We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location,cold service!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Continental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #45 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good location,cold service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights over Easter. It is in a great location on the seafront. It is opposite a beautiful castle with an abundance of restaurants. It is a 10 minute walk to harbour to catch ferry to surrounding Islands. The restaurant in hotel is excellent for Dinner. The staff are attentive and happy to 'tweak" menu for you! The views are stunning from the huge windows.
The downside for us was breakfast, the staff were busy, rude, rushed! You are constantly waiting for jugs, tea pots, coffee, milk, cereal, ham etc as they could not keep up with the volume of people. Apart from the evening meal, this hotel felt very 'busy'. There was always a queue at reception. When we did ask for local advice on attractions the receptionist was less than helpful! If you are looking for a base, this hotel is ideal, if however you like the personal touch this is not for you!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    1,036
    484
    159
    74
See reviews for
406
708
74
704
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel was booked for me. I arrived latish about 9-30pm.
The room was as hot as possible [ Date 11 april 2014] I rang twice to get the air-conditioning sorted as we could not do it. at Midnight thirty we gave up and spent a most uncomfortable night and perspired all night. There were no Helps booklet, there was no complimentary Water/ Tea Coffee and we could not get the room comfortable at all.
In the morning I asked to see the manager and was told by receptionist HE was the duty manager.
I then complained about the Room and the air-conditioning, The lack of information on how to contact help in the room - which was 100yards from the Reception desk and about the quality of the Breakfast. All I received back from him was 'This is a 4 star hotel'. They did nothing to alleviate my needs at all.My requests were ignored.
I left after the worst night ever spent in an hotel

Room Tip: My room was on the 9th floor of the Annex - about 4 minutes from reception and into another building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed in a tripple room for fou nights as part of a family holiday (2 adults, 2 young kids). "Tripple" meant one queen bed and an extra fold out bed added for one child. Luckily we checked ahead about baby cots - the hotel does not provide them so we brought our own travel cot. The room was a reasonable size by European standards, somewhat dated but well maintaned and always clean. Staff were generally friendly and helpful although there was one particularly dour concierge when it came to the kids (who were playing around in the lobby a bit but hardly running amok). A couple of very minor, niggling improvements would include more power outlets (there are none by the bed, none in the bathroom) and some bedside lighting that does not blind then entire room.
Overall we had a very good time and I'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Royal Continental Hotel in Napels is perfectly located in front of the sea, facing an old castle, in the midlle of the promenade area for pedestrians, at walking distance from some major city atractions. The terraces located in the immdeiate vecinity are excellent.
It has very decent rooms, great bath, very clean and one of the best sea views!
On the other hand, breakfact is average and the service quality has potential to be improved.
On the front desk there are nice people, but would be great if they would be customer focused.

Room Tip: Choose a superior sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel and found it to be close to excellent. Our room overlooked the Bay of Naples and the Castel dell'Ovo, so we could not have asked for a better view. The room was exceptionally clean and fairly spacious. The terrace was also large and afforded a nice place to sit during the day or at night and relax. The room was fairly quiet, although at night we could hear the music coming from the dell'Ovo and the street. But I found this to be pleasant rather than disruptive. I would have appreciated some means of lighting the terrace, if just a bit, as my partner and I enjoy writing in our journals at night when we travel, and the lack of lighting on the terrace made this a little difficult. But that did not impact our appreciation of the hotel, which was very comfortable. The hotel staff were also very helpful and accommodating, answering all our questions and even helping us out with a map. The hotel is within walking distance of the sites, but taking the bus or a taxi is probably needed for the train station. The internet access was fairly good as well (not to mention free). The hotel, in my opinion, is in the best location in Naples. Watching the lazy traffic pass by in front of the hotel, the locals sunning themselves on the rocks in the Bay, and the activity at the dell'Ovo was a relaxing pastime. I would definitely recommend this hotel and if we are in Naples again, we would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottesfreunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I recently stayed here for three nights and thought it was excellent. My room was larger than normal and was very clean. I had a minor problem with the room that was quickly and efficiently remedied. The staff were friendly and the view from the top floor was outstanding. I will gladly stay there again when next I visit Naples.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eclectic_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed for four nights on a business trip, previously stayed here twice. It's in a fantastic sea front location overlooking the Gulf of Naples, and from the first floor breakfast area you can see the Island of Capri. This occasion I drove my hire car to Naples and parked in the hotel car park. First mistake, I never checked the parking charges, 23 euro per night! Not good. The staff are very friendly particularly the staff in the restaurant in the mornings. On my 2nd night when I returned to my room I noticed a damp smell from the bathroom. I put t down to the tiredness of the hotel, however later that evening whenever I returned from dinner there was water on the bathroom floor which came from a hole in the ceiling. I went to reception and the matter was immediately resolved by moving rooms. Big thank you for the manner in which it was dealt with. The old part of the hotel in particular the rooms need some attention. Although they are clean some minor repairs need addressing and some fresh paint would be a good idea. That being said, the food was good for breakfast with a wide selection on offer, including waiter service for the famous Napoli caffe!
I will use the hotel again, it's about a five minute walk into the town where you can lose yourself in the many coffee bars restaurants shops etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room or a room at the side if the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letaylors03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#32 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Partenope Relais
Partenope Relais
#41 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Property: Royal Continental Hotel
Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#31 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing