicey. The taxi we took from the airport was the classic overcharge the foreigner affair. Note to self, next time the cab driver asks if this is your first time in Naples don't say "yes". Instead, ask to see the fixed fares. On the other hand, we also had a wonderful taxi driver who used the meter, was charming, and expressed great unhappiness that other taxi drivers harm the profession's reputation.

Summary

Great location, great views, decent room, careful with the taxis, be sure to eat some pizza (oh, and see the mosaics at the National Museum).

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dridge60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    1,089
    514
    164
    79
See reviews for
422
734
80
753
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

We stayed in this hotel for one night in a comfortable twin room. The views across the sea towards the castle were impressive and although the hotel is on a main road, the room was very quiet. The pool and terrace on the roof were lovely with excellent views. The included breakfast was adequate. Although the hotel was clean and well maintained, the decor was a bit dated. Overall, a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tommo2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
152 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

Good points

The fantastic bay view from our room
One helpful member of reception staff, who appeared to work weekends only
Area feels safer than much of downtown Naples with good local restaurants within walking distance.

Bad points

Like the previous correspondent we had booked a non smoking room. Our floor was a non smoking floor. Our room stunk of smoke and we observed many of our neighbours smoking on balconies. I think that's just the Italian way. They also take photos where signs clearly tell them not too, and their driving defies description.

Off hand service, No concierge. I would enquire about buses and was told they did not know anything about buses. No internet point. We had not brought a laptop as we were on holiday. We were directed to an internet cafe which had closed. Eventually found another by our own efforts and checked in online for our return journey. Would it be so hard to provide a computer. We would have willingly paid to use it.
Naples taxi drivers. To a man refused to use meters. Fare had to be negotiated, and usually much more than the recomended charge

We had stayed in Sorrento before, and had seen Pompeii and Herculaneum. We came to Naples on a short trip to see the Archeological museum and Solfatara. Vomero also worth a visit. Would definitely recommend a couple of days in Naples but the rest of the area better explored from Sorrento, which is friendly and much more tourist orientated

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The unhelpful staff, the lack of concierge
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring a laptop if you need internet access, not sure what you will do if you need to print
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Edinburghtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

Picture a slightly run-down Best Western in a beautiful harbor location. Front lobby was dated and a bit shabby. No concierge desk meant that when the front desk personnel were busy there was minimal assistance available. Also, the information provided was often inaccurate and incomplete - a major problem for us during a national taxi strike! We had booked a non-smoking room, and specifically requested one away from the elevators. The first room the staff tried to give us was a (smelly) smoking room next to the elevators. Worse, they tried to talk us out of switching rooms rather than simply accommodating our reservation. The second room was adequate, with a beautiful view of the Naples Harbor, but it could have been cleaner. The hotel pool was also a disappointment - smaller and not as clean as expected. Based on our experiences we would not recommend this hotel. Several other hotels on the same block, including the Continental (apparently a sister hotel to the RC), looked more promising.

  • Liked — Location/view and quiet
  • Disliked — Service
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in Sorrento to see Pompeii; the Naples Archeological museum is only a couple of subway stops away from the central train station.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SoBayTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2006

a very good hotel, not so far away from the center ; very good breakfast too
(bus just at the door of the hotel : 152 and C25)
Via santa lucia 99 : a good restaurant just minutes away
a taxi from the airport = 23 euros

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doriante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,383 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#31 of 186 in Naples
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
952 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#21 of 186 in Naples
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Property: Royal Continental Hotel
Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#30 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing