We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool is expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #7 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Be careful to read the fine print here if you think you will be getting a pool / spa included in the price. The pool will cost you $15 euro, and the spa / sauna will cost a separate $15 euro. If you want them both, it will cost you $25 euro. We bit the bullet and did both, it was fairly nice, however the spa pool temperature was not that hot and they were not able to increase it.

Also note that the restaurant on the top level is closed on Mondays (this happened to be the day we wanted to go up), and also likely to be very expensive.

Wifi will also cost you $3 euro for 30 minutes so don't expect this to be free either (unlike most hostels).

The area is also in a strip of restaurants, but nothing else is there and quite a stretch from the "real naples". You need to get a $10-$12 euro taxi to get to the hotel from the main station as there is no public transport in walking distance.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank haem0gl0bin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have stayed at the Grand Hotel (Albergo) Vesuvio twice and both times were wonderful. It has a fairly central location within easy walking distance to many of the local sites. And I walked everywhere! Castles, palaces, shopping, the marina....you name it and I walked there.

The first time I was traveling with my husband and we selected a seaview junior suite. It was very spacious with a sitting area, separate bathroom and a large bathroom. This time I was traveling on my own so I chose the less expensive seaview king room which had more than enough space. The room, #430, was located in the center of the hotel with breathtaking views of the Bay. There was a small writing table, flat screen TV, and plenty of light. The bathroom was recently renovated, had a shower stall with no tub and a huge sink making the bathroom feel a little snug. Again, plenty of room but it just felt small. Bathroom amenities were from the hotel's spa and had a clean fragrance.

The hotel bar located just off the front reception area was a nice place for a light snack and a glass of prosecco. The breakfast room on the first floor was bright and sunny. The staff remembered my name after just the first introduction and was ready with my tea each morning. The breakfast buffet (included in my rate) was very filling. I believe it was a little pricey (30 euros) if not in your room rate so be sure to check.

Without a doubt the staff made all the difference. They pointed me to some of their favorite spots in town, introduced me to the public transport system including the funiculare up the mountain toward a spectacular view and some neighborhood eateries. They had a great deal of patience with my attempt at speaking italian and gently corrected my grammatical errors. Thank you!

The only negative, really more of a pet peeve, is that WiFi was 30 euros. I realize that is standard but it doesn't make it less aggravating. The best way around this is to join Leaders Club which gets you free internet, upgrades when available, etc.

Overall, an excellent hotel for exploring Naples.

If you are arriving from the airport the taxi fare should be about 25 euros. Don't let the cab drivers tell you different. The ones I met this case were honest but on my first trip here I was a little less, er, experienced and was overcharged.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Floors 3 and 5 are smoking floors while 2 and 4 are non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brooksz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Naples is a city you love or hate but staying at the vesuvio makes you apreciate it even more.The rooms are spacious,clean ,breakfast is very good but the highlight has to be the restaurant at the top floor with wonderful views of the bay and of course the vesuvio,not mentioning the food that is also very good.I would warn guests that the taxis right around the corner are a bunch of the most uncivil persons I met in Italy and I speak italian .Of couse this is no fault of the hotel just a cautionary note

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeansãopaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

good location,good wiew, good service, good foods
location of the hotel is very close every where( restaurants,shops, museums) walking distance, near the sea shore, servieces are perfect, breakfast was delicious, decoration of the rooms very good., all the rooms have a sea wiew, rooms were very quite

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is our third visit to Naples and the Hotel Grand Vesuvio so we obviously like it.
After a hectic day in the city, Pompei, Herculeneum or Pallazzo Caserta it is a joy to return to the calm and comfort of this grand hotel. Located near the restaurants of Santa Lucia and the traffic free (at nights) Partenope it is pleasure to stroll the passegiata in the evening.
Staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are well provided with towels, facecloths etc.
The Internet works. My only criticism is that the seaview rooms a little pricey, otherwise we would go more often

Room Tip: Always choose a sea view (and it is more expensive) and if possible a large corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Chosen for position we were not disappointed with a wonderful view of the Castel dell'Ovo and we found this slightly ageing hotel absolutely lovely. The welcome was warm as were all the staff. It is the only restaurent where I have been visually scolded for ordering a French wine and succumbed to an Italian instead - it was terriffic and I loved the service!

Yes it is pricey, but look at the surroundings and expect no less. We had a fabulous stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We enjoyed the Grand Vesuvio. We were very nicely welcomed by staff who made us feel that they actually cared about our comfort (not a universal experience even in hotels of this standard). The room was very nicely appointed with a view of the Castel dell'Ovo and felt quite luxurious in a rather understated way. The bathroom, though also well appointed, was a little on the small side with only one sink. Service was excellent with a turn down service in the evening and a good buffet breakfast was served. The only thing I was a bit surprised at was we weren't asked if we had enjoyed our stay when we checked out - in fact, compared with our arrival it was all a bit peremptory. Nevertheless, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cajwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,138 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Continental Hotel
#41 of 186 in Naples
2,707 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 186 in Naples
1,083 reviews
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#32 of 186 in Naples
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Partenope 45, 80121, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Naples
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#3 Family Hotel in Naples
#7 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $275 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront, the prestigious Grand Hotel Vesuvio overlooks the Gulf of Naples, the island of Capri and Mount Vesuvius. These views can be admired from its rooftop restaurant.Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. All air-conditioned, they also feature a minibar and a TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels. Some have a balcony with sea views.Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant on the 9th floor offers fine Regional cuisine and panoramic views across the Mediterranean Sea (closed from 12-25 August, 2013). Reservations are mandatory.The hotel is opposite the Castel dell'Ovo in the historic quarter of Santa Lucia. The port for boats to Capri, Sardinia and other destinations is 15 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing