We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food matched by superb service”

Tartufi Che Passione
Ranked #327 of 2,844 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $67
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Excellent food matched by superb service”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We chose this restaurant on the basis of past TA reviews and it was certainly the right choice. It is a small restaurant, maybe a dozen tables or so. The greeting was friendly and Flavio our waiter was attentive, helpful and charming from the start, without being intrusive.

We started with Eggs with truffles, perfectly cooked and I had duck with a local cheese, also with truffles shavings. Both were delicious and a taste of what was to come. For mains we had lamb, I had steak and funghi...both perfectly cooked, tender and delicious We had a mixed salad and chips with the main. Each course was perfectly cooked and delicious and the wait staff were attentive and paid attention to detail. Our bread was refreshed, water and wine topped up, often without us realising it had been done. For dessert we had a carpaccio of pineapple and caramel mousse on a shortbread base. Both again excellent.

As with earlier reviews, the restaurant did get busy and there was a bit of a delay for coffee, but we had a freebie Melon liquer (Meloncello! type of drink), free chocolate truffles and a small reduction on the bill, all offered freely, as we made no complaint whatsoever. The delay in coffee didn't detract at all from the overall experience.

The cost was €130, three courses, two sides, 3 glasses of wine, 2 bottles of water, 2 espresso's, and the freebies. It represents good value for money given the quality of the food and I would highly recommend this place for a special dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    158
    35
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food for a great time”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

If in Naples and looking for something special tartufi che passione is a must. The restaurant is a few steps from a great shopping area and a magnificent sea side stroll. The food is to be remembered for combining the Neapolitan tradition in unexpected all with simplicity and yet sophistication. The freshness and quality of the ingredients comes through at each mouthful. The ambiance follows the food, simple but elegant and most importantly very welcoming with the host Sasa' an example of southern Italy warmth.

And the bill is very reasonble.....a must not miss

Michael

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikifiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“mixed feelings”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

On the good side, the long menu with many choices incl black or white truffles. Be carefull that there is an extra cost for white truffles, it's mentionned only at the end of the menu. Food quality was good overall. Truffles were a good choice on some starters and pasta, but on squid it didn't bring much taste. But we've been disappointed by: 1° I've booked by phone but the lady at the entrance didn't find my reservation when we arrived. Well, there was a table free. 2) the restaurant became full : from this moment, we've been waiting 45mn to get our main course after the starter, and the fish of my GF arrived cold !! Shame! 3) to get the desert and the bill took another hour. Good point: the boss has noticed that we were left unattended and the issue fo cold fish, so at the end of the diner he gave us a discount on the bill. But frankly, that's not the goal to go to a restaurant! Confort: can become quickly very noisy as the room can get pretty packed ...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salvoimprota, Direttore generale at Tartufi Che Passione, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Madam Christophe B,

We are truly sorry to have given a service not aligned to our standards.
We made a series of errors of which we can only apologize.

However, due to your complaint, we will place greater emphasis on the cost of the white truffle on the menu and we are adding an acoustic system to prevent unwanted noise in the restaurant.

Thank you for your visit and we hope to have the opportunity to remedy in the future.
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Delicious- not your typical Neopolitan restaurant”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went here for a friend's birthday after reading reviews. Now, I love my Neopolitan pizzerias as much as anyone, but this was a nice alternative! Bistro-y food with a more sophisticated flavor was delightful. Each course was painstakingly prepared and looked as good as it tasted. Definitely a bit pricier than some other local options, but well worth it, especially for a special event.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“Best restaurant in Naples”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Tartufi has the best truffles pasta I've ever had (and I've had plenty)! All the dishes we had here were brilliant. And the staff were so nice and friendly and they recommended great wines as well. Really cozy and warm atmosphere!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartufi Che Passione also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Tartufi Che Passione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing