We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napes Hotel 4* ...NO”
Review of Hotel Naples

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Naples
Ranked #55 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in July 2012 and while there are some good points to this hotel I can assure you it is not a 4*.
Good points: location near the port and railway station, easy to get on tourist bus, clean rooms, avaerage breakfast.
Bad points: Service level erratic to say the least. We failed to be able to get a drink in the hotel bar the 2 nights we stayed. 1st night at 7.30 pm there was no bar man, at 10.50 pm bar was closed. 2nd night at 7.30pm the bar was used as a reception room for a visiting party at 10.55 pm the bar was closed.
Reception personnel quite rude with no time to discsuss anything unless you spoke Italian.
Rooms while they are clean, they are small and not of 4* standard. There is a mini bar but no tea and coffee making facillities.
On a general note we were also amazed at what a litter strewn city Naples is....virtually every street is covered in litter or bin bags which were left uncollected the 3 days we were there. Not at all as we had imagined.
My opinion is that unless you are using Naples as a base for visiting Pompeii then do not bother going.

Room Tip: we were in a front facing room but to be fair, the double glazing did ensure a quiet room and little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 574 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Naples for two nights in early June, 2012 and were very pleased with the hotel and the experience. The rooms were quite nice, relatively spacious as far as European hotels go, clean, and surprisingly quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful, offering restaurant recommendations and directions galore. I honestly don't remember eating breakfast at Hotel Naples so I can't comment on that, but there are several cafes near the hotel where we started our mornings with delicious croissants and espresso.

In terms of location and transportation, we did not have a car (thank the lord) during our stay, so we relied on public transportation and walking to get around the city. We arrived at the main bus/rail station in Naples via the public airport bus, and then walked to the hotel (luggage in tow), which I wouldn't necessarily recommend unless you are an experienced urbanite, physically fit, and adventurous. There are buses that run from stazione centrale to Hotel Naples, but I would definitely recommend doing the research on exactly how to get from the station to the hotel BEFORE you arrive in the city, as attempting to figure it out on the spot is stressful and challenging. As other reviewers have mentioned, though, once you have made it to the hotel, Hotel Naples is conveniently situated near Spaccanapoli, the centro storico, and some really great restaurants. In general, navigating the city was an exhilarating challenge, but certainly feasible if you are up for an adventure. And if you are looking for a nice, reasonably priced hotel, then Hotel Naples is a great "home base" for your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is well positioned for sightseeing, shopping and for the cruise ships. It is situated on a main street, so thought there would be traffic noise, but it was surprisingly quiet on the 4th floor. The room and hotel in general was very clean and very modern with plenty of clothes storage space. The reception staff were excellent and extremely helpful, especially Paolo

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is on the main street opposite the university. I expected it might be noisy but the rooms are of a good standard and well insulated from the sound. The staff were very helpfull. Plenty to do as its next to the old town, and near the railway (Pompey, Herculaneum and Sorrento), the ferries (Capri et al), the metro and a few good restaurants used by the locals

Room Tip: All the rooms are air cond and insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

stayed at this hotel on our way to board an msc cruise,and to take a trip to capri,is well located for the ports and very central,naples is a very busy city and not great for small children,the hotel itself is very clean and the rooms well appointed,we had an interconnecting room on the 6th floor,staff not very friendly,and breakfast was apalling,infact i dont think any staff smiled once except for the cleaners,would suggest to anyone going to naples to go and stay further around the coast towards the old castle which is much quiter and has a nice selection of restraunts

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

not so good area. Not much to do at night. Close to the harbour to take boat to Capri. 20 minutes walk from the archiological museum. Good hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Good rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oritii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

nice eentral hotel
Central location
free Internet access on wifi and erthnet
fairly good breakfast
Good staff
recently refurbished rooms

but

check out time 10:00 !!!
no leisure facilities
some rooms noisy from street
Wifi signal weak and was not working

Room Tip: use the cable to access internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
NH Napoli Ambassador
#58 of 185 in Naples
2,288 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
460 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 185 in Naples
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#46 of 185 in Naples
915 reviews
Porto
Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Naples

Address: Galleria Umberto I 55, 80132, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: $87 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Naples 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing