We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Via San Gregorio Armeno
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.84*
and up
Napoli Art and Food Tour: Santa Chiara, San Gregorio Armeno and Sant Angelo a...
Ranked #7 of 494 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The tradition of representing the Holy Family as true art lives on in this narrow street, which is crowded on both sides with hundreds of artisan workshops with colorful displays of Nativity scenes.
Dallas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

You will never see these beautiful handcrafted pieces anywhere else. I know because I have looked everywhere before finally flying back to Naples to complete my nativity set. It took me 5 years but It was worth it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank brooksz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,743
    1,512
    327
    64
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
780 reviews
477 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“What a sight!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

San Gregorio Armeno is hidden away behind these gates in a side street as there are nuns living there and what a delightfully helpful group they are!!!!!!!

You access the church via a beautifully painted gallery and step into a massive hallway that leads to the massive garden and dormitories for the nuns. But step away from other groups of tourists as a mad woman guide might make a huge fuss of you if you do not have your shoulders covered in the 30 degrees celsius rather than give you a shawl. I had to run from such a woman guide and her group of old women, only to be welcomed by a nun from Phillipines who was more than helpful and gave me a private tour, saying she will have a word with my abuser. The peace and kindness of the nun probably recognised my dedication and volunteering work for different causes........ although we come from such different backgrounds.

Do not miss San Gregorio Armeno when in Napoli.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TERRAvelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place for Presepio.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Beside plenty of beautiful art pieces handcrafted, you cannot miss a Presepio for Christmas time to place in your home and to show to your friends which will show themastonished...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank acant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“s.gregorio armeno magik place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

s.gregorio armeno magik place, i was spend my younger period of my life around here, and stillkeep a lot of experience iside my self...always in my heart.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Piero_PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
368 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“a bit tacky, but a fun little side street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

When you get over the tacky trinkets, the nativity scene figurines are lovely. Going during the Christmas season is a challenge, they even make it a one way street for pedestrians.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfreak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via San Gregorio Armeno also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Via San Gregorio Armeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing