We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #14 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We wanted to end our holiday in Italy on a high note and this was certainly it! Our room was so luxurious, huge dressing room, marble bathroom. Many famous people have stayed here and we know why now. Simply quiet luxury. convenient for shopping, resturaunts, sightseeing, ferries, it has it all.
Go on, treat yourself!

Room Tip: Room to the side was quiet but still afforded a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    299
    104
    36
    24
See reviews for
169
511
31
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rossmoor, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

If you have to come to this crazy, noisy city this is the place to stay. The rooms are large and quite comfortable and quiet, the hotel staff could not be nicer, and when you are on overload from the noise of the city, the terrace is a great place to unwind, have a drink, and read a book. Came here before starting our walking tour of Capri and the Amalfi Coast with Backroads.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Naples is bustling, busy, edgy, beautiful, ugly, refined and in some quarters downright dangerous. Altogether fascinating. This hotel is calm, quiet, luxurious and sophisticated. It is the perfect foil to the madness of the city. The rooms are sumptuous, well equipped and beautifully furnished in turn of the (19th/20th) century style. I might have been a visiting Hapsburg minor princeling circa 1905. Don't miss the wonderful roof terrace for breakfast, the elegant bar or restaurant...or the spectacular view from the sea facing bedrooms. Not the place for technology, though WiFi works very well. You'll want to through your iPad away and just look out of the window, read a newspaper or sip a Martini...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unclepious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Location is just perfect. You can't beat it. Central, but quiet. You know what doest it mean if you are in Napoli.
Staff is pefectly helpful and nice.
Food is ok, but the breakfast terrace is breathaking. Really.
Rooms are just perfect. We had one with a seaview and small balcony.
i would recommend this hotel to you all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bistvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Excelsior on the 31st May, the hotel itself is very luxurious and grand but i wouldn't give it a 5 star rating. overall the staff is very friendly and professional but didn't feel very welcomed at reception, kind of a cold approach.... once we had settled in our room and on our way out I spoke to receptionist about the safe not working, she came up to the room to check and said she will send maintenance to repair, which was done promptly. We had a side view room with two doors opening on very small juliette balconies, one of them was covered with bird feaces...I mentioned it to her at the same time and said she will send the cleaners up but wasn't really interested to see for herself what i was talking about. This wasn't done.....(not really a good look for a 5 star ).
Their is no swiming pool at the hotel, but they do provide one at their sister hotel two doors down. Unfortunately it was refurbished at the time so no pool, would have been really annoyed if we had stayed there for 1 week.
The WiFI issue, you can get free wifi in most of restaurant or hotels but not at the Excelsior.
Overall it is a good hotel, but they need to revise their standards to bring it back to a 5 star service like in the old days.

Room Tip: We had room 319, very large confortable room, large bathroom and walking wardrobe area. just a side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hard to write this review without coming off as spoilt, but heyho, if you are going to set out to live up to a certain brand then you had better do it! I have been lucky enough to stay in 3 Starwood Luxury Hotels in the last 6 months, partly because my husband is an SPG member and rates their hotels anyway. Our previous two were the Gritti in Venice and the Grand Bretagne in Athens, both of which were amazing experiences and faultless hotels. This wasn't. Not that it's a BAD hotel, it's just average in what it serves up, compared to what they think they are trying to be - yet it still charges the same rates. Started when we turned up in reception and were totally ignored by the manager whilst he bustled around rather distractedly, obviously having some kind of an issue to deal with, with 2 other guests. I don't mind having to wait, but a nod in our direction, and a "momento per favore!" wouldn't have gone amiss....just bear in mind what this hotel purports to be in terms of standards. We were just blanked and waited for about 5 mins before a slightly sulky looking woman turned up to check us in. The hotel is rather 1970s in style and although clean and grand, does look rather dated. The room was fine (nothing special, certainly not the usual Starwood bed) but the bathroom was a bit disappointing. Lots of marble in a retro 70s style (not to be complained about) but a weedy shower (in the bath, not separate) and water that was really only lukewarm. They charge Euro8 for 30 mins on the internet!!! Or Euro 30 for the length of your stay. Get into the 21st century, please! We asked at reception if, as SPG members, we were entitled to free internet and were basically told No, but oh well just this once....we'll give you 8 hours....it worked, but it was all a bit grudging. Breakfast was a nice spread of pastries if that's your thing, the juices were horrible...the type you get in economy on a plane, and the mushrooms and mini sausages looked horrid. Both my husband's coffees were nearly cold on the second morning. I reiterate it deserves no worse than Average, but this hotel is coming adrift from the Starwood brand and most FOH staff need a bit of training in putting their best face forward with customers (and we always tend to put our best face on as guests!). The location isn't great for downtown Naples though we did manage to wear out our shoeleather walking to and from the Archaeological Museum and ditto the Duomo. Not that the location is bad - it's position opposite the Castell d'Uovo means there are some nice restaurants down at Porta Sta. Lucia (??) for the evening. The hotel's roof terrace is very nice. For some reason we had breakfast there one morning and on the ground floor on another morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We managed to get a cheaper rate for this hotel because we are members of the Starwood Preferred Guests programme, and with that rate, this hotel was honestly very worth it for the 5 star quality it is. In fact price-wise it was just slightly more than some of the other 3 star accommodation we stayed elsewhere in Italy, but of course being so much better in terms of quality, service and comfort.
The room was really spacious and luxurious, and with a balcony to a fantastic view (overlooking the bay, with Mt Vesuvius on one side and the city on the other). The staff would do house-keeping twice a day, including once before bed-time.
The breakfast place was on the roof-top and had a lovely view, and the hotel lobby is also really ornately decorated.
Most of all, its in a very safe and peaceful location away from the bustle and griminess of Naples.
(note: actually travelled in April 2013)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 786Sparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Royal Continental Hotel
#45 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#32 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Property: Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121, Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
#15 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#19 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing