We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly situated, with service to match”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #17 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were worried about visiting Naples, but our stay at hotel excelsior converted us to big fans. We loved everything about this hotel and especially loved our evening stop at the terrace bar where the view is incredible and the two bartenders amazingly kind and charming.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Luxury hotel in Naples. Service is good, rooms are excellent. Location is a bit out of the way. You'll need to use taxis or walk a fair distance to reach subway. Breakfast offering were okay but were a bit disappointing.

If you thinking of visiting Pompeii, consider Herculaneum, located at Ercolano Scavi, in addition or as an alternative. It's smaller and more intimate, great if you're pressed for time or want to avoid the heat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjcSING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Staying at the Hotel Excelsior reminds me of why five star hotels are sometimes very, very worth it (often they aren't, but that's another review). It's been a while since I stayed in a five star that was truly focused on luxury and service, with all the little details in place. Unlike other supposed five stars where I've had to remind or ask the staff about things that were promised, here at the Excelsior everything arrived smoothly and with grace. Beginning with the room: mine was small, the most basic room, but it was lovely and comfortable with gold fabric wall dressing and great linens and nice desk. A pleasure to be in (I did peek into a room that was being cleaned and saw the most beautiful sea view-- you may want to try for one of those). Breakfast was delicious and served on the roof patio for a lovely start to the day. Staff is uniformly courteous. Hallways are sparkling marble. The rooftop bar is gorgeous if a bit small, and the bartending service is top notch. Excellent work all around, Excelsior. Tip: for meals, go around the corner to the restaurants on the street just the sea drive. The food is better there and there is less exploitation of tourists.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Came here for 2 night stopover and had a wonderful time and will return.
We came to Naples with a bit of intrepidation as to safety etc. However this hotel is in the right area to walk around day or night with fantastic views of bay and the big mnt V. Location great...tip get room over bay for views to die for
Eat at la terraces on the top of hotel and see the bay ,Capri and mnt V ....food and vista fantastic...try the spaghetti with prawn ..the best I have ever tasted...I would go back for this. Will come back

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DEPHUNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

To all of those looking to stay in Naples Italy and want to have a memorable, outstanding stay, then look no further than Hotel Excelsior Naples. I recently stayed there for part of my Honeymoon May 25-30th. I travel very frequently and am a Starwood Platinum member since 2005. Upon the warm welcome checking in I was personally greeted by the Deputy Hotel Manager Gianni Ricci who went ahead and upgraded my room to a beautiful Sea View Suite. The other Hotel representative made our room keys and escorted us right up to our suite. I have stayed at many hotels and they all vary depending on location, brand, and general management, however, Hotel Excelsior truly surpassed all my expectations. The luxuriously appointed room featured full marble flooring and walls in both bathrooms, automatic shutters, and 2 different viewing balconies. The service was unparalleled as the house keeping service was twice a day without requesting turndown service, and in the evening would bring cozy floor mats for each side of the bed with slippers as well. Everything in the room was to the finest quality right down to the pen and notepad being a top quality stock linen! The room was refreshed with 2 bottles of water daily of Natural and carbonated, and there was a welcome tray of fresh fruit and biscotti when we arrived! The breakfast service on the top floor was very beautifully decorated with colorful flowers through out and a warm welcoming staff would happily greet you with a "Buon giorno" and smiles. The hotel is locate din my opinion the best area of Naples as It is directly in front of Castle Dell'Ovo with a fantastic view of the entire Bay, Capri, and Mount Vesuvio in the background. The Hotel left me with a feeling of super quality, excellent rest, majestic meals and views upon the rooftop patio, and a super sense of well being from how the staff were at my complete disposal. I will definitely return to this hotel when I go back to Visit Naples and strongly suggest anyone stay there if they have the chance!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandro d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

During a conference held at the Napoli seafront, I and my wife had very good stay for 3 days at this hotel, which is commanding a fine view of the Santa Lucia port and Castel dell'Ovo. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the vicinity was very safe even the Napoli downtown is said to be otherwise. The cost performance was also quite favorable. In particular, we enjoyed very much the roof-top restaurant, where we had very pleasant breakfast (buffet style), and a wonderful dinner to which we invited a friend of ours.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazuo_and_Hiroko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We are fortunate to travel the world and among those travels are stays at almost every Starwood Luxury Collection (former Ciga) hotel in Europe. The Excelsior fails terribly in trying to live up to those lofty standards of its brother and sister hotels.

For one thing, the staff - especially the front desk, being the people you see first and last - are a hapless lot. No one smiles. No one says "buon giorno" in the morning or "buena sera" when a guest returns at the end of the day.

Beyond that, at least some of the staff are outright hostile. I had a full blown argument over whether an SPG Gold guest is entitled to free Internet (answer: it has been an SPG Gold benefit since March 2012). I had a similar argument over whether an SPG Gold guest receives a room upgrade upon availability at check-in. I was told that we were upgraded to a Deluxe Sea View room. When I noted that this is exaclty what I had booked, I was told that we were given a "Super Deluxe" Sea View room. I have yet to find the Super Deluxe Sea View Room category on the hotel website. The intercession of the hotel manager resolved both issues the next day and we resolved to turn the page and start the stay with a fresh start.

However, for the hotel to completely ignore our 25th wedding anniversary - noted in the reservation - is inexcusable and unforgivable. Not a "congratulations" from any hotel staff member, not a note in the room, not a piece of fruit or a solitary biscuit to mark the ocassion, and this from a hotel in whose class the Gritti in Venice and Imperial in Vienna will send a note just welcoming a guest and certainly send something to the room because that is simply what great hotels of the world just do, even if it is not a birthday, anniversary or other special event. In fact, the Gritti presented every departing lady with a personally chosen gift, compliments of the management.

The hotel is physically lovely in the public areas, and quite nice in the private accommodations (althoguh the junior suite to which we were upgraded on Day 2 was quite a bit nicer than the "Super" Deluxe Sea View room). But all the money in the world can't buy class and that, sadly, the Excelsior lacks.

Room Tip: Sea view room, third floor is farther from the street but still has very high ceilngs. There were ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fantasticv0yage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,529 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 186 in Naples
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Continental Hotel
#41 of 186 in Naples
2,740 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#16 of 186 in Naples
1,151 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121, Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#15 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $128 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing