We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #13 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at the HE for 7 nights and were pleasantly surprised by how much we loved Naples! The hotel is located within walking distance of many great areas, with eating, drinking and shopping and also walking distance to the port for access to hydrofoils to the islands. We were lucky to have a sea view with a lovely little balcony perfect for drinking an evening glass of Prosecco before heading out to dinner. The view was perfect for watching people, and for watching the cruise ships pull in and out of port or just gazing at the bay of Naples.
The room itself was nicely decorated with high ceilings. The a/c worked very well which was a welcome relief after days spent walking in the sun. The bathroom was spacious enough with HE branded amenities. The biggest problem however was the lack of a shower door or curtain. The water from the shower splashed all over the marble tub and floor making it treacherous to get in and out. We ended up placing a bath towel on the floor as a safety precaution. It would be impossible for anyone either elderly or lacking mobility to shower safely.
Housekeeping services were top notch. We came and went at many different times of day and never once came home to a dirty room.
Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was lovely. We enjoyed the numerous Italian pastries, fresh mozzarella, fruits and breads. We also enjoyed mimosas and fresh cappuccino every day. The service was adequate although we wanted a second cup of coffee on many mornings and gave up trying. One thing to mention is that breakfast was included for us as a part of our SPG Platinum status and had we paid the nearly 40 Euro price we might not have been as satisfied.
The front desk staff was friendly and made dinner reservations for us on a few occasions. I would agree with other reviewers when they say the door men watched them carry their bags up the stairs. Many times I opened my own door with a door man standing just inside it. This is a hotel pet peeve of mine but this property was so great otherwise I couldn't let it bother me.
Wi-Fi was also included free of charge with our Platinum status. When it worked it was fine but it seemed to go in and out and if I was doing anything other than Facebooking it would have been difficult to deal with. :)
We ended many a night with a glass of Strega on the rooftop and found the view, the drinks and the bartender to be spectacular. Try a Brandy Alexander, you won't be disappointed!
It was a wonderful stay at the Hotel Excelsior. We enjoyed our balcony, the rooftop breakfast and bar, the excellent housekeeping services, the friendly front desk, the beautiful view and location. Naples in our opinion is a hugely underrated city and we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sksaledtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    253
    88
    32
    20
See reviews for
146
433
29
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at the Excelsior twice. The first room was overlooking the bay of Naples with a small covered terrace, firnishings reflected an early 20th century Italian charm. By contrast the roof restaurant is a modern comfortable hang-out with exceptional views, non better I'm sure, in Naples. Sweeping vistas of the bay, Vesuvius, and in the distant, a hazy Capri as a dot on the horizon. Vetry near to good shopping and sightseeing, but ask the concierge for directions if this is your first visit. Their are nt so good areas very near to the hotel.
it is situated on the harbor front and just a few shor strps from a charming enclave of small restaurants and bars crammed around a quaint little fishing harbor beneath the Castle that is a bustling delight to sit and watch while sipping a negroni.
The second visit i was put in the 'annex', a side room overlooking a side street and residential buildings too near for comfort. No view, no charm .. it could have been almost anywhere.. I didn't ask to change my room as i was with a party of American journalists, just there for 2 days, but if you are placed in the 'annex', and you are not satisfied, there is no harm im asking to see other rooms on the front.. if available.
The TripAdvisor option for When Did You Stay only covers the past year. I stayed here in 1997 and 2000.

Room Tip: ask to see rooms on the upper level overlooking the bay of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpstalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

One of the nicer looking properties online, it's one disappointment after another once you arrive.

Your stay starts off with being greeted by 1-2 doormen, who stand and watch you unload from a taxi, and then open the door for you while they watch you struggle to carry your bags up the front outside steps, and then the inner steps. No offer for help, no ramp, no elevator.

My first night was in a Superior Ocean Front room. Great overall size, and the view from the balcony on the 4th floor was amazing. Vesuvius to the right, Capri across the bay...seemed like a great start. With the nightly turndown service, they close off the windows/balcony doors with what looks like an industrial metal storm door that rolls down from the top. My room was clean and tidy, nicely decorated however my two friends had stained sheets/pillow cases and had to request the room to be turned over again at check-in. The sheets are pretty rough, it's def. not nice Italian linen as you'd expect (and find at any other hotel). Mattresses are old and well worn, do not expect a nice and relaxing night of sleep!


The first problem came with the wifi. It's non-existent unless you're sitting in the lobby. Although I'm not a business traveler, I do need to log-in to check emails, and I depend on a wifi connection instead of using my international data plan to check restaurant reviews and make daily travel plans. I was on the 4th floor, a friend was on the 1st floor, and our third friend was on the opposite side of the 4th floor. We also checked signal strength at the 7th floor breakfast area.

The front desk also doubles as the concierge desk. There's only 1 person working the counter, meaning if there's multiple people checking in, it'll take some time. Forget about getting help with local tourism, reservations, or just general questions answered, it feels more like checking into a bed and breakfast.

The AC system in my room did not work, so the front desk sent a bellman to my room to try and fix it. At 1:45am I was told there was no one from maintenance available and we'd have to wait till the morning...keep in mind this is the middle of summer and the temp and humidity made it nearly unbearable. We had to keep our windows open, which meant a ton of noise from the street below all night, and still a humid room and we got a horrible nights sleep. I understand things go wrong and break, but they did nothing to handle it in a timely manner, and nothing at all to make it up to us.

Don't ruin your vacation time in Naples here, stay at another property.

Room Tip: if you don't have an ocean view room, you're going to be listening to the noisy street below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Magnificent position looking towards Vesuvius, really beautiful roof terrace. Good comfortable rooms. Great feeling of space and lightness in the hotel. This is a good value hotel, and an excellent base from which to discover this beautiful and fascinating city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baronius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a junior suite with a great view of the port. Staff at the front desk was helpful and the bathroom, bed and hospitality were very good. Would recommend this location too for great views and proximity to the main square, restaurants and shopping all in 10mins walk

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We used SPG points to stay here and were upgraded to a Junior suite with two small balconies from which you could see the water. The room was amazing. The staff very friendly. We ate at their restaurant on the roof the first night. While the buffet was just okay, the view can't be beat.

My mom thought the rooms weren't quite sound proof enough, but I didn't have any troubles sleeping.

The waterfront area where this hotel is located is very safe and pedestrian only. Lots of nice restaurants. The hotel overlooks the fort and a number of the ships docked. Definitely recommend this place to stay, though it isn't easy (or fast) getting in and out of Naples.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kger215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

On a recent trip to italy we stayed at the Excelsior Hotel in Naples. Breathtaking view of the bay of Naples. The promenade is closed to traffic with lovely little restaurants outside. The hotel breakfast was scrumptious with an outside seating area. During the evening turndown, the floor on each side of the bed was covered with small rugs. The bar and snack food was lovely too. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank di c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#6 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Royal Continental Hotel
#41 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#36 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Property: Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121, Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
#15 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#19 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing