We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible collection”

Museo Nazionale di Capodimonte
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.16*
and up
Private Tour: Capodimonte Museum in Naples
Ranked #31 of 496 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century museum houses magnificent collections from such renowned artists as Masaccio, Titian, Raphael, El Greco and Bruegel, including the immense Farnese collection.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Incredible collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

One of the most incredible paintings collections you can visit in all of Europe. Fascinating the quantity and quality of the paintings. Give yourself time to see everything it is really worth the time there

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 906albertod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    430
    124
    45
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Caravaggio and Gentileschi Worth the Entrance Price Alone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This museum houses a number of extraordinary collections. The Caravaggio and the Gentileschi are exceptional and worth the admission price alone.
We went off season and there was virtually noone else there, so we had plenty of time to contemplate the art at our leisure.
The only downside was that there was no chance to buy a postcard of our favourite pictures. It looked like the gift shop had closed down for the season.
There isn't much guidance as to what or why or how - so if you are looking for a bit of background on the art it's worth buying some sort of guide in advance. But for the non-art historians, it's a great place to wander and wonder.
By the way - the Herculaneum and Pompeii artefacts are in the Archealogical museum in the Centro Storico, not here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgetG1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
884 reviews
478 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Wonderful art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This museum houses the painting, tapestry, furniture and porcelain collections of the National museum. It is housed in a royal palace and the grounds comprise a wonderful park. The collection is quite large, so make a plan for your tour. Some of the rooms are not open at all hours, due to Italian budgetary constraints.
Definitely worth the effort of getting there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent art work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This museum is like a little Uffizi, though, by the time we visited it (near the end of our time in italy), we were saturated with fine art and didn't fully appreciate it. Be very careful taking the public bus to the museum (I think it was Bus C). The bus is very crowded and nearly everyone on it stands; you are packed in like sardines. Some guys who initially came across as very friendly tried to pick my husband's pocket. After that experince, we took a taxi from the museum to the train station.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank judilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

did not make enough time to spend there . A quiet space away from the bustle to Naples. Museum had incredible works of art. worth the trouble of getting there

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Nazionale di Capodimonte also viewed

 

Been to Museo Nazionale di Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing