We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, panaromic view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #7 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The view is so enthralling you forget everything else. Perfect location, right opposite castel dell'ovo and the sea promenade. Lovely bright airy rooms and you could always use the automated curtain if you think the sun is too bright! The switch board near your bed is very convenient, not only does it operate all your lights, but the curtain too. You could also lock your door right from the bed.
the bathroom was big well lit and the bath products were great too.
The roof stop is just lovely, you absolutely have to visit the restaurant just so you can experience the surreal view. we only had time for a quick lunch and the staff were very helpful in expediting the whole process. I'm vegetarian and even though the menu lacked what I wanted, the chef came up with a pasta that was delicious.
the breakfast was alright.
Naples was a perfect visit, the people were friendly, ever ready to share their rich heritage and culture, the city is bustling with an energy that is addictive and this hotel was the cherry on the cake.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the castle and the sea, absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudeepta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

Excellent hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic restuarant on the terrace with views of the old Castle , Vesuvio and all boats in the harbour. The food was delicious and if you are a non smoker ask for the seating area on the terrace for this. Old fashioned bedrooms that have style.

Central for walking around and a taxi ride away from the old town. The hotel did warn us to not wear jewellery while visitng the old town. Sadly Naples is run down filthy streets and graffiti on some of the lovely old buildings. But worth a visit for the day.

Room Tip: Se;ect a room with a view of the harbour and castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent our last 2 nights of a 17 weeks holiday along Amalfi coast and Capri. Whilst the hotel was of a very high quality in a great location on the sea front promenade overlooking the castle we found the hotel a little impersonal. We had sea view deluxe rooms that were a decent size with a balcony. The breakfasts were good and the service was what you would expect for a top quality hotel. On a negative, we did baulk at the 30euros to pay for wifi access and the 4 euros for a bottle of 50c water. We are unlikely to stay in Naples again as my wife had her bag snatched on the Sunday, which is a pity as the seafront was great fun of an evening and there are some great places to visit when in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_Huckstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice old-fashioned hotel on the Marina. Our room was very nice, though only had glimpses of sea views from the balcony (i.e. the views from inside the room were just of a side street). If you want the good views, you probably have to pay the price.

It is old fashioned but not drab or tacky. The bar, though lacking views, is a fairly nice place (though the promised music from 7 pm never materialised).

Bathroom was clean but the shower was only average (hand-held shower in a bathtub). Toiletries were their own spa brand but seemed to be good quality.

Rather irritatingly, the Caruso restaurant was booked for a wedding the night we were there and the downstairs restaurants were being occupied by a large group on one side and (I think) the Rotary Club on the other side.

At the more disappointing end, internet charges are frankly out of order these days (EUR3 for half an hour, EUR10 for 8 hours or some higher fee for 24 hours). The swimming pool (indoor only) costs EUR25 to use. And breakfast, while ok in parts, was very poor in others (eggs cost extra and the fruit juice was undrinkable).

This is a pretty decent hotel but I just cannot stand that kind of attitude. Unfortunately, it is pretty common in Naples with every taxi driver, waiter and shopkeeper looking to squeeze every Euro they can out of you but when you are on holiday it is the hassle that frustrates you as much as anything and it is really something that you don't want from your hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gourmet_Vegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Attentive staff, a view of the Bay of Naples, and wonderfully comfortable beds were just part of the joy of staying here for four nights. With its visitor-friendly location, we felt comfortable going for evening strolls along the seafront promenade, noting that entry to the area was monitored as was the entire stretch along the Bay. The Grand Vesuvio became a waterfront haven for us after wonderful but hot and dusty days of trekking through the archaeological sites or crowded Neapolitan streets; it also fortified us for our days of exploration with an immense buffet breakfast which was the best we had in Italy. Eating at the smaller restaurants out on the point or at the pizzeria around the corner (turn left out of the hotel and left at the first street; its in the second block) provided other great meals at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe seaview room to take advantage of the gorgeous waterfront view. Pay in advance if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon, and I have to say I was extremely disappointed. The Hotel is in a fabulous location over looking the marina and a short walk to the shops, but the majority of the staff are exceptionally rude – not the 5 * service you expect and certainly pay for! There is no iron in the room, and to just quickly press a shirt from suitcase creases, had to be put through the laundry service which is 24hrs (time we did not have). Also I would expect tea/coffee facilities in the room of a 5* hotel room. Departing the hotel again the staff were very rude, took the payment from my card without even asking if we had a pleasant stay or wishing us a nice onwards journey – manners clearly lacking, from staff who look bored with their job. This left a bitter taste in our mouth, from what should have been a very special start to our honeymoon. I would NOT recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank serena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

It is hard to be objective as we were upgraded to the Caruso suite which was amazing. However overall all the staff we encountered were very professional, the public areas very attractive and the breakfast and dinners offered a good choice of items of excellent quality. The setting is a very relaxing contrast to another wise hectic city. The Caruso restaurant gives outstanding views over the bay.

Room Tip: Caruso corner suit has to be seen to be believed, a mixture of beautiful antique furniture and moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twolancastrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,138 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Continental Hotel
#41 of 186 in Naples
2,707 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 186 in Naples
1,083 reviews
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#32 of 186 in Naples
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Partenope 45, 80121, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Naples
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#3 Family Hotel in Naples
#7 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $275 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront, the prestigious Grand Hotel Vesuvio overlooks the Gulf of Naples, the island of Capri and Mount Vesuvius. These views can be admired from its rooftop restaurant.Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. All air-conditioned, they also feature a minibar and a TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels. Some have a balcony with sea views.Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant on the 9th floor offers fine Regional cuisine and panoramic views across the Mediterranean Sea (closed from 12-25 August, 2013). Reservations are mandatory.The hotel is opposite the Castel dell'Ovo in the historic quarter of Santa Lucia. The port for boats to Capri, Sardinia and other destinations is 15 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing