We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Naples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #43 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Naples”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for 6 days over Easter. The hotel is on the sea front in a quiet area, with spectacular views across Naples and the bay to Vesuvius and Capri. The Castell dell'Ovo is immediately by the hotel, and part of the visual experience. Staff were welcoming and friendly, and our room was fine. Breakfast was included in the room rate and the menu designed to cater for all tastes. The town centre of Naples and the main port area are about 15-20 minutes walk away. The nearest Metro stations are Piazza Amadeo or Piazza Toledo. Both about 20 minutes' walk away. Don't try doing this with luggage! Bus services come closer, notably to the Piazza Vittoria, but you have to be well informed to use these. The Naples transport authorities could do a lot more to make the city's transport system intelligible to visitors. The City trams and trolley-buses didn't appear on any map I could find on the internet! Plenty of nice restaurants near the hotel, and on a typical evening the Via Partenope was heavily policed. Not sure what they were expecting, but in any event this is quite a safe place to stay and at no time did we feel threatened. Taxi to the main train station Napoli Centrale was 13 Euro, and is perhaps the best way to get to the hotel. Agree the price before you accept the ride! One niggle about the hotel itself: we were in room 344, and the neighbouring 343 seems to be used to accommodate large family groups with children. They were noisy late at night on one occasion we had to ask reception to go in and sort them out. Which they did,

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Ask to be kept away from noisy neighbours ("family rooms").
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Critic1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking the time to share such glowing feedback of your recent stay at Royal Continental during your stay in Naples.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the hotel and the surrounding area.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Continental in the near future

Regards,

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    1,077
    504
    164
    77
See reviews for
419
728
78
740
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed there with family and friends for a long weekend during Easter holiday. The location is excellent and although the hotel dates back to the sixties for style, it is quite well maintained. Breakfast is terrific (not only for the quality of food, but also for the sight over Castel dell'Ovo). We paid extra for rooms with a view and we were a little bit disappointed that the room was not very much spacious, and definitely too hot. But the bathroom is perfect, apparently recently refurbished, and in general the hotel is very very clean. We paid a lot for the guarded parking, but the area closed to the traffic is worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Rita,

I thank you for choosing Royal Continental for your Easter holidays in Naples and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We are so glad to read that you have appreciated the hotel and the location, the seaview rooms are one of our strengths as is the breakfast.

Looking forward to your return visit from May to September in order you can get the use of the panoramic pool!

Kind regards

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

nice safe area of naples lovely view , rooms dated but clean , only drawback was internet service which was the worst i have ever used when travelling and i travel a lot . I've been in third world countries that have proper FREE high speed broadband that works! in this hotel it is charged nightly although during the duration of my stay it became free but slow and limited is a major understatement , i,m in the hotel at the minute and tried to run speed test but after 15 minutes it hadnt moved 1 % my guess is think 20 years ago to a 14k modem , pity spoiled a good hotel for me

Room Tip: get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motlow1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing Royal Continental during your recent visit to Naples and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.

We regret to read about your experience, unfortunately during your stay the hotel was testing the internet service so you had some connection problem with the free line

Anyway it’s available for all the guest the speed connection with a little charge

I hope we will have the chance to host you again.

Kind regards
Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location is great, quiet and overlooking the Castle and the sea. Many restaurants and coffee shops nearby. Was pretty expensive for a 4 stars hotel. Room was big but interior and furniture were average. Bathroom was good. Breakfast was very good with a variety of options. I had a room on the 6th floor with a terrace overlooking the sea which was the best experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Anjad,

we would like to thank you for choosing Royal Continental during your visit to Naples.

I appreciate your kind comments regarding the location, the view and the breakfast of the Hotel, it’s a pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction.

Thank you for being our guest and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I write because I would like you to know how good this hotel is.

We had room 340 which is fully sea facing.

Aircontitioning and heating controlls in the room.

TV with limited UK SKY

Excellent very large double bed.

View from the room to die for.

The restaurant was also truly excellent. The meals were always freshly prepared, but came with very little delay. The menu was varied and we had every evening meal in the restaurant because it was so good. The service and food excellent, and the costs very very reasonable.

The reception staff very very helpful and friendly as were the bar staff.

The hotel is ideally located on the front line of the coast. Napels can easily be explored by foot from here. Although we otfen too a taxi just to experience the crazy driving styles.

We book a hire car from the airport and armed with our trsuty sat nat we set off to find the hotel. I was not prepared for the driving experience had. The driving is completly mad, cars quite happily crash into each other without stopping. the road are generally jammed and because of a new underground being constructed a lot of the raod are closed or diverted. This meant that we were unable to reach out hotel via sat nav as the roads we neede were closed. So the car was very quicly taken back to the airport and we reverted to taxis.

The taxi got to the hotel be simply driving down closed roads, something I was not able to comprehend when self driving.

Naples is full of ancient history, Herculaneum and Pompeii a taxi drive away. We agreed a fixed price with our taxi driver of 120 euros to take us driectly to both sites.

The visits were most spectacular and not to be missed. But better visited by Taxi. Its a great experience.

Use the Royal Continental Hotal as a base and you will not be dissappointed.

Room Tip: room 340 has full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Royal Continental. We really appreciate your feedback, and we are glad you enjoyed your seafront room and our large beds.

We regret to read about your driving experience but we are so glad to know that your visit to Pompeii was a great one.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the very near future.

Kind regards

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

this hotelis in a pedestrianised area of Naples, (Since Jan 2013) so make sure your sat nav etc is up to date to avoid driving round in ever decreasing circles.
Hotel was clean and staff were very helpful and friendly.
Hotel situation is fantastic as it is right on the waterfront bay with lovely views out to sea.
Room was large with two double beds, the bed was exceptionally comfortable, Bathroom was looking a bit tired and dated, but clean.
Breakfast was excellent with great selection and choice of hot and cold dishes, would certainly stay here again when visiting Naples.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muddyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,


We are delighted by your recognition and for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor


The hotel is no longer in a pedestrian area and maybe the sat nav was not yet updated.
We are also delighted by your recognition of the great service and of the quality of our Buffet Breakfast with a choice of homemade pastries.


We are honored that you would consider the Royal Continental Hotel as your unique address for any future visit to Naples and we look forward to taking care of you.


Kind regards


Maria Scopino
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here during the winter season so didn't get to use the pool. In a great location, restaurants in walking distance. Safe to walk around at night. Very clean rooms and large bathroom. All the staff were lovely would stay here again (-: happy customer (-:

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee_Williams029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,


we would like to thank you for choosing Royal Continental Hotel during your visit to Naples and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.


We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our centrally located property.
It is a pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction.


Looking forward to your return visit from May to September in order you can get the use of the panoramic pool!


Kind regards


Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#31 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Partenope Relais
Partenope Relais
#38 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Property: Royal Continental Hotel
Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#30 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing