We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious ''period'' hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #19 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Spacious ''period'' hotel....”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here as part of a group.....Intial impressions were mixed, as the desk staff seemed to give our tour guide a bit of a hard time for some reason.......But the decore is ''art nouveau'' very stylish.....spacious entrance way with lovely big settee's and chairs to use.....We were allocate a bedroom over the main entrance on the first floor....I loved it....from the balacony we could look to the right and see Vesuvious in the back ground....the street was busy with traffic, but the double glazing was excellent, so no noise heard....Bedroom great with all amenities you expect, with the exception of tea/coffee facilities..(par for the course in Italy in all hotels)..Really comfortable beds and quilt.....Beautiful big courtyard in the centre of the complex leads you to the breakfast room...(If you sit out in the court yard, dont forget your ''mozzie sprays''....they are about)......Unfortunately when we arrived for breakfast we were ushered to the bottom end and made to feel second class, because we were part of a group...Inadequate food, cutlery etc had the staff in a spin....especially when there were 45 of us on a schedule.....eventually staff relented and let us use all the facilities....Good variety of fresh produce and breads, with something from the hot plate if you wished.....Security is exellent, ( but giving you the feeling ''what were we needed to be protected from'' )....shame Naples is a ''dirty'' city and care is not taken by those that live here....it has so much to offer to the traveller...I wouldnt be put off.......see for yourself and experience the delights this hotel has to offer.....

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the front of the hotel are not noisy...and it is lovely to sit with the balcony d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    947
    215
    60
    33
See reviews for
366
1,252
117
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My daughter and I visited Naples in mid-October for four nights and we loved the city and this beautiful hotel. We walked to lovely local family restaurants in the evening and back in the dark and were never hassled. The hotel rooms and bathrooms are very stylish. The beds are incredibly comfortable. I would recommend the room service breakfasts. We had a view of Vesuvius from the balcony! It is a reasonably priced hotel - I am not sure what more any traveller could want?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed at the Hotel MGALLERY Napoli Caracciolo from July 25 – July 26, 2012.
At check-in we have handed two Accor vouchers à 60 EUR in to partly pay for our stay. The hotel accepted the vouchers, but the next morning we were told that they forgot to credit the vouchers and that we had to pay for the entire bill. Then they promised to refund it to our credit card. I asked for a written confirmation. However the refund to our credit card never happened. So we were betrayed by 120 EUR. Therefore we cannot recomend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara_leandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is lovely! The staff are friendly and helpful, the decoration of the hotel is superb and the rooms are great.
It's not badly priced either so it makes an excellent choice if you're planning to stay in the centre of Naples.
We walked around at night without any problems.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaMcCParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent a night here to use as a base to Pompeii .We booked it very last minute and they managed to find us 2 rooms.When we arrived at the train station our immediate thought was Oh My God this place is a dump.Naples is the most filthy looking city I have ever been too and as such was really worried about our hotel. I needn't of been . Upon arriving M GAllery we were welcomed by the wonderful staff who showed us to our rooms. We had adjoining rooms for us and our 2 kids. Rooms were very well equipped and all I can say about the bed was .. heaven! Lunch there was delicious and after we decided to head into town by their courtesy bus. It dropped us near the marina ( which thankfully as across the side if town) where all the good shopping was. Breakfast was great and although extremely busy as we must of hit rush hour, they managed to clean up and keep stocking up the food quite quickly.We enjoyed our stay here so much that we cancelled our previously booked accommodation in Venice with another hotel and booked in with their hotel there!

Room Tip: It would be hard not to get a good room here. Don't let the location put you off as the courtesy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twiggy0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We left Roma on early direct, fast train. When we exited the Napoli Train station, Taxi guys were fighting, honking horns, yelling at each other.

Welcome Napoli.

We walked the almost mile to the hotel, lugging our luggage, on cobble stone streets, very dirty streets, people hanging out on the street, trying to sell you everything including iPhone’s. We acted confident, and finally arrived at the hotel, with security guards out front.

We waited to be helped, a large group was checking out. Finally we were greeted by a gentleman, he started to check us in 9:30am, Room is not ready, but if we wanted to forgo the terrace we could check in now. We told him that’s ok we will wait for the terrace room, room would be ready at noon, we were fine with this we asked if we could store our luggage so we could go to Pompeii.

We left the hotel, headed back to the Train station, walking confident and as if we knew where we were going. We were approached and asked to buy all kinds of items, nock offs.
When arriving back at train station, we found the little store where we needed to buy train ticket. 2,80 euro one way to Pompeii. Train was jammed packed standing room only. Entrance to Pompeii 11,00 euro pp.

We spent the day sightseeing, arrived back at the hotel 5pm. We were now greeted by a lady, our room was not ready, we were told prior guest checked out late, so I asked for them to comp my Wi-Fi, 7,00 euro per stay, male Mgr. did for our inconvenience for having to wait.
We finally got into our room about 5:40pm.

Ok, we just checked in, all this noise happing in courtyard, men were making a wood platform for the entire courtyard, Some sort of event was to take place on Sunday. We decided to go for a walk to find a really good Pizzeria. We were told Lombardi. We walked to Lombardi's picked up a Pizza and headed back to hotel, well now its dark, we got lost, was very scary-but we couldn't show fear, and it was raining. **Note** Take hotel card with you when you leave hotel, try to come back before it gets dark.

My husband head to our room, with Wine and Pizza, we were going to have a nice intimate dinner on the terrace. Our room was 1 of 2 that had a cover over the terrace, and we didn't mind the rain. I went tothe bar to get ice, waited for someone to come back. NO can't get ice from bar, have to go to restaurant. Walked over to restaurant, and waited almost 10 min. before I was helped.

So all this noise from the construction went on, little past 10pm, and it was so loud. So needless to say, we didn’t have an intimate dinner on the terrace.

We wanted to let our family now our current location. Wi-Fi sucks, not working, I called down to front desk, her answer was, “Wi-Fi can't work in every room”. I was very tired so, I said, Goodnight. I deal with this tommorow. I was able to connect out on terrace, and then it cuts out. Not reliable.

We took our showers and tried to go to sleep. We were on their schedule, finally noise stopped a little past 10pm. We got up early and took Hotel Shuttle to port. (But not really, he dropped us off a couple of streets away; we had to walk thru venders till we got down to port.

Fast ferry to Capri 20,20 euro one way pp. Spent day on Capri, then took fast ferry to Sorrento for dinner 16,50 euro one way pp. Had a lovely dinner in Sorrento then took the train back to Napoli 4,90 euro one way pp.

We arrived back at hotel about 10pm. We had an early flight to Germany @6am. Showered and went to bed. Midnight we heard all this noise, sounded like gun fire, (Being in this part of town, I thought it was gun fire), I called down to desk, I was told no problem, it’s just a festival, fireworks. (So, why don't they tell you this when you check in). We didn't see any fireworks and we went out on the terrace.

Next morning we checked out paid our tax. Clerk called taxi for us, hotel has a deal with taxi 15,50 euro to airport.

This is a nice hotel in a rough part of town. I would have given higher rating, 1) if room was ready 2) Wi-Fi worked in room 3) If we were informed of the noise and construction that went on past 10pm, 4) and warned us of the fireworks at midnight.

Room Tip: The corner room 131 has a covered terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabearone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,417 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Continental Hotel
#43 of 186 in Naples
2,493 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
992 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Carbonara 112, 80139, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Naples
#9 Family Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#12 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated decor of the 146 rooms in this stunning hotel help create the perfect blend of historic detail and modern comfort. Take in the enchanting architecture and decoration of the stately buildings near the elegant Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel. Delve into Naples' past and explore the antique shops on nearby via Foria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Gallery Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing