We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting architecture and history”
Review of Centro Storico

Centro Storico
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.82*
and up
Naples Guided Tour by Bike
Ranked #31 of 509 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This part of Naples is considered the historic center of the city, which contains the Palazzo Reale and the splendid churches of Gesù Nuovo, San Lorenzo and Santa Chiara.
Gearhart, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Interesting architecture and history”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We didn't have much time. This area shows much of the attraction Naples has to visitors. There are interesting, even monumental buildings, nearby but some of the pleasure is in the details. This is not hard to get to from a cruise ship. It can be walked but a reliable taxi can get you there quickly. We were at the end of a day trip so our guide just gave us a drive by. Worth seeing after Pompeii and perhaps before Sorrento.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesccasterline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    966
    413
    134
    30
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great area to have a wander around the little streets...”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great area to have a wander around the little streets and kill a couple of hours. Also would recommend this area if looking for accommodation. Feels a safe area if you are at all concerned about Napoli and it's sometimes tarnished reputation. Try and avoid the Stazione Centrale area as can be a bit dodgy.

Anyway, lots of little shops and stalls in the area, in particular San Gregorio Armeno. Via Tribulani is great for eating with some of the best pizza you'll taste. :-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old Napoli”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I loved this neighbourhood more than the newer more spacious areas, this is real Napoli, narrow streets where everyone & everything seems to be done outside. It's noisy & scruffy but look closely & you are surrounded by history, a medieval Palazzo or a church built in the remiss of a employees. Even the street patten goes back to the original Greek settlement. Here you can get your souvenirs inc. nativity figures & Punchinello. Also remarkable Pizzas at very reasonable prices & of course the coffee & Dolces.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John-J-Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect intro to Napoli”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I wondered the streets of Storico Centro one my first afternoon in Napoli.I tried to follow my travel guide to view the numerous palazzi and chiesa concentrated in the quarter - I was distracted many times by wonderful stores (fruits and veg espacially) and buildings around me. It is a bit crazy with all the scooters and small cars zooming past you when you have your nose up trying to admire the facade od such and such palace - but I totally loved it! What an intorduction to Napoli. Oh, nearly forgot the main things - everybody was so friendly!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 21Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's lovely and with many italian views and things to do! There's something going on at any time of the year but it'd be a lot be nicer if it was cleaner.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centro Storico also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Centro Storico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing