We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro di San Carlo

Teatro di San Carlo
Book In Advance
$74.27*
and up
Naples by Sea from Sorrento
Ranked #3 of 371 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Teatro di San Carlo was designed by the architects Giovanni Antonio Medrano and Angelo Carasale for the monarch since Charles wanted a new and larger theatre for Naples to replace the old and dilapidated Teatro San Bartolomeo of 1621. On 12 February 1816 the San Carlo was destroyed by fire. The Theatre was re-designed by the architect Antonio Niccolini and rebuilt within ten months on order of King Ferdinand IV. In 1845 there was additional refurbishment and, by 1854, the theatre's interior appearance changed to the now-traditional red and gold.Now carefully restored to its former splendour, the San Carlo is the oldest working theatre in Europe.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
759 reviews
527 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“A magnificent building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This grand opera house ( the largest in Europe ) .A fine example of Italian architecture ,amazingly impressive exterior ,shame because of strike action we were unable to tour the inside .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary38677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,843
    366
    61
    16
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always call first”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This theatre is the oldest opera house in Europe. Sadly I did not get to see the interior. After booking symphony tickets online weeks prior I was disappointed to learn upon arrival on the night of the event that the Company was in fact on strike. Understandably, however, as apparently outstanding pay issues were the cause. Ticket office was very helpful and my full refund was in hand within days.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful place, great if you like music or architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It is a grand opera house. We took the tour that is open to the public four to five times a day. The guide was great, lots of info about the building and it's history. Of course with that accent I could have listened to him all day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OperaHouseTourExcellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our private tour was amazing and very interesting. The Opera house was stunning and a must-see! We got to explore most of the building and even sit in the King's box. Our guide was very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VacanzainItalia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just came from the ballet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a beautiful theater. We saw an amazing production of Swan Lake. The people who worked there were very nice and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro di San Carlo also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Teatro di San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing