We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful contents but a rather depressing feel to the place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Nazionale di Capodimonte

Museo Nazionale di Capodimonte
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.16*
and up
Private Tour: Capodimonte Museum in Naples
Ranked #29 of 489 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century museum houses magnificent collections from such renowned artists as Masaccio, Titian, Raphael, El Greco and Bruegel, including the immense Farnese collection.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful contents but a rather depressing feel to the place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I suppose it was our fault for coming here on a cold, grey day in late February, but our first impression as we entered the palace was of a chilly, gaunt, draughty, rundown, abandoned government building - and then we found that two major sections of the museum would be open only to conducted tours and not until several hours after our arrival. At least there was a cafeteria! There are certainly some great works of art here and there are explanatory story cards (In Italian and English) in every room, which was a real help. But once one has seen the real star pictures one finds that the emphasis is heavily on neapolitan artists who are not all of the highest quality and we found ourselves becoming increasingly picky about what we looked at. To our surprise we hugely enjoyed the Palace staterooms of the Bourbon monarchs - gorgeously over the top and a sparkling contrast to the dreary appearance of the ground floor approach!
Two tips: If you are approaching by car from the tangenziale you will come to a T-junction where
you MUST take the left turn despite a sign pointing right to 'Museum Main gate'! And if you want to walk in the famous gardens make sure you look for them to the left as you approach the museum - the rest of the park is pretty dull and ill-kept
Like all other historic and cultural sites run by the State it is free to EU citizens over 65 - wonderful!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank argein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    958
    416
    121
    42
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“World Class Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Rivals some of the world's best, but not well known. Along with the National Archeological Musuem, it makes Naples and must see destination.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AtlantatoEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to visit - such a pity we could not browse in the gardens because of the weather!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We really loved this place, we just regret that the rainy weather did not allow us to walk in the huge park around it.
But the palace is beautiful - superbly preserved, with very good pieces of art and with a wonderful atmosphere.
It's a real pity that due to the shortage of keepers, some of the rooms are close and open only under a certain schedule.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the Best Museums in all of Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Housed in a superbly restored palace surrounded by a huge park, this museum is not to be missed. The Early Christian paintings are very moving, and the later European painters are well-represented, too. The setting, the art and the atmosphere cannot be faulted.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaShirlery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A rich heritage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

It is worth seeing this museum before it, or its contents, are sold off to private investors - a very real danger in cash-strapped Italy and elsewhere in Europe. Unless you are a member of the 1%, whereby you'll be able to visit such attractions when they are turned into deluxe hotels, I'd get along here soon. Italy has a rich cultural history and Naples is not an exception. The Museo contains many beautiful works of art, including Caravaggio's Deposition - a truly magnificent painting displayed in a dramatic fashion. Take note when you arrive that the final part of the gallery, which features works by Neapolitan artists, requires a scheduled entry time which you will be told when you buy your ticket or pick up the floor plan. Allow a couple of hours to do the Museo justice. The surrounding park is also very beautiful. Be careful when leaving if you are taking a bus. Pickpockets hang around bus stops waiting to select their marks. It's worth walking further along the road or in fact down the hill from Capodimonte, which is a pleasant walk.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Nazionale di Capodimonte also viewed

 

Been to Museo Nazionale di Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing