We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #14 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Naples is a city of culture, chaos and character, but when you step into the Hotel Excelsior you get the culture and character of a 5* hotel with all the culinary delights expected from a hotel of this caliber. The rooms are clean and spacious with staff that are attentive and helpful. For this, there is no city in the world like Naples. Nothing is too much for the guest. The restaurant on the terrace offers some of the best food to be found in Naples along with the best views over the Castelo do Ovo. My only advice for travellers to this wonderful city is to dress down. Don't go out with your jewels on show and ladies if you can, no handbags. Play it safe. Take this advice and you will have a most wonderful time. The Neapolitans are the friendliest people on earth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FairReviever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    298
    104
    36
    24
See reviews for
169
510
31
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

First, class rooms that are clean, spacious and quality built. A beautiful location on the sea and a respite from achaotic days in Naples. I found the conciege desk knowlegeable and helpful. A reason to reccomend to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mitchell_cutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the peace and calm from the moment we entered the building. Found the staff to be friendly, professional and helpful. The public areas of the hotel are maintained to a very high standard as are the rooms and the view from the rooftop restaurant is simply stunning. Special mention must go to Massimo, the bartender on the ground floor, who was extremely knowledgeable and introduced us to some wonderful local wines plus made us feel extremely welcome.
We stay in many similar standard hotels around Europe on a regular basis, but have found this hotel to be one of the best and will definitely be staying again should we return to Naples.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank luckybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just spent 5 nights at the Excelsior. Such a stunning hotel with great elegant past. The public rooms are really beautiful with chandeliers, and the hotel throughout is so sparkling and clean. Breakfast has a wide variety both hot and cold buffet. Staff friendly and helpful especially Franco in reception. Rooms large and spacious (we were on the 5th floor with balcony overlooking the bay). The views from the roof garden are unforgetable.Expensive we know but worth every penny for a special stay. Lovely part of Naples situated on the seafront with a taxi bay 5 mins from the hotel for convenience. Had the best sleep here from all the other hotels we have stayed at in Italy. The beds were so soft and lovely pillows, sheets and bedding spotless and crisp. All in all would recommend and we will definately stay here again when we come to Naples

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a sea view as this hotel is in such a wonderful postition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
295 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Extremely nice, old and eccentric hotel located right on the waterfront in the old town of Naples. Most of the hotel is in original condition, but very well maintained and in 5 star classic ambiance. Truly exceptional hotel as far a appearance an sleep quality, view and elegance for the price of the room. But everything else in the hotel is expensive and not worth it. Breakfast on the top floor terrace was included with our room price. Glad too because the breakfast was not very good at all, had little to choose from, and very pricey if you had to pay for it. It is ala-cart and a typical example would be toast for €12; coffee at €10 and a latte will set you back €16. There are no coffee makers or hot kettles in the room to make your own coffee. Every hotel I have stayed in have these basic items, but they want you to order room service where the prices listed above nearly double. The room does come with a fully stocked mini bar that has obscene prices though. Gym in the hotel is almost nothing with just a couple of items for exercise.
What I noticed most about this hotel and all of Naples it that it is very "Tip Oriented". Everyone wants to open a door for you, or roll your bag 10 meters for you (as if you could not do it yourself), hail you a taxi, or pull out your chair for you to sit. But they all expect and wait around for a tip. Been to over 150 countries and havent seen the magnitude of this until I came to Naples.
Taxis use the meter and are required, but there is always some reason (in Italian) why the fare is €-5-10 over what the meter says. Arguing with them is a waste of time. I have come to the conclusion all taxi drivers worldwide (except England) have the same mother and are all related somehow. Taxi from the airport to this hotel is even listed in the taxi stand as €23. But trust me, it wont be.
Other than a few negatives, the hotel is fabulous and a great place to stay. All the rooms have a great view. If you want a coffee in the morning just walk out the front door and turn any direction and walk 50 meters and you can find it for €2, excluding tip, of course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

It's in a good location in Naples. Rooms are quite large, bed and pillows really comfy. Complimentary toiletries are quite good - I don't normally use them, but theirs is good and smelled lovely. Service is good as well, although some staff may appear 'cold'. Turn down service is available.The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a good spread of cold meat, cheese, choice of two eggs, hot sausages, various cakes, bread, fruits, yogurts, fruit juice, proseco (yes for breakfast!) and of course coffee. You can also order from the breakfast menu for extra charge, however we found the breakfast buffet enough.
Three minor issues I have: There is no free wifi (at this day and age, I know!) and for 30 minutes you have to pay, if I remember correctly, 3 euros. They have a business centre where you can use their pcs and printers although you need to purchase their wifi to use them. If you need to print your boarding pass, you can ask the staff at the reception to print it for you. Next, they have no iron in the room (and they don't provide one either). If you want your clothes to be ironed, you have to have it washed and their laundry service is quite expensive. Finally, as the rooms are not carpeted, we could hear all the banging and steps from room above (we were on the 3rd floor), it didn't cause any major grief, but for the price of each room, I would have thought they are well soundproofed.
They have a fitness centre, too, but it is very basic (weights and treadmill), and you need to let the staff at the reception know you are going to use it as they will issue you with a card. My partner was the only one who used it when we stayed there. The hotel can also arrange a taxi if you are going early to the airport. Note that it taxi will cost about 25 euros from the airport (that's on meter).
In summary, a good, albeit pricey hotel in a city that I can only describe as "interesting".

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay and Mt. Vesuvius - we didn't and we had a street view. We didn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anusenvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Located in the safe area of town with lots of shops in walking distance. Lovely balconies and an unbelievable view. Great service, comfortable beds. Loved the place! Perfect for when you are in transit to Capri, they will organize the boat trip, pickups and will recommend the best restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Royal Continental Hotel
#45 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#30 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Property: Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121, Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#15 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#19 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing