We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view standing atop a piece of history” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vesuvio

Vesuvio
Book In Advance
More Info
$214.31*
and up
Half-Day Tour to Mt Vesuvius
Ranked #27 of 489 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only active volcano on the mainland of Europe, Mount Vesuvius is famous for the calamitous eruption in 79AD, which buried the towns of Herculaneum and Pompeii.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great view standing atop a piece of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic view but with hidden costs - 2 euro to park, another 2 for a walking stick and entrance fee. Very cheezy "gift shops" atop the mountain- pieces of rock carved into animals or skulls..but overall a good time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,782
    1,425
    472
    165
    119
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Exhausting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We walked up to the top and it is quite difficult because the path is quite slippery especially coming down. You can take a guide and they drive you up in a car. The view from the top is great and to see the crator and a bit of smoke coming out and having just been to Pompeii gives you a sense of what it must have been like when it errupted.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excelent view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great view from the top (you can see the whole Naples bay) and interesting to see the big crater. Get ready for about one hour hiking, and some cold winds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ovidiu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
379 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

After our morning visit to Pompeii our tour bus took us up to the carpark which was within a 30 mins steep walk up to the crater. Although there was a strong cool wind blowing and a thick mist visible between the carpark and the crater we watched tourists start the climb in flip-flops, elderly folk with walking sticks, others in thin short sleeved tops/shirts and even a pregnant woman! There is nothing common about common sense! What part of "big high volcano" do some people not understand! The sight of the ambulance parked next to the starting point must be indicative of something! Despite all that it was a wonderful experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“An energetic morning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had our own car so we drove to the edge of the National Park. Just follow the Vesuvius signs. There you pay for a ticket to climb Vesuvius and are taken in a 4 x 4 bus to the highest point it can go and the rest is up to you. The path is well formed, predominantly ash. It would be wisest to take proper shoes or trainers, but some people were in flip flops. It got a bit cold at points when we were shrouded in mist. The climb there an back is over an hour - we were told the time of our bus, but it seemed perfectly ok to catch the next one if you wanted to spend more time there. There are a couple of little stalls at the top and we bought some postcards which get stamped to say you have climbed to the top of the crater. When we got there there was a guide giving details about the eruptions etc. It was a great thing to do - and I'm really pleased we went. However, it is really not suitable for very young children or anyone with disabilities in their legs as the climb is quite steep at times and at one point there are a few steps to climb.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank felicityjg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvio also viewed

Pompeii, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing