We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Prati Hotel(Naples)
View Hotel
Hotel Duomo(Naples)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,742)
Filter reviews
2,742 results
Traveler rating
1,360
1,026
246
67
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,360
1,026
246
67
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsm gallerycovered courtyardtrain stationbeautiful hotelold palacecentral courtyardan oasishistorical buildingdirty citypizzareception staffcentro storicohotel restaurantafter darkamalfi coastfelt safejunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
621 - 626 of 2,742 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

... stylishly renovated. Good location for visiting the old city. Rooms and bathrooms were a good size for a city centre hotel. Our only criticism would be of the bar /restaurant staff who had a take it or leave it attitude; there were three of us staying, on the second morning two of us went down to breakfast first and requested a table for three, we were shown a table for two even though there were larger tables available which were not laid up. We insisted on a table for three and the waitress was refusing until the restaurant manager overheard and told her to lay up a new table.
There is a beautiful internal courtyard with sofas, tables, etc but no one seemed to be responsible for seeing if anyone wanted to order a drink or to tidy up; we had to actively seek staff out.
All in all, good value for the quality of the accomodation and it could be great with better bar/food service. Reception staff were helpful

Room Tip: Our courtyard facing rooms were good. I suspect rooms overlooking the font of the hotel could be noisy
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanneBowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was the most expensive hotel we booked during our trip to Italy & it was so not worth it. The Rooms are ok, nothing special - The kind of rooms you would expect at any good 4 star hotel. The Room had a comfy bed, a small sofa, a mini bar, LCD & iPhone Dock. The biggest let down was the Bathroom which was tiny. The hotel has no WIFI - which century are we living in. The neighborhood was slight dingy, not close to any main tourist attractions. Also no good restaurants closeby & the food in the hotel isn't that great.

We asked the hotel on what we could do since we just had 12 hours in Naples. They just gave us a Map & pointed out the Hotel. The only good thing was that they had a free drop & pickup to their sister hotel Mercure, which is closer to the marina.

The Reception staff is also very Cold. Although check-in & check-out was smooth, there wasn't that level of hospitality you would expect from a luxury hotel. Overall a very OK experience. We wont be back here for sure, until the rates are halved.

Room Tip: Opt for a Room on the 1st Floor, they have a balcony with a seating area facing the Garden. Great for a Coffee Break!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONIA A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much, for taking the time to inform us about your experience at Palazzo Caracciolo.
We would like to express our regret if your stay did not live up to your expectations, being Guest's satisfaction our first aim. Kindness and efficiency from our staff is a central point in our management, that is why we feel very sorry to hear you didn’t received it. When you tell us about our Reception staff , this is definitely not up to our standards of services and we thank you for your comments because are a precious opportunity to stimulate some improvements. Regarding the room we understood but please, let me just tell you something about ii; You certainly can understand that Palazzo Caracciolo is an historical and Ancient building with over 800 years of history, where it isn’t impossible obtain regular structure as regular design; every rooms is different to each other and our greatest effort has been to suit this Ancient and irregular “Fortress” to an elevated standards of comfort and wellness.
About the absence of WI FI, we're sorry but we have of course this service,maybe nobody explained you it better and for this again our most excuses.
This will probably not change the perception on your stay but thank you once again for choosing our hotel and for the chance you would hopefully give us on a future stay, this would be a great pleasure for us and unmissable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

part of the accor chain, this is a recently refurbed building and the rooms and public areas are well maintained and cleverly and stylishly designed. The hotel is also well located for Naples somewhat scruffy but atmospheric historic centre. The reception staff were friendly and helpful but gtose in the bar and restaurant seemed stand offish, and there was a ridiculous charge of 7E per day if you wished to access wi-fi in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Palazzo Caracciolo, after careful research on TA, for our last two nights of a wonderful southern Italian vacation. We have been spoiled along the way by really top-notch B&B's so our expectations were high.

The hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport, part of our selection criteria. It is on the edge of the historic distinct, so depending on your initial approach you may be badly put-off. However, once into the hotel the facility is first rate, and the ragged memories of the old section of town fade quickly. The good news with regard to old town is that you only have to walk around the corner and you are there. Our room was not large, but was impeccably furnished, and boasted high ceilings as well as an expansive balcony.

As mentioned in other reviews, there is valet parking (only) at €25.00/per night. Since a car is a liability in Naples, we opted to return our rented vehicle a day early and finish the holiday on foot. I have seen no evidence of a pool, spa, or exercise room (and none of these were among,our selection criteria.)

The hotel reception was particularly professional and helpful; they had our special request for a courtyard room and made good on it. Although there was never a concier on duty at the desk, the crew was efficient with our luggage. Dinner at the restaurant was on the expensive side for what we ordered, but service was first rate. Breakfast was a different matter. Our server was far more interested in how we were going to pay than seating us and ensuring we were appropriately fed. Housekeeping didn't appear until mid-afternoon, after we called and asked.

Bottom line: excellent location for seeing downtown Naples, well-maintained and clean physical plant, service spotty, good for a business trip or upscale couples vacation. The restaurant has a limited menu. We would return

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Cigano-Gitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel occupies the monumental aristocratic palace in heart of Naples close to Garibaldi train station as well as to Duomo and archaeological museum. We had no difficulty to access the hotel by car. Moreover hotel features a valet parking that is quite handy in Naples with its heavy traffic and lack of parking. The duplex room was magnificent with 6 meters ceilings and lots of space. Rooms fittings were working fine. A/c was very effective. The breakfast was of a good quality with emphasis to sweets as that is usual for Italy.

The main feature of the hotel is the building itself and its atmosphere: by walking around impressive inner yard or glorious galleries you get back in time of Neapolitan kings. Definitely this hotel is a great place to stay at Naples.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Usenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews