We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #14 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful four night stay in this beautiful hotel. It is very clean, comfortable with excellent friendly staff. We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples. Of special interest are the rooftop restaurant and bar with stunning views of the magnificent Bay. We really enjoyed our sojourn here and highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    298
    104
    36
    24
See reviews for
169
510
31
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I spent almost a month touring Italy for our honeymoon and we spent 2 nights at this hotel, mainly as a base for us to explore Herculaneum, Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii.

What we LOVED about this hotel:-

1) Location - Felt relatively safer here than in the other parts of Naples. We have received lots of warnings on safety in Naples from our friends who have been to Naples as well as the locals! We have been told to stay clear of more shoddy areas and not to venture too far out from the touristy parts of town. We took many walks in the vicinity of Hotel Excelsior by the sea, never venturing too far out at night and it felt perfectly safe.

2) Rooms - We were allocated a room with a balcony and a great view of the harbor. As opposed to the other Italian cities, we actually spent quite a fair bit of time in our room especially after dark and it was a pleasure.

3) Service - Concierge was helpful in recommending and helping us book a day tour to Mt Vesuvius, Pompeii and Herculaneum. They also recommended a restaurant for dinner near the hotel by the sea and it was lovely. A live band also played there later on that night. Wonderful experience.

Room for improvement for the hotel:-

1) Shower/ Bathroom - Bad design. Showers are located on top of the bathtub and there are no shower curtains. There is a partition which covers only 1/3 the length of the bathtub but it doesn't really help, so water splashes all around and out of the bathtub whenever we took a shower. Naturally our bathroom always got partially flooded whenever we took a shower.

2) Breakfast - Standard buffet breakfast with a wide selection of food. Our only gripe were that the freshly cut fruits were not covered and there were tons of little flies swarming around. Not appetizing at all.

Aside from the above, I would highly recommend this hotel mainly for the location.

Room Tip: Definitely one with a balcony and on the higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a grand hotel in the old style. Lush, plush with courteous service and spotless decor. Above all it has the most stunning views over the Bay of Naples out to Mt. Vesuvius - so go for the superior room (with a view). If you are as lucky as we were you might get upgraded to a suite - it was bigger than our flat. Good luck!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is in a super location overlooking the Bay of Naples and Naples Yacht Club. Our room was spacious with a double balcony and a good sized bathroom. The housekeeping service was one of the best we have experienced. Breakfast outside on th terrace was blissful and the service there too was excellent. The food was good and plentiful with a selection of juices and sparkling wine too. Dinner in La Terrasse was also very good. The streets around are traffic free so tehre is very liottle noise. Public transport is a little far away but a 15 minute walk brings you to the main R2 bus route. One gripe was the cost of wifi and the fact that it was not especaiily good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Persephone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful on the main floor when you check in and the front desk staff a woman that checked us in was very nice. But the hotel rooms are very outdated , up charge for everything , TV, Internet, Room Service breakfast was on time but lacking in quality...located in a very horrible location, traffic is insane, area is shady , but to be positive beautiful views of the ocean.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night in September, to see Herculano between stays on Capri and in Rome.

The good:

The hotel is beautifully located on the pedestrian street fronting the Bay of Naples.
We had a wonderful late lunch on the 7th floor terrace and the service was great.

The bad:

The hotel is badly in need of updating. The lobby appeared to be a bit thread-bare and in need of work.

There is actually no spa at the hotel. It is nearby at a "sister" property.

We must have gone in and out of the lobby half a dozen times. Not once did anyone on staff even acknowledge our presence. We found the hotel to be relatively unfriendly.

Overall, the hotel felt like much less than it should have been. It presents itself as more, but seems to be badly off its game.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wonderful old classic hotel with lots of charm. Great location with many restaurants around. The rooftop bar provided amazing views of Capri and Vesuvius. Rooms were large and very comfortable. Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Royal Continental Hotel
#45 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#30 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Property: Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121, Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#15 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#19 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing