We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #7 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Boston. MA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Old charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel every time I traveled to Napoli for either business or pleasure. The hotel has days gone by charm, from the decor to the attentive service. The room are reasonably specious (wlast time we were 3 in a room and it did not feel too crowded) with an old fashion decor, but the rooms are very well maintained. The breakfast is superb and always fresh.

On the downside, the decor should be upgraded, it is not 1930 any more. Also, the TV is small with limited channels considering it is a 5 star hotel. And finally, due to the ever changing traffic routs in Napoli (not the hotel fault) it is always a challenge to drive to this hotel (at time Via Partenope is closed to traffic) even when one knows where it is.

If you can reserve a discount room it is a fantastic value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarlDGrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    362
    117
    30
    26
See reviews for
213
620
47
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Location Is good, hôtel Is good but it s old. Not really fresh.
Nice people Who always try to help, Naples Is à gréât city, if you want to see Italy, Go to Naples.
Go to thé old part of Town to état réal pizza for 3 euro. Yes 3 euro, then Who Is thé thief in this World ? 3 euro for à fantastique pizza.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Extremely disappointing experience:
- staff barely speak english and is rude
- heating was not working and needed 24h to be fixed
Last but not least, deposit taken at check in still not repaid after a week
I will strongly recommend to avoid this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JG555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have just spend 3 days, with our family occupying two amazing rooms at Hotel Vesuvio.
Location is excellent, the view is breathtaking definitely worth the little extra for the sea view!!
Extremely professional, yet warm and elegant service starts at the reception carries out whole through the other hotel services. The hospitality of the ladies at the breakfast room is unmatched in any of other hotels we have ever been to. The breakfast buffet is in itself outstanding quality...ricotta , mozzarella and all pastries are too die for ...

Size of the rooms, detail to comfort particularly the mattress, pillows and pure linen bed sheets did make our stay extremely pleasant. We will never try any other at Napoli anymore. In fact we can not wait to go back to Napoli and stay at Hotel Vesuvio again.

Room Tip: Definitely sea view room...with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great location and view from the room ( you must pay extra for the sea view, definatly worth it !!!).
Although I must say it is too expensive, wifi is not for free??? I would overall recomend staying in the area, but in a cheaper hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent four nights here, in a wonderful room directly facing the castle. The service was friendly, faultless and totally professional, the welcome excellent, the breakfasts very generous and tasty, the peace and quiet (in February) extremely welcome, the beds the last word in comfort. You get what you pay for in this world and we obtained everything we had hoped for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from vacation and couldn't wait to rate this hotel. The sea-view room is a must! The entire staff of the hotel exceeded all expectations, from the bellman to housekeeping. By the end of our 3 day stay, they knew our names and became like family. The rooftop dinner was worth every penny. The breakfast buffet each morning was outstanding. The servers even gave us a departing gift of pastries on our last day. When we return to Naples, there is no doubt we will return to Vesuvio!

Room Tip: We loved our sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Royal Continental Hotel
#45 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Romeo Hotel
#13 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#31 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Property: Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Address: Via Partenope 45, 80121, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Naples
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#7 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#7 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront, the prestigious Grand Hotel Vesuvio overlooks the Gulf of Naples, the island of Capri and Mount Vesuvius. These views can be admired from its rooftop restaurant.Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. All air-conditioned, they also feature a minibar and a TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels. Some have a balcony with sea views.Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant on the 9th floor offers fine Regional cuisine and panoramic views across the Mediterranean Sea (closed from 12-25 August, 2013). Reservations are mandatory.The hotel is opposite the Castel dell'Ovo in the historic quarter of Santa Lucia. The port for boats to Capri, Sardinia and other destinations is 15 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing