We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views”
Review of Vesuvio

Vesuvio
Book In Advance
More Info
$222.17*
and up
Half-Day Tour to Mt Vesuvius
Ranked #26 of 501 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only active volcano on the mainland of Europe, Mount Vesuvius is famous for the calamitous eruption in 79AD, which buried the towns of Herculaneum and Pompeii.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
531 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

There are plenty of day trips available that will get you to the ticket office for the ascent of vesuvius, and these are often combined with e.g. a trip to Pompeii (although I would advise taking a separate half day trip to Vesuvius, as the ancient sites such as Pompeii require a whole day to explore).
Once you reach the ticket area, you can then hike up the path to the summit, which takes about 45 minutes. There are vendors from which you can hire a wooden walking pole, which helps, but is by no means essential and on the way up you can buy a drink if you didn't pack one.
At the top, you get great views over the bay of Naples (weather dependent), and you can peer into the great crater. There is no volcanic activity, but I felt it was still worth the hike if only for the views and to say that I'd been to the top of a famous volcano..!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeStJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,999
    1,516
    509
    173
    134
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For hiker's only”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I visited Mount Vesuvius on June 25, 2013 and was amazed at the run down condition of the area leading up to the parking area. The majority of the businesses along the access road are abandoned and vandalized. Once we arrived the tour bus dropped us off in the very small parking area. We then began the climb to the top. I am in very good shape and really enjoyed the climb. It took about 25 minutes along a switch-back trail that is wide enough for a very small car to travel. The surface is crushed volcanic rock.
Once we arrived at the small store at the summit we were met by a guide who explained the history of the mountain.
I greatly enjoyed this site and the views are incredible.
Expect a very Spartan site and look forward to the hike and you will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pgpd2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A journey worth taking”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you are interested in Pompeii and already planned for a trip to the city, it will not be complete without a trip to Vesuvius. You can do both easily from Rome as a day trip though it will be hectic and needs to be absolutely well planned and timed.
An early morning local train to Naples, followed by another one to Pompeii. Once you are done with Pompeii (yes, you will have to do it in a bit of hurry), you can take a tour bus to Vesuvius. Keep in mind the trek to Vesuvius crater will challenge your physical fitness though i would keep it as low to medium range but keep enough time for the trek. Carry enough water all the time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AbhijitRayNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I found it amazing to see the volcano that has caused so much distruction and then to see what it did in Pompeii and Herculaneum was great. It is a hard climb but driving up most of it was helpful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ImogenHalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great mountain.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

A tough climb up to the top, but defiantly worth of for the views. Our tour guide was interesting and gave us a very good tour, some pleasent gift shops and fantastic views of the Bay of Naples. I highly recommend if you're staying in the area to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 10Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvio also viewed

Pompeii, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing