We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #7 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One week stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in this hotel while my wife attended a conference at one of the universities in Napoli. The location can't be beat and the service is excellent in an old fashioned, proper, aloof kind of way. We stayed in a suite on the seventh floor with an incredible view of the Castel dell'Ovo and the Bay of Naples beyond. The room itself was very well appointed and, while the decor felt like a throwback to an earlier era, it somehow felt appropriate. Despite dating from an earlier time, it wasn't at all worn or rough around the edges. In a sense, you feel like you've stepped back in time (though which time period you've entered isn't exactly clear - the exterior of the hotel looks like it dates to the 60s, while the rooms and interior common areas feel more like something out of the early 20th century). My only quibble is that, in spite of paying a rather hefty price for our room, we were still required to pay an extra 15EUR for the privilege of using the (decent and clean, though unexceptional) pool and spa area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    401
    131
    31
    27
See reviews for
235
678
52
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed in Napoly for one night and chose this hotel.
It has a great location, just near the sea and the old fortress (Castel dell’Ovo).
Valet parking in the hotel costs 25Euros per day. There is no better alternative.
The road next to the sea is closed to vehicles, and one can find many people walking and jogging there.
Entrance to the castle is free, and it is very recommended to visit.
Also, the Museo Archeologico Nazionale is a MUST; many articles found in Pompeii ruins can be found in the museums.

Other than those two places - Napoly is dirty, crowded and noisy. Roads are broken and driving there is a real challenge (not to mention the teenagers washing your car at every light you stop, and requiring money for that).

If you come for a vacation in southern Italy, and rent a car -- I would advice to visit the two attractions above, and go for a hotel outside the city, towards your visit tomorrow in Vesuvio and Pompeii.

Room Tip: Most rooms (but not all) face the south - the sidewalk near the sea and the old fortress. Insist on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmirU71799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

When you splurge on what is widely regarded as the best hotel in the city, your standards are pretty high. Vesuvio met every expectation.

Comfortable room? Check. Full bathroom, complete with soaking tub and top notch toiletries? Check. Beautiful lobby and common areas? Check. Large and varied breakfast buffet? Check. UNBELIEVABLE view of Vesuvius, Castel dell'Ovo, and the bay of Naples? Check.

The service, while not overly friendly, was very efficient and complete. Everything was clean and modern. It was the perfect first stop to get over jet lag.

Room Tip: We stayed in 725 and loved it. Anything with a balcony on the bay would be an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nundrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in May as part of a rail holiday organised by Expressions holidays. I mention the provider for two reasons. Not knowing the rate per room does affect a review BUT knowing that every hotel booked through this company was of a very high order also colours the picture.
Any road up we arrived by taxi, the driver of which pointed to the entrance and said "there it is". The reason was he wanted €30 for a 13€ ride. I suggested he drive over to the front which he eventually did where the Man in the Uniform of the Vesuvio sympathetically suggested that he lower his price and in the end we paid €18. The taxis for the next 3 days were all organised very efficiently by the hotel and the price was either metered or agreed.
Checking in we were taken to a room at the back of the hotel. The room was perfectly fine. Beds were good quality - bathroom colours in keeping with the age of the hotel - plumbing good - soaps and gels good. The hotel itself is a fine old typical de Luxe hotel of yesteryear that they have modernised sympathetically.
All linen was changed daily and at the nightly turn-down they provided a sachet of Echia night cream which proved an excellent after-shave balm.
Breakfasts were served in a very elegant and sunny room on the first floor overlooking the Castle and the little port. The quality of the food was extremely high and a huge variety of everything. Service was what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel.
We had some execrable food in Naples including the food served at a 1* Michelin restaurant. On the last day we took the lift up to the restaurant in the hotel. Although we didn't eat there a quick look really made me kick myself that we had not tried it first.
Staff was on the ball and very pleasant.
If I had anything to say about the hotel it would be that the entrance could use a little modernisation and change of lighting.
Would I go back - sure.

Room Tip: Cough up and have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westtown, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

On this warm, sunny day in April, we enjoyed a wonderful lunch of pasta and seafood while overlooking the beautiful Bay of Naples. The view was wonderful. You see Mt Vesuvius, Capri, Ischia! Unfortunately, our view was slightly marred by the rooftop of the building next door, but it was still breathtaking. The hotel is immaculate, staff wonderful, food delicious. Although our room did not have a view, it was still extremely comfortable and well appointed! Wow.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lennismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night. It is a beautiful hotel in a great location and it was clean, comfortable, luxurious and friendly, helpful staff. Stayed in a water view room with a balcony overlooking Castel dell ovo. Buffet breakfast was included and was excellent! Loved the location of this hotel. It was about a half hour walk up to the National Museum along the shopping area of Via Toledo. Enjoyed walking around the area during the day and felt very safe and comfortable. The Saturday evening along Via Partenope is full of busy restaurants and lots of choice and a great vibe and energy. Wish I had more than one night in Naples!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank philip2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere-Stad, Flevoland, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

A very friendly staff. The hotel is nice but in comparisson with other 5 star hotels it lacks the level required to remain in the premier league. But location is nice.
Other hotels al the via Partenope stem als to be stuk in the seventies.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MVRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Royal Continental Hotel
#45 of 186 in Naples
2,538 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#18 of 186 in Naples
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
1,012 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Property: Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Address: Via Partenope 45, 80121, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Naples
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#7 Family Hotel in Naples
#7 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront, the prestigious Grand Hotel Vesuvio overlooks the Gulf of Naples, the island of Capri and Mount Vesuvius. These views can be admired from its rooftop restaurant.Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. All air-conditioned, they also feature a minibar and a TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels. Some have a balcony with sea views.Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant on the 9th floor offers fine Regional cuisine and panoramic views across the Mediterranean Sea (closed from 12-25 August, 2013). Reservations are mandatory.The hotel is opposite the Castel dell'Ovo in the historic quarter of Santa Lucia. The port for boats to Capri, Sardinia and other destinations is 15 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing