We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #42 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location is great, quiet and overlooking the Castle and the sea. Many restaurants and coffee shops nearby. Was pretty expensive for a 4 stars hotel. Room was big but interior and furniture were average. Bathroom was good. Breakfast was very good with a variety of options. I had a room on the 6th floor with a terrace overlooking the sea which was the best experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Anjad,

we would like to thank you for choosing Royal Continental during your visit to Naples.

I appreciate your kind comments regarding the location, the view and the breakfast of the Hotel, it’s a pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction.

Thank you for being our guest and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 2,687 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

I write because I would like you to know how good this hotel is.

We had room 340 which is fully sea facing.

Aircontitioning and heating controlls in the room.

TV with limited UK SKY

Excellent very large double bed.

View from the room to die for.

The restaurant was also truly excellent. The meals were always freshly prepared, but came with very little delay. The menu was varied and we had every evening meal in the restaurant because it was so good. The service and food excellent, and the costs very very reasonable.

The reception staff very very helpful and friendly as were the bar staff.

The hotel is ideally located on the front line of the coast. Napels can easily be explored by foot from here. Although we otfen too a taxi just to experience the crazy driving styles.

We book a hire car from the airport and armed with our trsuty sat nat we set off to find the hotel. I was not prepared for the driving experience had. The driving is completly mad, cars quite happily crash into each other without stopping. the road are generally jammed and because of a new underground being constructed a lot of the raod are closed or diverted. This meant that we were unable to reach out hotel via sat nav as the roads we neede were closed. So the car was very quicly taken back to the airport and we reverted to taxis.

The taxi got to the hotel be simply driving down closed roads, something I was not able to comprehend when self driving.

Naples is full of ancient history, Herculaneum and Pompeii a taxi drive away. We agreed a fixed price with our taxi driver of 120 euros to take us driectly to both sites.

The visits were most spectacular and not to be missed. But better visited by Taxi. Its a great experience.

Use the Royal Continental Hotal as a base and you will not be dissappointed.

Room Tip: room 340 has full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Royal Continental. We really appreciate your feedback, and we are glad you enjoyed your seafront room and our large beds.

We regret to read about your driving experience but we are so glad to know that your visit to Pompeii was a great one.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the very near future.

Kind regards

Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

this hotelis in a pedestrianised area of Naples, (Since Jan 2013) so make sure your sat nav etc is up to date to avoid driving round in ever decreasing circles.
Hotel was clean and staff were very helpful and friendly.
Hotel situation is fantastic as it is right on the waterfront bay with lovely views out to sea.
Room was large with two double beds, the bed was exceptionally comfortable, Bathroom was looking a bit tired and dated, but clean.
Breakfast was excellent with great selection and choice of hot and cold dishes, would certainly stay here again when visiting Naples.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muddyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,


We are delighted by your recognition and for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor


The hotel is no longer in a pedestrian area and maybe the sat nav was not yet updated.
We are also delighted by your recognition of the great service and of the quality of our Buffet Breakfast with a choice of homemade pastries.


We are honored that you would consider the Royal Continental Hotel as your unique address for any future visit to Naples and we look forward to taking care of you.


Kind regards


Maria Scopino
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here during the winter season so didn't get to use the pool. In a great location, restaurants in walking distance. Safe to walk around at night. Very clean rooms and large bathroom. All the staff were lovely would stay here again (-: happy customer (-:

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee_Williams029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,


we would like to thank you for choosing Royal Continental Hotel during your visit to Naples and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.


We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our centrally located property.
It is a pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction.


Looking forward to your return visit from May to September in order you can get the use of the panoramic pool!


Kind regards


Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The thing that this hotel has got going for it is location. Right in front of the Castel dell'Ovo and in the heart of Santa Lucia. This is really the best place to stay in Naples. A short walk to the P.zza Plebescito and the Opera San Carlo or to Chiaia. It's a very large hotel - actually - two structures connected to each other and they have been modernizing it for years. My room was fine. I think that it probably had been redone over the past ten years - but it seemed older. I was there in the winter and the bathroom, where there's no heat, was freezing. My room had a sea view - if you really went outside on the terrace and strained to look! But for the price the hotel is probably a good choice - especially given the location. I travel very often to Naples and usually stay at the luxury hotels just next to the Royal Continental. They are fantastic and are worth the difference in price - if you want to pay it. People were very nice. However, the breakfast was unbelievably bad! The eggs were so strange that I could not identify them as eggs and were uneatable. The cappuccino was atrocious. I think they believe that the foreign tourists cannot discern either coffee or food... Altogether, the hotel is ok. If you can afford to splurge and stay next door, do it. If you want to save some money, the Royal Continental is fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - which is in the front of the hotel - not on the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagherailcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Direttore vendite at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,


we would like to thank you for choosing Royal Continental Hotel during your recent visit to Naples and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
We are glad to read that you have appreciated the location of our property but we regret to read about your breakfast experience.


It’s important to underline that our Guests (Italian or foreign we don’t make difference) get to the heart of our hospitality, and we look after of them to make the stay a memorable one.


If you are travelling for business you can contact the Sales Office in order to go ahead with a special agreement reserved to the company, this will allow you to get special rate.


Kind regards


Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

It would be nice if they had at least one English speaking channel. And the lighting in the room and bathroom is not very good. The room was very hot. $8 a night to use the internet is too much!! Even if you put up a 'do not disturb' sign housekeeping still comes in. Had a great view of the construction going on at the next building (they start work early so don't plan to sleep late). Staff was helpful/nice, location was pretty good and was within walking distance of several very excellent restaurants!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoLuvsDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review but we apologize that your stay was not comfortable.
For the future we invite you to ask to the Duty Manager who will be happy to solve your problems such as air conditioning, or lighting, or noise. We inform our guests they may have vouchers for free wi-fi. Vouchers entitle you to use internet for 15 minutes. For those who are equipped with laptop or smartphone vouchers entitle you to use internet for 30 minutes in the common areas. We remind our customers that we have Tv channels in English.
However, we would like to thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to see you here again for your next trip in Naples. So you will see that we have high quality standards.

Best Regards
Custormer Care Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here on two occasions on business and was very satisfied with the accomodations, staff, service and restaurant. The breakfast buffet is great and the view on the water is stunning. Strongly recommend, despite the hard matresses -- harder if you didn't have one...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seat11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 185 in Naples
1,506 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,076 reviews
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#32 of 185 in Naples
729 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 185 in Naples
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#30 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $125 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing