We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only I could give six for service”

Osteria Il Gobbetto
Ranked #39 of 2,897 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If only I could give six for service”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We went two nights in a row and enjoyed great local fare from a lovely family. Simple dishes, cooked well with good ingredients gave really enjoyable meals. And the value was extraordinary - €3 for a bottle of wine! But the main thing was the service. Gennaro made us feel exceptionally welcome. On our first night he took us into the kitchen to meet the chef (his wife) and sous chef (his daughter in law) and show us all his different fish so we could pick what we wanted. They were incredibly fresh, fairly priced and delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,600
    841
    198
    58
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by our Airbnb host and I cannot fault it. The weather was horrendous and we were soaked to the skin when we arrived but they quickly found us a table even though very packed.
We couldn't make a decision over what to eat so the waiter ordered for us - we had the gnocchi with cheese and courgette (naughty but georgeous), clams in spaghetti (a firm favourite), grilled prawns (giant) and the fish of the day. Their food is simple yet delicious and the service second to none.
We were delighted by the waiters' traditional costume, which added to the charm of this tiny place, and were entertained by an impromtu dance off between the waiters and other customers. The addition of a complimentary chocolate liqueur ended the meal nice. If ever in Naples again I would definitely go back.
One very sweet waiter apologised for the expensive bill - but £36 for 2 (very filling) courses and wine seemed more than reasonable to us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Try the Gnocchi the Hunchback”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Il Gobbetto was a great stop in Naples. I went twice and both times had the Gnocchi il Gobbetto - literally translated "hunchback." It's not your traditional gnocchi - it is in a creamy cheese sauce with black pepper and zucchini. It is almost like the most decadent mac-and-cheese you can find. The house wine and service are also very good - it's a super personal experience. The restaurant is small, and especially on nights that the opera is playing you'll want a reservation as it will be impossible to get in without one. Excellent value for the quality of the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really outstanding restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had several great meals in Naples, but this was comfortably the best. So good we came back for more. Via Sergente Maggiore is just off the southern end of Via Toledo.

Don't come here for pizza, it's not on the menu. What you will find is the best pasta and fish you could wish for, at really good value prices. We're talking €6 or €7 Euros per course, and a frankly ridiculous €3 Euros for a bottle of house white wine (yes, that's per 750ml bottle, not per glass) and it was perfectly good (didn't try the red).

It's a family run place. On our second visit, we were quite early, and they took us into their small kitchen, very clean, and showed us their fresh fish for the day. We could choose by looking at the fish, not at the menu. Everything we had was fine, but stand-out dishes were (1) a simple but perfect pasta in tomato sauce, (2) orata al sale (sea bream baked in salt) which was €18 but divine, and (3) sea food risotto, which wasn't even on the menu but was made to our light hearted request.

During the week, you can probably get in without a reservation if you are there by 7.00 or 7.30. After that, better book beforehand, and definitely at weekends. If you don't speak Italian, the owner and his sons speak excellent English, and a warm welcome is guaranteed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muttley_Van_Belgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The dream of Italian food. Sophisticated but simple. Family business with heart.”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit here. First was on a busy Sunday surrounded by locals enjoying every mouthful of their food. Have been in Italy for 4 weeks and had many good meals but the grilled calamari here with accompanying fresh lettuce was truly delicious. Smoky, Juicy and tender! Fresh fish from the bay of Napoli today was served at our table by Gennaro and his son Pasquale as if we were the most important guests in the world. Simple unadorned. The taste of the ocean. Come to Naples and eat here!! Far removed from the tourist fare of Sorrento!! The genuine article. Salute!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank longwayaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Il Gobbetto also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Osteria Il Gobbetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing