We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Disappointment at Grand Hotel Parker's” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Parker's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Parker's
Ranked #27 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Grand Disappointment at Grand Hotel Parker's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

When we registered at Parker's we were initially favorably impressed by its old world charm and at having been upgraded to a duplex suite. That impression, however, quickly changed. There were no lights in the elevator call arrows. Consequently, one does not know whether the elevator is on its way. Further, there were no lights on the elevator floor keypad so one doesn't know whether the elevator will stop at the requested floor or at what floors the elevator will stop. Although the banisters in our suite appeared to have real brass fittings on the end posts, the door knobs, door knob plates and other metal accessories appeared to be made of inexpensive faux brass thereby cheapening the overall appearance. The bed had a lengthwise depression in the center which made for very uncomfortable sleeping. There was no functional bathroom exhaust fan and the toilet frequently made a howling sound even after the supply bowl had refilled. The sound went away after banging on the supply bowl cover. Although we had been "comped" with a bottle of sparkling wine which we did not use, there was no complimentary water in the room. The bedside candy consisted of two pieces of hard candy.
We were also very disappointed by the concierge/front desk staff. Since this was our last night in Italy after spending over two weeks there, we wanted a nice but casual dinner. My wife specifically requested a place where we could get prosciutto and melon, pizza and a seafood pasta. The place which the staff sent us to did not even have the prosciutto and melon on the menu, the pizza was of poor quality and sat in water on the plate, and the seafood dish was insipid. The restaurant greeter seemed to know the concierge at Parker's, however, referring to him as "my friend." When we mentioned our disappointment to the hotel staff upon our return, they essentially said it was our fault because we said we wanted a trattoria. Having spent over two weeks in Italy, including four other days in Naples eating in trattorias, this was our most disappointing dining experience.

The view from the terrace, however, is quite lovely but the breakfast buffet offered is mediocre.

Overall, our impression is that, while the hotel may have at one time been truly grand, it currently has only pretentions of grandeur. From our perspective, the view from the terrace alone doesn't justify the room rate for this hotel, even with the upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 993Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    343
    101
    71
    32
See reviews for
133
503
36
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Easy to find, with good access to the main arteries around Naples; a less than 10 minute walk into Chaia, and the shopping district, Via Filangieri etc. Clean rooms with lovely balcony view. Good old fashioned reception, and overall a sense of pride and professionalism. Off street parking, and stunning views from the restaurant. Mattozzi Restaurant as recommended by the staff, is a great place to start in Naples, for authentic pasta and pizza. If there are better hotels in Naples, I'd be surprised given how long I spent looking.

Room Tip: Sea facing is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CB2000HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Parker's, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear CB2000HongKong,
Thank you for “One of the Best Hotel in Naples”… We are proud to receive your kind review on TA, it’s a great challenge when our guests are felling more than happy after their stay at Grand Hotel Parker's.
Our Concierge are very well known for the best team in the City for given the best places to visit in town and surroundings, with special guides and tours,
Please contact us directly for you or your friends & family for a trip in Naples.
Thank you.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This friendly hotel with a charming passé touch located on the Corso Vittorio Emanuele (in the more elegant heights of Naples, 200m from the funiculare) offers the most beautiful view over the bay of Naples. Our room was clean, comfortable and very nicely furnished, spacious and well equipped. We especially enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace and the friendly and authentically caring staff. We didn't try the restaurant, as we preferred to explore the city's pizzerias and trattorias.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view over the bay ! Rooms on the top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Parker's, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Sachabauer,
Good afternoon from Sunny Naples! Thank you for taking the time of writing a great message on TA regarding our 5 stars hospitality services.
We hope to welcome you again, you could have the chance to taste our delicious Neapolitan cuisine prepared by our well known Chef Baciòt, at our George’s restaurant overlooking the Bay of Naples.
We kindly invite you to contact us directly for your next stay with us in Naples.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is very good although the restaurant for dinner is not the best. The location is deceptive and gives an initial feeling of isolation BUT it is only a 5 minute walk from a Funicular that you can take up the hill, then a 5 minute walk for a Funicular down the hill directly to Royal Naples and with a one day ticket it is incredibly good value and makes getting into town for restaurants and shops really easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Parker's, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Ian R,
It’s a real pleasure to read your kind compliments about Grand Hotel Parker’s.
We are glad that you did appreciated our special and unique location in the City, out of the traffic jam and in the same time very closed to the best places in town (shops, restaurants, and monuments…).
We hope to welcoming you again in Naples.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

A grand, old fashioned hotel. The staff are incredible, attentive, informative and charming. The room we had had a fabulous view. There are lots of nice touches, chocolate dipped fruit in your room, above average toiletries etc., but it just felt as if they were trying to hard. The room was clean and the bed comfortable but just a bit tired looking. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was ok, but that was it......I was hoping for exceptional. So if your looking for a traditional, old fashioned hotel with excellent service I would recommend, but I would eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Third floor and above, sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Parker's, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Janet G,
On behalf of the whole team we would like to thank you for your kind note on TA!
We are glad to read that you had a wonderful stay with us at Grand Hotel Parker’s and that you really appreciated our 5 stars hospitality services.
Regarding your suggestions for the restaurant we took good note and we will share your comments with our Managers.
We invite you to contact us directly for your next stay.
We hope to welcoming you again in Naples.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This beautiful hotel has exceptional staff. I was emailed advice on taxi service from airport, choice of rooms and other preferences. The reception desk gave us a wonderful walking route for a sunny evening exclusion. Our room on the third floor had a sensational view of the bay of naples, and a small balcony overhanging the road, which surprisingly, wasn't noisy at night. Large rooms, Sumptuous empire furnishings and comfortable beds, large bath, total comfort.
Delicious breakfast in bed, or in the terrace restaurant.
They managed to find us another room for the following night as the Capri ferries were cancelled. This was at the back of the hotel, facing the cliff, so not much of a view, but very quiet, and it had contemporary decoration, without compromising on comfort. This is a very classic hotel, old fashioned in many respects but totally impeccable.,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Parker's, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Louise K,
Thank you so much for your kind message on Ta!
On behalf of the whole team we are pleased to thank you for your compliments and kind suggestions for the future travelers at Grand Hotel Parker’s.
The Hotel is very well located in a quiet upper class quarter, just 5 minutes walking distance to the most beautiful streets and shops of Naples. A magnificent rooftop overlooking the bay, where in the morning we offer a delicious buffet breakfast to start the day smiling…
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next stay.
We hope to welcoming you again in Naples.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel had excellent 5* service.
I was so disappointed as it was my 50th birthday and the room we were given, did not have a balcony, as requested, and it did not have a view, our view was a large stone.
Also you could hear the restaurant above moving tables and chairs, very noisy indeed.
Overall i had a pleasant stay and i was given a bunch of flowers and a birthday cake :)
Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Parker's, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sweet4,
On behalf of the whole team, we would like to thank you for having chosen the Grand Hotel Parker’s for your recent stay here in Naples.
We are really thankful to you for having spent same time in sharing your comments and valuable suggestion on the web.
We apologize for the room that you unfortunately didn’t like , as per your reservation you booked a Classic room with a hill view, and we were probably fully booked during your stay, as you notice, we try to make the stay of all our guests unforgettable, so we couldn’t offer you an upgrade in a Deluxe sea view room.
But we are happy to read that you took good note of our special treatments for you and our guests.
Please contact us directly for your next stay in Naples, we will suggest you our bests rooms with our special offers.
We really hope to see you one again here at the Parker’s to make sure that your stay will be consistently memorable and if so, please get in touch with us directly and we will fell honoured to welcome you personally upon arrival.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#9 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Chiaia
Hotel Palazzo Alabardieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Parker's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Parker's

Property: Grand Hotel Parker's
Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 135, 80121, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Naples
#17 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#18 Family Hotel in Naples
#18 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#23 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Parker's 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 5-story Hotel situated in an elevated position overlooking the gulf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Parker's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing