We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Vesuvio

Vesuvio
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.65*
and up
Mt Vesuvius Half-Day Trip from Naples
Ranked #28 of 500 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only active volcano on the mainland of Europe, Mount Vesuvius is famous for the calamitous eruption in 79AD, which buried the towns of Herculaneum and Pompeii.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Fascinating for us adults, but our kids enjoyed as well, collecting rocks along the 500 meters walk.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rvincoletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,068
    1,565
    521
    178
    140
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zuienkerke, Belgium
Level Contributor
422 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“breathtaking”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

a must-do to understand the magnitude of the disaster in the Roman time, bring hiking shoes and don't accepted a hiking stick at the entry

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Ottantatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We liked Vesuvio very much. The ascent is a bit difficult, but not too long. And the views of the bay of Naples and the crater are very impressive. There are a few fumaroles at the mountain's edge. It is great to visit the mountain that hags above Napoli, Pompei and all the towns nearby.
NB that the GPS does not know how to lead you there, so look at the signs and ask locals. Do not forget a good hat. There are many kiosks up there that sell drinks etc. Of course, don't forget a camera!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank UriZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Off the edge of the History.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Ok I'm italian but I've never visited this place up to today.
I went with my boyfrend, without Vesuvio Express and other services. Just me and him, with our car. The ticket costs about 10 Euro (with the guide included) but well worth it.
You cannot understand the reality of Naples if you don't go to visit Vesuvius because the way of life of Napoletans has always depended on by the tought of the border between life and death. Just as this volcano is meant to represent.
I suggest comfortable shoes and good legs! Enjoy the walk :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SabinaTeresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Halifa, Kuwait
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Place must see for all...”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Brief description...
Mount Vesuvius is known for its eruption in AD 79 that led to the burying and destruction of the cities of Pompeii and Herculaneum. That eruption ejected a cloud of stones, ash and fumes to a height of 20.5 miles, spewing molten rock and pulverized pumice at the rate of 1.5 million tons per second, ultimately releasing a hundred thousand times the thermal energy released by the Hiroshima bombing.An estimated 16,000 people died.

There were many instances of eruptions after AD 79. Eruption of April 7, 1906 killed more than 100 people. The last major eruption was in March 1944. It destroyed the villages of San Sebastiano al Vesuvio, Massa di Somma, Ottaviano, and part of San Giorgio a Cremano.

I recommend you all to see this must go place. Is scenic with incredible crater and history within. We took a trip with Dark Rome tours and traveled from Rome to City of Old Pompeii which was destroyed in AD 79 eruption and the crater

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amitomsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvio also viewed

Pompeii, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing