We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #17 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Great hotel overlooking Fort, takes you back in time to the grand movie star times, great staff upgraded to a corner suite, totally luxurious loved it

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crowgirlsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

pros:
excellent location
grand, historic building
lovely room with balcony
charming bar and bartender

cons:
none!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdrileynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Excellent levels of service and incredibly good value. Everything was in good condition. Great roof-top bar. Great restaurant (La Terrazza) overlooking the marina.

The hotel is away from the main sites but it does provide a great oasis of (relative) peace to return to to relax and re-charge.

Ottimo!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2GentleTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

It happen to stay at the hotel Excelsior, never again.
I stayed for 5 nights and even if the room was prepaid through an agency and i showed the voucher at the arrival, the girl at the desk Oriane didn't care at all and charged my credit card for an amount of over 1000 euros!!!
When i realize it, and i asked for an explanation... with her bad attitude she said that they would cancel it after a week or so!!!! she didn't even apologize.
After a while the Manager approached me and he said that was a mistake and that he was really sorry, and that he would try to refund me as soon as he could after the check out.
Credit Card Danger at the Excelsior.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We recently were in Naples for the weekend & stayed at the Hotel Excelsior. Our stay was fabulous. The hotel was old world luxury and charm. It was gloriously elegant and its setting, right across from the Bay of Naples, and the Vesuvius, was captivating. Rooms were large and spacious. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfasts were in a lovely, opulent dining room and the food was yummy. The neapolitan pastries and cakes on the buffet table were so delicious. This hotel is great for anyone who wants to visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanmaria1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

My husband and I recently spent two nights here and enthusiastically recommend this hotel. The hotel itself is lovely in the manner of grand hotels...think the Gritti, the Ritz in Paris,the Peninsula. More than that, the service was exemplary, particularly the front desk, but everyone really. The breakfast room was elegant, and the bar, cosy. You kind of expected to find Fred Astaire dancing in the lobby. Our room was lovely, overlooking the Bay and we were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a suite. It is truly wonderful to find that there is still some elegance in the world.

Room Tip: Do splurge on a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We originally planned to stay 3 nights here, but returned for 3 more after cutting a side trip to Sorrento short. The hotel is very quiet, in both decor and noise levels. We had a lovely terrace overlooking the harbor, the Castel and Vesuvius. The sheets are linen, something I've never seen in a hotel before. The breakfast is served in a lovely room which adjoins an even lovelier roof top terrace. Breakfast is great. We had a fantastic lunch at the hotel restaurant, La Terrazza also. The bartender downstairs was very nice, but we preferred the cozier bar down the street at the Vesuvius hotel. Across the street is a huge selection of casual restaurants. We mostly ate at La Scialuppa which I thought had better pizza than some of the more famous places like Sorbillo. We also ate at Fresco, a few blocks away, and Antonio&Antonio, also a couple blocks away. Infante Gelateria on Via Toledo was the best! All these restaurants appeared to be frequented by non-English speaking customers. A taxi stand is a block away, and you can contract with the taxi drivers for an excursion like Pompeii much more economically than with your hotel (if you don't want to deal with trains and buses). The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. Good minibar.
Naples was very enjoyable, good art, good food, nice walkable city. We did not have any problems with crime. The Capodimonte museum has some great paintings. Good shopping district west of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace. Some of the other rooms might be a bit larger, but it is nice to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrsmaxernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,519 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Royal Continental Hotel
#43 of 186 in Naples
2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,134 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
1,080 reviews
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#32 of 186 in Naples
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121, Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
#15 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#19 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $97 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing