We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see”
Review of Vesuvio

Vesuvio
Book In Advance
More Info
$222.67*
and up
Half-Day Tour to Mt Vesuvius
Ranked #26 of 501 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only active volcano on the mainland of Europe, Mount Vesuvius is famous for the calamitous eruption in 79AD, which buried the towns of Herculaneum and Pompeii.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a hire car - leave the A3 at Torre Del Greco and just keep following signs to Vesuvio, all the way up (20 minutes). Lots of cars and coaches, but parking is free and there seemed to be enough room even on a sunny Sunday lunchtime. €10 entrance. There is a free guide service which is helpful. 20 minute steep walk from car park to crater. You can then walk for a further 500m around the edge of crater. Looking into the crater, the alien rock formations, plumes of steam and the sheer size are interesting features, otherwise the view from the top of Naples and the bay etc is incredible. Vesuvius dominates the landscape, and the knowledge you are standing on a volcano is quite exciting! Due for a big eruption soon, following smaller ones last century, endangering 800,000 lives in the area. They seem well prepared this time, unlike AD79.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greydog02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,996
    1,510
    508
    172
    133
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Fascinating for us adults, but our kids enjoyed as well, collecting rocks along the 500 meters walk.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rvincoletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuienkerke, Belgium
Level Contributor
420 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“breathtaking”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

a must-do to understand the magnitude of the disaster in the Roman time, bring hiking shoes and don't accepted a hiking stick at the entry

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Ottantatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We liked Vesuvio very much. The ascent is a bit difficult, but not too long. And the views of the bay of Naples and the crater are very impressive. There are a few fumaroles at the mountain's edge. It is great to visit the mountain that hags above Napoli, Pompei and all the towns nearby.
NB that the GPS does not know how to lead you there, so look at the signs and ask locals. Do not forget a good hat. There are many kiosks up there that sell drinks etc. Of course, don't forget a camera!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank UriZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Off the edge of the History.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Ok I'm italian but I've never visited this place up to today.
I went with my boyfrend, without Vesuvio Express and other services. Just me and him, with our car. The ticket costs about 10 Euro (with the guide included) but well worth it.
You cannot understand the reality of Naples if you don't go to visit Vesuvius because the way of life of Napoletans has always depended on by the tought of the border between life and death. Just as this volcano is meant to represent.
I suggest comfortable shoes and good legs! Enjoy the walk :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SabinaTeresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvio also viewed

Pompeii, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing