We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware as a tourist”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Gusto & Gusto

Gusto & Gusto
Ranked #372 of 2,794 Restaurants in Naples
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Ferdinando
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware as a tourist”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very good quality food, but pushy waiters who gave me more than I asked for, and ended up costing me a fortune.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank annamc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    161
    82
    45
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Ate at this restaurant on the recommendation of our host on three occasions. One dinner as part of a party of 18, lunch in a party of 10, and a second dinner for 5. Excellent service, good selection of typical Italian food, and very good fresh seafood cooked in typical manner. The staff coped admirably well with the large party, despite a very important football match on the giant screens in the Restaurant. Napoli won, which added to the atmosphere. The waiters we equally attentive and friendly when we were five, and no football to cheer them along.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

my boyfriend and I ordered a grilled swordfish and a grilled squid. Both were grilled just done and are juicy and tender. Service is very good the waiter is always attentive. Free glass and sparkling wine and a free glass of meloncello to finish. The house white is very fruity and we enjoyed it.

Very unfortunately we have no small change for tip and service was not included. If the waiter serving us seen this we are really sorry!!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank EvertonianSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As advertised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

As advertised, good food in particular the seafood,, many tourists (its location is adjacent to several hotels), fewer locals, The reason I rate this an overall average is because of a potential awkward moment - specifically the waiter pointed out that he does not receive any of the 13% service fee (which is on top of the set up charge of approximatley a couple euros per person). The implication is the waiter expects a tip over and above the service fee and the set up fee. I have spoken to a couple of my Italian friends on how I should address these type of situatiuons. There appears to be no uniform way to address this "double tip" issue. My view is that I look at the overall quality and price of food, the quality of service, the set up and service fees and if based upon my experiences in the Uninted States if I determine that all the costs together are reasonable I will provide a tip over and above the service charge. In this particular case I did leave a good tip, but still I wonder if I had been taken advantage of. I prefer restaurants that do not have service fees, thus my average rating. Otherwise this restaurant would have received a very good rating.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corletoRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
230 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Food good, location great, service poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Restaurant was not busy when we went. Sunday night around 5pm.our waiter was not attentive seem to dis us(older waiter aniello) I had salad inmista and pizza diavolvo which was very good. Husband had swordfish which was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank need2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto & Gusto also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Gusto & Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing