We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, dodgy location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #20 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Pendle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel, dodgy location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here on a Cosmos tour. The Hotel is lovely but in a very run down area of Naples. If venturing out even if you are a seasoned traveler as I am, you need to keep your wits about you. Many on our tour did not feel comfortable leaving the hotel, the door men seemed like bouncers. There is a great deal of litter & graffiti & there are a few undesirables wandering around. If you do venture out, the locals shops are cheap & there is some nice architecture to be seen but there didn't seem to be any decent eateries close by.
The hotel had large lovely rooms & bathrooms (hairdryer) both of which were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Cereals, meats cheese, yogurts, fresh fruit, scrambled egg, bacon, cakes & pastries, tea & coffee in jugs. The evening meal we had was also very nice.
The staff were very pleasant.The hotel seemed to be in a reasonable location to the train station (10 minutes walk) if touring independently, & willing to brave what seemed to be the poorest roughest part of Naples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, ours over looked the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TubesPendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,192
    906
    203
    58
    28
See reviews for
359
1,188
114
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had read many reviews before booking this hotel. The location was criticized in most reviews but I couldn't believe how bad it actually was after seeing it. You don't feel safe walking around there and there are no decent places to eat around the hotel. Walking around after sunset to get back from the central station was even more scary. The hotel itself is fine though. Check in etc. was speedy. The rooms were okay. The fridge and shower had issues in the first room so we were shifted to a better room which was nice. Parking is a problem around the hotel so we had to pay 25 euros to the hotel for valet. It is better not to drive around in naples as the traffic is chaotic and there is no safe parking for your car anywhere in the old part of the city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ratnarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONIA A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all we thank you for the nice comment about our hotel especially for our nice rooms.

We really sorry if the surroundings didn't meet your expectations, but this area is one of the most ancient of our city in which you hardly find elegant shops or exclusive Restaurant ; we are in the middle of "Decumani " area with Museums, Carthedral and Churches with nice characteristic "Pizzerie" and little typical Restaurant . Further ,as every historic area, is truly difficult use the car and find parking becouse many area are walking zone with limit to the traffic.
So we sincerly apologize if your stay in Naples disappointed you, but Palazzo Caracciolo is located in the heart of Naples with its inevitables small drawbacks that every ancient zone normally can have.
We really thank you for the time you spent writing your considerations abot your stay, for us it's very important becouse it's an unmissible occasion to get improove.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

we stayed there recently while visiting Naples with the relatives - fantastic location to explore the city! Parking however might be a challenge, although the staff was always very helpful in assisting with that matter.
The interior of the Palazzo is really stunning and we were well impressed with it.
Breakfast buffet was very pleasant, offering a very decent choice.
Rooms were spacious and well maintained. Very clean and pleasant hotel, recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOnlyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent, clean, well run hotel.
We stayed here as it was a short walk to the museum and also easy to drive to Pompei.
The walk to the museum is only 5 minutes and on the way stop at a lovely tea shop with excellent cannoli.
The rooms are excellent. We got connecting rooms as we had the kids with us.
I would not pay any attention to the local neighbourhood. Naples is Naples! Think of New York on the 30's!
Only one fault I could find is that you have to serve your own coffee at breakfast, otherwise do not worry this is a great place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The neighbourhood where this hotel is situated looks a bit rundown, but the hotel itself was perfect! After a warm welcome and an upgrade to a junior suite for an extra little amount, we were very pleased to see our room. It was very spacious with an upstairs bedroom, a living room and a fantastic bedroom. Breakfast was copious so not just a sweet donut and coffee. We could have our breakfast in the inside courtyard which was really nice. We also had dinner there almost every night and loved everything about it. Lunch is also a possibility.
From the hotel it's a 5 minute walk to via tribunali and about half an hour to the marina.
There is no parking possibility at the hotel but if you want there's a valet parking, which will set you back 25 euro, but is worth it and the best option rather than parking your car in the streets, which is not recommended in Napels.
Í would definitely go back to this hotel if I ever visit Naples again! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

As previous reviews they use central courtyard for evening events, so no bar for on of the nights a bit of a 'must' in any hotel. Service was friendly and breakfast was ok.
Location was reason we selected the hotel and could not have been more convenient to wander the maze of streets. This area of the city is quite 'earthy' but all the more appealing because of that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William1974603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

On arrival we were lucky to have a free upgrade due to there being no rooms of our choice available. The room we had had two floors and was very clean, spacious and far better than we expected.
The breakfast was OK if you like a continental breakfast although not the best breakfast I've ever had.
The room was cleaned very well daily and apart from not having enough towels on one occasion and the coffee/tea not being replenished every day it was very good. Only minor negative points really.
Comfortable and friendly atmosphere. The staff were very polite and always very helpful, we would definitely come here again.
Naples is a wonderful city, not the cleanest of cities but really nice. We were warned that the streets in the old town were a little dodgy at night but at no point did we feel like that. There are pick pockets around but so long as you have your wits about you there is nothing to worry about.
We spent every day in the city apart from one day when we went to Pompeii to visit the ruins and take a trip up mount Vesuvius. We would recommend this as its not too expensive and is a real eye opener to what went on back in 79AD.
We took the train from Garibaldi to Pompeii Scavi which was €2.90 pp each way. Entry into the ruins was €11 pp and we took the bus ride to the top of Vesuvius with entry to the crater and tour guide included. We brought the tickets for this by the train station in Scavi for €22 pp. It was the icing on the cake, the view and perspective it gives is amazing. We will return to do this again at a cooler time of the year as it is quite hard going in the heat of 32degC but really worth it. Closed shoes is a good idea as the terrain is pretty rough at times.
Taxi's aren't cheap and they will chance there arm with the tourist but no real difference to many other cities I've been to.
Food is good pretty much everywhere you go. Beer is best brought from the supermarket as a large bottle (660ml) of Peroni is only €2 from the little supermarkets. It is around €3-5 for 330ml Peroni in the restaurants and bars, others are more expensive. A few beers from the supermarket in the hotel room before you go out is a good idea if on a budget.
Buses are good and whenever we went on them we didn't actually have to pay lol they are very busy though.!

Room Tip: We had the Junior something or another as a free upgrade from the standard room with B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete4791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Carbonara 112, 80139, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Naples
#9 Family Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated decor of the 146 rooms in this stunning hotel help create the perfect blend of historic detail and modern comfort. Take in the enchanting architecture and decoration of the stately buildings near the elegant Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel. Delve into Naples' past and explore the antique shops on nearby via Foria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Gallery Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing