We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again here when in Naples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #16 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

If you want to stay somewhere with plenty of old school charm, this a great hotel to be in. It definitely fits in the category of "old school European grand hotels" with large stairwells and wooden furniture. The staff is very helpful. Breakfast was worth it. And the view is fantastic - be sure to get a room facing the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysOnTheRoad06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
There are newer reviews for Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Spent four days here at the start of our Italy vacation. The Excelsior was a wonderful place, and it certainly enhanced our great experience in Naples.

Arrived from airport in early afternoon. Check in was quick, efficient, and courteous. The agent escorted us to our Mt. Vesuvius and Bay view room that we had booked (fifth floor) - gorgeous, the view was incredible! The room was well laid out and beautiful - parquet floors, linen wall coverings, beautiful wood furniture and comfortable seating chairs, and an outdoor balcony with table and chairs. There was plenty of drawer and closet space for unpacking all of our belongings. Bathroom was large, lots of marble, plenty of counter space, great amenities, pouch bathrobe and slippers, a special treat was the long, deep soaking tub - a real luxury to stretch out fully in a bathtub! The bed was very comfortable (so welcome after the overnight flight and layover in Frankfurt), with excellent linens - we slept very well in this hotel. Never heard any internal noises, and it was also quiet outside the hotel - we kept the balcony doors ajar in evenings (this kept the room cooler, as air conditioning is not available during the winter. )

The room was perfectly clean, everything worked well. The housekeeping staff serviced the room perfectly every day, all amenities restocked each day and evening with turn-down service.

The public areas of the hotel were stunning - beautiful Christmas decorations in the lobby. Loved the breakfast buffet - mush variety with high quality selections (especially loved the sweet brioche, the rum baba, and the Prosecco sparkling wine.)

Had dinner one night at the beautiful rooftop restaurant - outstanding! Top quality service, elegant atmosphere, excellent cuisine, and great views of the Bay of Naples. The area around the hotel was very scenic and quiet. It seemed safe, and was a pleasant walk to the bustling areas of Naples and Via Toledo (main shopping street). The concierge and front desk staff were always helpful with directions/dining recommendations, and helping to arrange tickets to the theater. The beautiful and restful atmosphere of the hotel were welcome sights after busy days of sightseeing in Naples and Mt. Veuvius areas.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for those looking for luxury accommodations on the waterfront in Naples.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Vesuvius view give a postcard view of the Bay and the volcano. For me, this was worth...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAR303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed in the Excelsior hotel yesterday. Room with balcony and breakfast included.

I been staying in three hotel during the past days to see what was the most convenient, friendly etc. etc. HI, Renaissance and last the Excelsior. I must say that it was a very disappointing stay.

Horrible breakfast, Overpriced internet (30 euro for 24h) Valet parking which is not valet parking since it is operated by someone else. You also can't pay the parking at the hotel. Dated rooms. Horrible sheets, Extremely hot in the rooms and you can only cool it by opening the balcony doors.

The only positive there was the view!
Never again

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Busy_Traveller_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you were a Hollywood star in the 1950's, I bet this would have been THE place to stay. However nowadays, this hotel seemed outdated. The staff was helpful but not incredibly friendly (not compared to ALL of our other hotels in Italy). The location on the water was pretty and very close to the main palace in Naples. We were staying in a regular room without a view for just one night. All of the decorations and linens were a bit old. Even the bed appeared to be old-timey although it fit us just fine. I also thought our room had an odd smell however, it wasn't overwhelming. Based on the prices we were expecting luxury and we certainly didn't get it. Honestly though, I don't think it is the hotel's fault. Naples is a rather run-down city especially compared to Florence and Rome. I can't say I'd recommend this hotel but that's really because I would never recommend anyone to visit Naples unless they were just going to Pompeii which is what we did.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wittywhit211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel one night and loved our elegant room with parquet floors and balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples. We especially appreciated the quiet atmosphere. Since the street between the hotel and the bay does not allow cars, you can keep the french doors open, lulled by the sound of the lapping water and occasional voices of pedestrians. It was the off-season just before Christmas so there was not a lot of night-time activity at the restaurants on the Borgo Marina--the little island crowded with restaurants that was visible from our room--which may have contributed to the deliciously quiet evening.
Most impressive was the front desk staff: We discovered on the day of our departure that our flight to London was canceled--as were all flights out of Naples because of flooding at Gatwick Airport. When we told the front desk about our problem, the staff instantly and efficiently swung into action, researching flights, and booked us on a flight out of Rome, reached easily by train in under two hours.
The staff also directed us to two excellent restaurants--Fresca, walking distance from the hotel, where we sat outside in the sun looking out on the Bay for a delicious pizza lunch surrounded by well-dressed Italians, and Da Dora for an excellent seafood dinner. The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Naples as many of the most interesting sights architecturally are walking distance. We also took a day trip to Capri, which we enjoyed, as the hydrofoil leaves from a dock just a 10-minute taxi ride away.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view of the Bay of Naples and a balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

In a tumultuous and chaotic city, this is the closest to an oasis of peace. Beautiful structure and interior, and solidly competent staff. The rooms run a bit small (requested a suite but none were available) but the awesome views partially make up for that, and are probably on the dated side, but then the rates are quite reasonable by international standards. The best part was room service-- impeccable every time, with local-flavor dishes rather than international bland fare. I would stay again if in the area (though truthfully Naples is not very high on my list of return destinations).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was very professional but not friendly. We were there only one night on the way from Amalfi to US. The breakfast was ok. On the whole it was uneventful nothing to remember by.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,469 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#40 of 185 in Naples
2,610 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,040 reviews
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#30 of 185 in Naples
715 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#17 of 185 in Naples
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121, Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
#15 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#19 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $176 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing